We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at unusually low rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #156 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel at unusually low rates”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My stay at Whyndham Garden in Chinatown was fantastic. From the moment I walked in I was welcomed by the most friendly staff and a warm atmosphere. The lobby is contemporary and sleek with white marble floor and stunning LeCarbusier furniture . The bar makes exotic drinks from fresh ingredients righ in front of you. The rooms are contemporary with a beautiful view of Manhattan. However, what impressed me the most is how friendly and helpful the staff was. Special thanks to the manager, Omar Bouchaar, for making my stay comfortable and enjoyable. I will definitely stay at this hotel during my future trips to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBMD96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown! It makes us proud to know that our front desk and bellmen staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    529
    130
    27
    27
See reviews for
262
681
121
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a clean and comfortable hotel, with very courteous service, in Chinatown. The room is efficient, with a hyper-modern bathroom, refrigerator (no microwave, but they will warm up food for you downstairs in the restaurant), HDTV, small safe--in other words, just about everything you would need. Complimentary bottled water and nuts, too (high-quality nuts at that). The room and white lobby all remind me of a superior Taiwanese hotel.

The location is important, because it will be ideal for some visitors, but not others. When they say the hotel is in Chinatown, they mean it. Hester St. is one block north of Canal St., the heart of Chinatown, and Little Italy is just a couple of blocks west. (Little Italy is no more than about two blocks these days, but the restaurants that have survived are all pretty good.) So it's a vibrant and interesting neighborhood, with lots of delicious restaurants nearby, but if your business is elsewhere in the city, this wouldn't be the best location for you.

If I have one small complaint, it's that a single unisex bathroom seems to serve the entire lobby, and the toilet seat is already wobbling.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on a balcony floor, but all the rooms share a single balcony, so you might want to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrGoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Most excellent - your experience is exactly what we strive for here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel, and we are happy to know that it shows. Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to take care of you and we look forward to being able to do it again for your next stay!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Arrived home (Singapore) yesterday morning. Just recovered from jet lag. This was our first visit to NY can't say enough about the brilliant time we all have had. Hotel was perfectly placed for all of the sights of Manhattan. hotel was well presented, bedroom was cleaned to a high standard every day. My wife and I selected Wyndham Garden Chinatown based on TripAdvisor reviews as well as a great hotels.com price offer. We were not disappointed!!
The service throughout our stay was attentive, efficient and friendly!! Room was small but had everything you need. Clean and stylish. Check in staff polite and helpful. Bar staff efficient and fine. Special thanks to lovely Janice and the guy always with her on duty I don’t remember his name they are exceptional.

The hotel is right in the heart of Chinatown. It's also an easy walk to Little Italy, The Brooklyn Bridge, the East Village and SOHO. Plus, there are two subway stations within a couple of blocks, which makes getting around to the rest of Manhattan very easy.

Thanks to everyone at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown for making our visit so special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeeheew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Wyndham Garden Hotel Chinatown. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property to be "beyond compare". I have shared your kind remarks with the staff in recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham Garden Chinatown in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had to change hotels halfway through the tip due to logistics and finances. Even though it was more affordable than the previous hotel the room, despite being a little smaller, was just as nice if not nicer. I particularly appreciated the floor-to-ceiling windows with a great view, the walk-in shower (the only problem being the lack of a complete door and/or floor drain in the main section of the bathroom, making a wet bathroom floor a distinct possibility unless you are extremely careful) and the very cozy bed. The only additions I would like to see as far as the accommodations are concerned would be a pool and hot tub, full glass sliding doors on the showers and ice machines on every other level (currently one must go to the bar and hassle the poor bartender for ice)... Short of this I can't think of any suggestions. The lobby is very contemporary and the bar is quite sylish, with Kubrick-inspired seating (no milk-girl statues, it's classy) and even the bar/lobby restroom has style, with a cool, backlit blue "fountain" style faucet. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is pretty optimal for explorers, being located in bustling Chinatown not far from Canal St. and very close to the Grand St. subway station.

My experience with the staff was nothing short of fantastic. Everyone from the bartender to housekeeping should be commended, but perhaps especially Ahcene and the rest of the front desk/lobby employees. My travel companion had a flight get cancelled and we encountered all manner of difficulties in dealing with this, and they not only stored our luggage in the office for nearly a full day while we dealt with this but gave me personal use of a micro USB cable to charge my phone for emergency use and allowed me to stay in the lobby for hours using their computers to print maps and communicate with others to resolve this. All this on the day we were departing, AFTER we had already checked out.

All in all, I cannot recommend the Wyndham Garden Chinatown enough. But while the room, location, view, bar and lobby were all very nice, the outstanding service from the staff is to be commended above all else. My special thanks again to Ahcene and the front-desk/lobby staff. The next time I am in Manhattan, I will definitely be checking to see if a room is available here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review. I especially appreciate the kind review of so many members of our team. It is always wonderful to hear when the staff does a wonderful job. I look forward to sharing your comments with them as they will be ecstatic. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millerton, ny
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our room high up at the front of the hotel offered a Western panorama of the city. The downtown location is near Soho, and Nolita. You step out of this sleek, modern, boutique hotel into a foreign country of Chinese shops, the lighting district, the Bowery Mission and restaurant supply stores. The rooms are comfortable,and well designed. The bathroom is almost as large. The service is polite and professional. This is a great place to explore lower Manhattan.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view and the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critic735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel four nights. We had a queen Deluxe room and boy, it was really deluxe. Finally a comfortable bed, with great linen... the corner room, with outer walls completely in glass, featured also a small living area. Great view, even if the 5th floor was a little noisy - the hotel is on the corner of two busy streets, so there's a lot of cars honking etc. etc. We were extremely satisfied by the room, and the two flaws we could find have been already written by other reviewers: 1) the lack of a door on the shower, which means that you cannot take a shower without getting water all over the floor (the water was properly hot every time, though) and 2) the continental breakfast that was part of our rate. This breakfast consists of a bowl of oatmeal + two slices of toasted bread OR three pastries PLUS a bowl of mixed fruit + orange juice + tea or coffee. The real problem here is the three pastries. They seemed stuff baked the day before. Did not seem fresh at all. The pieces of croissants were re-heated, so they were kind of dried out, and the other pastries were oily and tasted a bit stale. I think that, being such a nice hotel (I chose this hotel in Manhattan after having carefully read through the reviews of nearly 100 other places!), this is an annoying flaw. At least in Europe, breakfast is very often part of the roomrate, so it was odd to be treated a little rudely every time we presented the breakfast coupons. Apart from this minor flaw, I cannot praise enough the staff. Everybody was incredibly friendly and ready to help us out. I will suggest this place to friends and I hope to stay here again, even considering these minor nuisances.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
It sounds like you had a really excellent stay with us! We agree with you 100% about our bedding - they are heavenly! We are very happy that our staff was able to take such good care of you, and from all of us at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown, we can't wait to take of you again soon! Take care!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#201 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
566 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#172 of 468 in New York City
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#278 of 468 in New York City
1,208 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#204 of 468 in New York City
693 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Property: Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing