We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #157 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The muppets next door used the fire hydrant as a hanger and flooded our room and we were quickly moved and ended up in a nicer room. The location is great, the price was great and despite the other reviews really enjoyed breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We hope that you will come back and visit us again at the beautiful Wyndham Garden Chinatown!

Best Regards;

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,571)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Chinatown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Terrific new hotel right in a great downtown location...right on the cusp of Lower East Side, SoHo, Chinatown, etc. Very clean, well-maintained hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a hip place to stay in the city. Excellent value for this type of service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! All of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel have a passion for delivering amazing service, so your comments really make our day! It sounds like you had a perfect hotel experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the future. Thanks again, and take care!

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The rooms are comfortable. The staff is well trained and nice. The only improvement I would recommend (as other reviews have already mentioned) is the quality of the breakfast. For example, the muffin was dry and not tasty. Overall, a great hotel find in New York!

Room Tip: High floors have great views
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care!

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A brand new hotel a stone's throw from the Manhattan Bridge at the end of Canal with lots of good things about it. Brand new, great architecture, super nice rooms with a BIG desk and small refrigerator great showers and a nice restaurant and bar. The staff are very friendly and the hotel seems to be well managed.

Room Tip: some of the rooms on the floors have little balconies. The balcony on the 2nd floor is a common one...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonereignger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We can only improve by listening to our customers’ feedback. We noticed you liked our "super nice rooms with a BIG desk and small refrigerator great showers," but ranked the room as a 4/5, is there something specific we need to improve upon? We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have the opportunity to host you again when your future travel plans bring you back to New York City and the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel.


Best regards;

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Ok, so this is part of a chain, but I've never stayed in one before and I'm extremely impressed with what I got. So, we're in Chinatown, which I personally like culturally-speaking..feel pretty safe there too at any time of day. The hotel is extremely good value at just over $200 per night including continental breakfast. Here are some of the things that I found on arrival:

1. Iron in the room with a loose (non-attached) ironing board (= hra)
2. Lots of sockets around the bed
3. GREAT view
4. Very clean and plenty of space
5. Complimentary still and sparkling water

I had a very comfortable night's sleep; I got in late and front desk was able to give me a small tube of toothpaste = nice.

In the morning, I had a very good shower..one of those showers with just the right force from the nozzle and easy to work the dial temperature-wise. Lovely. I also saw that the height between the floor and the bath is very small (I'd say 9"), which means that it isn't in any way dangerous to step in and out; found that impressive. I had a shave in a sink which was very cleverly designed - it is noticeably deep, which means that you can't really splash the water. Small details these are, but for a regular traveller, they stand out.

Unfortunately, for me, I tried to cap off my stay with the breakfast in the cellar. Oh dear. No jasmine tea in the middle of Chinatown is forgivable, but the eggs were v v greasy and over-cooked; small amounts of tasteless ham and warm soft toast. I don't usually eat breakfast in the hotel, but I was so surprised by the quality of everything else, that I took the chance.

Mistake.

But otherwise, Wyndham Gardens, take a bow...

Room Tip: Look for a view of the city.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReindeerSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and also taking time out of your schedule to note the problems you experienced with the breakfast in our hotel. It is unusual for us to receive comments along these lines. We have spoken to our Food & Beverage Manager to take appropriate action so that this type of problem does not reoccur, causing inconvenience to other guests of the hotel. We can only improve by listening to our customers’ feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the little details of your stay with us, and hope to have the opportunity to host you again when your future travel plans bring you back to New York City and the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel.


Best regards;

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I recently stayed the this hotel on a business trip. Initially I was concerned that they would not meet expectations. How wrong could i have been, from check in to departure I couldn't fault the team. The rooms are well designed and spacious. The large bathroom with roomy walk in shower was fantastic. Only one small issue (its me just being picky), there was no shelf to put toiletries and other things on. Breakfast was good and enough to get me through until lunch. I will most definitely be back, in fact this hotel is where I will favour on each visit to NYC. Overall one I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkemoss14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We can only improve by listening to our customers’ feedback and identifying star performers. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have the opportunity to host you again when your future business plans bring you back to New York City and the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel.


Best regards;

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Found Wyndham Garden Chinatown on Priceline, good deal for a wonderful, bright, clean room with a wall of floor-to-ceiling windows. The free breakfast is a work in progress, with slow (but earnest and polite) service. All staff were helpful, pleasant, and enthusiastic. Lobby is bright, all-glass. Rooms are comfy and efficient, wonderful linens, contemporary walk-in shower.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bravura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. As you said, we are a work in progress as we are a new hotel and are working on getting the restaurant up and running for the breakfast. We can only improve by listening to our customers’ feedback and identifying star performers. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have the opportunity to host you again when your future travel plans bring you back to New York City and the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel.

Best regards;

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#196 of 468 in New York City
392 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 468 in New York City
676 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#205 of 468 in New York City
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#215 of 468 in New York City
589 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#2 of 468 in New York City
360 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#267 of 468 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $205 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing