We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb gem”

Donna Bell's Bake Shop
Ranked #60 of 388 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb gem”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Bijoux but uber fab - fabulous pastries, fresh juice and coffee. Banana scones and sweet cornbread filled with raspberry jam worth a trip to NYC just for them!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    29
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nl
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had read that the cornbread was phenomenal as were the biscuits......meh, just okay IMHO. I expected the cornbread to taste like cornbread which it did not.....more like a muffin. I've had better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bear0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stopped here for a treat on my way to try the lottery for Book of Mormon. Everything looked decadently delicious and I liked the story behind the bakery, how it specializes in homemade southern baked goods and is inspired by, and even named after, one of the owner's mothers. It sounded so charming, especially since I've lived in the deep South for over 40 years. I chose the peanut butter cookie. While I don't think there's such a thing as a bad cookie, this one came the closest. It just wasn't very tasty and was unappealing. If I lived in New York, I'd probably go back and sample a few things to hopefully discover what they do well. It just isn't the peanut butter cookie.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, great coffee”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stopped in for breakfast pastries and coffee. Not a very big store, but there is a place to eat in the courtyard of the building that the store is located in. Loved the cheddar biscuits and scones. The coffee was perfect. Rich and strong, but not bitter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex99998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Biscuit Ever”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The bacon biscuit was fresh out of the oven and it was the best biscuit ever. Would gladly eat there every day of the trip. The scone wasn't bad either.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bocotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Donna Bell's Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Donna Bell's Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing