We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Stay Here if you are a rabbit and/or hampster” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only Stay Here if you are a rabbit and/or hampster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My Boyfriend and I booked this place on the last night of our travels together . As we had been traveling the US a month staying mostly in hostels we wanted a private room for our last night . But oh man this was not the right place . The only space in the " private rooms" is literally for the bed ( And I would consider it a King Single at best ) The walls Don't go right to the top and the space in the hallway is probably not even a foot across. There is no privacy and one hears every noise in the entire place . In the end we could only laugh about it and now refer to it jovially as " the rabbit hutch " however do not stay here . It may seem cheaper than other places but totally not worth it . Another downside is that the Soho area of Manhattan is really swanky and you'll find it hard to find affordable restaurants slash food in any form in the vicinity.. The service was also terrible , had to hand key in when we went out which felt very arbitrary and strange . The washing machine area was like a prison and stunk really bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolefromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    60
    61
    45
    178
See reviews for
6
47
134
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

There is a point at which affordability, as a metric, breaks down into insignificance. Bowery's 'Whitehouse' (Nothing is cleaned regularly enough to stay truly white) is the definition of 'cheap as hell'. Whatever your budget, you simply cannot afford to stay here, for health and safety reasons.

When beggars ask if you can spare some change for a hostel, this is the kind of place they have in mind. This hostel has a sign saying 'No Spitting' on the wall. I doubt it is heeded.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkhamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Nevada City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I took my seven year old daughter here and we stayed five nights. She loved the place. We stayed here because we had no other choice, as I couldn't afford anything else, and we really made the best of it. At night I told her stories about how entire families used to live with all their kids and all their belongings inside little tenement housing flats like this, and she was rather enthralled. There is a refrigerator, a microwave, but no other kitchen accommodations. We had no problem with bed bugs either. I guess all the years I spent in the army somewhat hardened me to the other complaints I've been reading about on this page. Look, put simply, if you have enough money for a better hotel, go elsewhere. If you are worried about having enough money, this place will be your saving grace, like it was ours. I felt very safe here. So did my daughter. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: We started in room 217 and then got switched to room 205, which was on the end and much bigger. We l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissWatermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is place is rat house.
Every room has no ceiling, so every rooms is easly accesible by everyone and has no safe.
You hear EVERY npise coming from the other rooms and even the bathroom has no ceiling, so even the smell reaches everyroom.
Therere no power outlet in the rooms so you have to leave your eletronic stuff at the reception to recharge it.
The staff is rude and unfriendly, we had to wait 1,30h JUST to check in becouse the guy was at the phone with his mum (?!?!?)

This place should be shut down, I slept better in India.

THERE IS NO CEILING!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vittorio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Despite the ton of bad reviews, I thought why not give this 'HOTEL' a shot since it has such a good location. Turned out to be my worst travelling experience ever! I stayed 3 nights here..the stuffs were rude, unhelpful and very incompetent. Not even mentioning no electricity plug in the room, the room was dirty, hot and noisy. You basically can hear what people are saying next door. Just dont stay here !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller0123452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed twice at this hotel and I am planning a third trip. I have to say over all I have had a very positive experience when I stayed in the white house hotel. I really mean this when I say the staff are so nice and friendly and very helpful to everyone. The accomodation is basic as it is billed but I would not let that deter you as long as you are aware of it.

The location is the real selling point I have to say it is so central and surrounded by shops, restaurants and grocery stores.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silerose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Do not ever ever stay at this hotel booked for one night our room was crawling with bed bugs we had to spend the rest of the evening in the lobby as too scared to stay incase they infested our bags and clothes, yes this place is cheap but I would never ever recommend this place to anyone worst hotel I've been to in my life absolutely vile. If you don't want to reuine your trip to New York stay well clear of this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Riabrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#21 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#24 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 340 Bowery, New York City, NY 10012-2458
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 166 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehouse Hotel of NY is one of the most affordable hostels in New York, offering single and double air-conditioned units with the privacy and security you're looking for. Located in New York City's No-Ho district, our New York hostel is the perfect choice for backpackers, students and travelers on a budget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing