We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for budget backpackers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for budget backpackers.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Well, I've read bunch of reviews about this hotel which often are bad. But if you're short in budget and you also want to live in Manhattan, this is the place to fit. I've lived in this hotel for 7days, I don't find any bed bugs, and I don't feel noisy in the room area. The only annoying thing to me is that wifi over there is not free all the time. When you log in the free wifi, once you leave the hotel, you won't get free wifi after you vome back, this is really something that the hotel should make improvement immediately.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaluGlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    60
    61
    45
    177
See reviews for
6
46
134
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I liked stay in Bowery's Whitehouse hotel of NY. I't saved my money and time.Most the time I been out of hotel, so for me it did not matter how big is room been and how well it equped.It had a privacy, hot water and clean restrooms.Accross a street a little Seven/eleven where I usually had an enexpensive breakfast.So , I will reccomend it for people on a budget. Sincerely, Elvira Spartz.

Room Tip: It depend of number of people with whom you travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can't understand any of the good reviews on this hostel. Please avoid! This was the only bad experience of our 5day trip to NYC. The location is great, but that's the only good thing about it!

Rooms, toilets and showers were filthy, your "private" room has no ceiling so you can hear everything going on on the floor which I think had 63 beds. There was 2 shower cubicles and 4 toilets for the floor. No sockets in your room just one little light and our door handle fell off our door every time you opened it. We went down into the basement to see the laundry facilities and I felt like I was in a horror movie. I've stayed in alot of hostels around the world and this is by far my worst hostel experience!! AVOID!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shezzle124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked to stay here for 4 nights, we took the hit financially and moved to an alternative after night 2. The rooms are small which isn't so much of a problem however the lack of power, extremely noisy beds, door handle that fell off everytime you opened the door, the lack of ceiling making it sound like someone was next to you talking, the unclean showers and unclean toilets were too much! the hostel was also ridiculously hot.

the website and pictures do not reflect the reality of this hostel. I have stayed in many hostels and this was the worst by far. We mentioned to some locals where we were staying and they told us all the bad things they had heard.

the staff member on our arrival was extremely polite and helpful however the other members of staff we dealt with were not.

the location is fantastic however that is the only good thing I have to say

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just slept and took shower there, but it was too much. The shower was disgusting and small and no pressure. The room was small, the bed is loud. We didn't get bugs, thanks for God...No power in the room, so if you wanna charge your mobile or camera, you have to give it to the reception. Just ONE VALUE: the location, nothing else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukapop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Its OK for the price. Location is excelent. 2 mins to subway station.
Just bed and peg coat - everithing i need. Looks like hostels in asia, but cleaner.
If you dont sleep weel, take earplugs. Staff is OK. Not so friedly, but correct.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleshaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice and friendly staff (front desk is open 24/7). Excellent location - steps away from NYU, Greenwich Village, the Meatpacking District, Ground Zero, SoHo and New York's hottest night spots, restaurants and best shopping. Safe and lively part of the No-Ho District of Manhattan. Would recommend to travellers who wants value for money...it's one of the most affordable in NYC. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabinaBled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#172 of 466 in New York City
684 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#186 of 466 in New York City
621 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#309 of 466 in New York City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#136 of 466 in New York City
943 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#342 of 466 in New York City
394 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#381 of 466 in New York City
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 340 Bowery, New York City, NY 10012-2458
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehouse Hotel of NY is one of the most affordable hostels in New York, offering single and double air-conditioned units with the privacy and security you're looking for. Located in New York City's No-Ho district, our New York hostel is the perfect choice for backpackers, students and travelers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing