We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, incredible view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #154 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay, incredible view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in Wyndham Garden Chinatown for 6 nights in late June 2013. We really enjoyed our stay and warmly recommend the hotel to all travellers. There is absolutely no need to stay near Times Square, even if you are a first-time visitor like we were. There are very good subway connections from three subway stations near the hotel. Very convenient if you are landing in JFK, as there is a direct subway (J/Z) from the AirTrain station to Bowery, so no need to take a taxi. We used this both coming from and going to the airport.

I had originally booked a Premium Queen Balcony room, but as a courtesy we were upgraded to an Executive Queen Balcony (thank you Vanessa!). The room was lovely and the view absolutely magnificent! Our room was situated on the 15th floor (room 1505) and whilst not very spacey, we had no problems staying there and had ample room for our suitcases as well. The bathroom was perfectly fine, it was one of those rooms with a bathtub and a shower curtain, so we did not experience the problem with water all over the floor, which seems to be the case in the bathrooms with walk-in showers. Even the bathroom had a floor-to-ceiling window, so we could have a bath and see Empire State Building while bathing. How cool is that!

The bed was fine, as was the refrigerator, which we used to keep juice etc. cool. There is a small coffee machine in the room, so we had breakfast in the room a couple of times. There are really cheap and tasty Chinese bakeries nearby, so just go and get some warm buns, croissants etc. in the morning. Most were priced 1-1.75 USD, so you can get a breakfast for a few dollars. We never tried the hotel’s breakfast, as it was not included in our room price.

Someone commented on the loud airconditioning in an earlier review. We found it to be true at least in our room, so much so that I had to use ear plugs during the first night; after that I got used to the noise and slept well. We did not hear any traffic noise from the streets with the exception of an occasional siren. I would prefer having a separate reading lamp on both sides of the bed; now there was one only on one side, but this was not a major issue. The room tended to get quite humid despite the airconditioning, even so that books that I had bought started to curl their pages due to humidity.

Two things that I think the hotel could improve: get the ice machines installed, please! The hotel has been ready since last November, and still there is only an empty place in the hallway where the ice machine should be. Yes, I know you can go downstairs and ask for ice from the bartender, but we never bothered; besides, nobody mans the bar during the daytime. Another thing: please get some chairs and tables on the balcony! We so much enjoyed sitting on the balcony, watching the incredible view and having a drink, but we felt a bit uncomfortable having to sit on the balcony floor on towels and pillows taken from the room. I would really have expected the balconies to have furniture by now. Please note that the balconies are not really private, i.e. you can walk along the whole balcony, passing another rooms. This did not bother us.

One thing that we thought was a bit odd: one of the windows of our bathroom was broken (it was so when we arrived), the outer glass of the double glazing was totally gone, only a few glass shards remained on the balcony floor. During our stay nobody picked the shards away, neither were any attempts made to replace the broken window. As the windows have double glazing and the inner one was still intact, this didn’t bother us much, but I just hope that they get it fixed before the weather turns colder.

All staff members that we met were really nice and friendly, always saying hello when we passed the reception. If you travel with your pets, note that this hotel accepts pets, as we saw at least three dogs in the hotel during our stay; again, this did not bother us. Our room and the whole hotel was immaculately clean.

We would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor, the view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colsbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We hope that you will come back and visit us again at the beautiful Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    517
    129
    27
    26
See reviews for
258
666
120
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location and New facilities make for a pleasant stay.
The location is 5 blocks or walking distance to the City Clerks Marriage office.
We came to New York on our 23rd anniversary to get a real marriage license and the staff was so helpful and friendly, made our stay extra special. The airline had lost our luggage and we were stressed but the staff make us feel at home and made sure every need was met. I highly recommend this Wyndam

Room Tip: If you like Italian food just a few steps to Little Italy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpayne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! All of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel have a passion for delivering amazing service, so your comments really make our day! It sounds like you had a perfect hotel experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the future. Thanks again, and take care!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A really great option for a New York stay. We were just looking for something comfortable at a reasonable price but got so much more!
A new, clean, stylish hotel with excellent staff. I nearly fell over when we walked into our room the first night to see magnificent views all the way up to the Empire State building. The windows are floor to ceiling. We were high up and on a corner, even the bathroom has floor to ceiling windows. My husband had slight vertigo at first!
The location is excellent, right in Chinatown but only 2 blocks from Little Italy. We walked all over New York from there but the subway is nearby and taxis are a dime a dozen at the front door and not expensive. We didn't try the restaurant but this is New York, you can get food anywhere, anytime!
I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Up high and maybe a corner for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uptightoutasight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown! It makes us proud to know that our awesome staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been remiss in not writing this review earlier to let people know what a pleasurable experience we had from March 9th through March 13 2013. We took our granddaughter to NYC as part of her high school graduation present.
We will always remember the view through the "virtual" glass wall of our room looking out over Chinatown and Manhattan in general. The night views were amazing.
The location was great. Access to the subway was nearby and restaurants nearby were plentiful.
Most of all, we want to commend two staff (John Chen & Nazim Tabti). John and Nazim were courteous, helpful and ALWAYS smiling. They added even more value and friendly faces to provide assistance and information about NYC during our stay. They are the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased that your stay was a comfortable, welcoming one. We strive to be a "home away from home" to all of our guests. Our hotel prides itself on excellent service and I have shared your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. Thank you again we look forward to welcoming you back to Wyndham Garden Hotel Chinatown.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked in for three but left after two. Service fine, location decent. Room itself was ok I suppose, but the bed was uncomfortable. Aircon was VERY noisy. Over-bath shower with shower curtain felt a bit low-rent. Nice views of the city as promised, but only a communal walk-around balcony with no seating and a tired-looking faux-asphalt mat on the floor for company. From there we saw the room next door had a smashed exterior glass panel. Vibe-free lobby.

Not terrible, but expected more the the money - and sure enough found more elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
It is disappointing to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. All of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown take your comments very seriously, and we are eager to correct any failures on our part.

We also understand that our hotel is very unique in regards to the design and the size of our rooms and that the structure of the rooms may not be for everyone. However, from the rave reviews we have received so far from other travelers, we are confident that we are providing a unique and fresh experience for our guests.

I would love an opportunity to discuss your stay and experiences with you directly, and am confident that I can restore your faith in us. I can be contacted at 646-329-3410, or obouchaar@wyndham.com. I look forward hearing back from you!

Sincerely,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Property: Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing