We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Chinatown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #153 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    532
    131
    27
    28
See reviews for
266
686
122
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cohoes, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly during my stay. The room was the perfect size - small like most NYC hotels with all of the amenities you need. The rooms had a lot of electrical outlets, which is very convenient given cell phones, cameras, computers, etc. to be charged. The free wireless internet was fast. My booking details said there would be a bathtub in my room, but there wasn't. My booking also said there was parking - There is valet offered for $43 a day, which is very reasonable given the cost of parking in NYC. The shower was a little weird - only had half a glass wall rather than a full door and some of the water sprayed onto the floor from the shower. The hotel is located in Chinatown and a few blocks from Little Italy. The nearest subway to Midtown was only 2 blocks away. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreepmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with "excellent" service. We hope to see you again soon at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a week in April 2013 (Scotland week in New York - what do you mean you haven't heard of it??) and was very impressed. Good rate considering you are a few subway stops from everything you'd want to see in New York, and being right on the border between Little Italy and Chinatown, you know you're going to eat well.

Staff in hotel were extremely helpful, and our room was quite simply exceptional. Ask for a room on 10th floor or above, to enjoy a stunning view of Empire State Building and the rest of the skyline. Glass from floor to ceiling. Stunning - and I don't even like heights!

Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but hey, you're in New York - why are you eating at your hotel?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 10th floor or above, to enjoy a stunning view of Empire State Building and the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 6 nights, great value and large room for NY. Location is close to multiple subways but you know you're on Chinatown! Staff excellent, very friendly and helpful. Hotel looks and feels brand new, glad we stayed here and would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afcbv17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We hope that you will come back and visit us again at the beautiful Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our 4th trip to New York and our first time staying in Chinatown, let alone the Wyndham Garden, and I would gladly stay again and recommend it to anyone.
The location was PERFECT!! In the heart of Chinatown with easy access to taxis and trains and walking distance to Little Italy, SOHO, East / West Villages. We even walked over the Brooklyn Bridge from there and would say this is a MUST do! AND there was a Popeye's Fried Chicken around the corner!
The hotel itself was perfect for our needs. We were in the standard queen room and felt that the space was adequate for 2 adults with luggage and lots of NYC shopping! We made good use of the in-room fridge and the bathroom was very modern and well-appointed, including the shower which did spit excess water onto the bathroom floor, but its water on a tiled floor that can easily be wiped up with the more than generous amount of towels provided, so you just deal with it and move on with your day! The front desk staff were always eager and willing to help or simply smile and acknowledge you as you walked past. John Chen was excellent and provided a great recommendation for dim sum 3 blocks away! TASTY!! The housekeeper as well did a great job and refreshed our room consistently and I felt that personal touch...example: some hotels pile on pillows and coverlets, etc. on the bed, which is fine, but as a guest to have a housekeeper that notices all that excess bedding is on the floor each morning and rather than just doing the bed as usual per the manual, leaves the excess off and folds it nicely on the chair in the corner is WONDERFUL! Way to anticipate my needs.
I am a travel agent and I have access to multiple hotel chains in NYC but would gladly stay here again. I will also book my clients to stay here with confidence knowing that they will have an NYC experience that exceeds their expectations!
Thanks You Wyndham Garden Chinatown! I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! All of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel have a passion for delivering amazing service, so your comments really make our day! It sounds like you had a perfect hotel experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the future. Thanks again, and take care!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise to stay at the Garden Chinatown.

The hotel appears newly renovated and is very clean.

The rooms are not very large but for NY standards very ok and quite functional.

Hotel staff was very nice, extremely polite and always happy to help.

Location was good as directly in Chinatown. Subway is a reasonable 10 min walk away and there are plenty of asian restaurants nearby. Some of these are actually authentic while others are tourist traps.

Bottom line:
If going for pleasure, I would stay at the Garden Chinatown again as I was overall very happy and recommend to stay at this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromCGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with great service. We hope to see you again soon at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this hotel for our recent trip to New York after doing a lot of research and looking at other reviews. The room was very clean and was of a good size although the bed could have been a little bit bigger for my personal liking. The view was absolutely amazing, overlooking Chinatown towards the Empire State. Nice bathroom, lovely hot shower with good pressure (it did spray out of the cubicle sometimes though) and nice products (I could have done with some disposable slippers though). Staff really friendly and polite. Would definitely recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceCadiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#201 of 466 in New York City
385 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#215 of 466 in New York City
702 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#206 of 466 in New York City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 466 in New York City
599 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#269 of 466 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#327 of 466 in New York City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Property: Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing