We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Real italian food in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo - CLOSED

IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: West Village
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real italian food in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

As an italian living in NYC I need to have some places where I can feel at home even if 8000 km away from it. One of these places is il Cantuccio. I hang out here at least twice per week if not even more. I always buy la focaccia semplice to bring back home as bread and I always eat their pizza Manhattan or their Margherita for lunch. Their coffee, especially the espresso is really good. Also you must try their Cantucci, that is a typical italian cookie. I love the one with chocolate.
Italian music and atmosphere are guaranteed as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuluCentro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BAAR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great italian breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

A great place to have breakfast in West Village. Try the sweet brioches or the croissants with nutella or get one of sandwiches- all is made fresh and delicious.

Helpful?
Thank GREG_HANGLOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dania Beach, FL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best biscotti in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Il Cantuccio was probably one of my many highlights of my last trip to New York. It was definitely the highlight in the coffee/biscotti category. Il Cantuccio is an Italian bakery in the West Village characterized for having the best biscotti in town. I am not a biscotti connoisseuse but I can tell you they were great. My brother insisted with the chocolate one but my favorite was the one with dates. The biscotti are softer than the ones I am used to. They are really fresh and go great with a cappuccino or any Italian coffee for that matter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrudieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place in NYC for the real Tuscany delicatessen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Trust in me, cantucci, pizza, schiacciata and coffee like the very best traditional italian style.

Great for brunch and a break!

Great bread too

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cadiutori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is the place for all Tuscany lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

As a much travelled Tuscany lover, to stumble upon this little coffe place in Greenwich Village was a dream.

Highly recommend the coffee in a glass coated with Nutella but don't expect to eat for the rest of the day. It was divinely rich and gorgeous.

A perfect placeto take a rest, reada book, drink some coffee and eat biscotti. I could have been in Florence.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanMcNally18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing