We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure”
Review of The Amsterdam Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Amsterdam Inn
Ranked #421 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 17, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this quaint hotel for one week.Apon arrival we found the hotel to be very clean and the staff to be very pleasant and helpful.My husband and I had a room with a private bath the room was very clean and a nice size. We love this hotel so much that we will be back often, not only beause we enjoyed our stay but beause the location of the hotel is great! right in the heart of broadway, so we were never board and transportaion was very easy as well a lot of buses and trains and cabs so it made it easy to go back and forth. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone look for that new york experience and for more bang for their buck the as the private bath also came with a breakfast voucher and staff went out of their way to make us at home.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrnmrsrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 110 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2009

This was the worste hotel that I have ever stayed in! After climbing 17 stairs with heavy luggage and no offer of assistance from staff, the room was small, linens old and worn, beds were inproperly made no mattress pads, the noise from the bar below and the street was unbearable. The shower did not work, there were no towels and no extra pillows, or any other nicety that you would expect in any hotel. We were told that we would be given a coupon for a "free" bagel down the street which we never received, as it turned out, the bagel place turned out to be a dump too! Do not waste your money on this dump!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenlpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Bathroom was dirty. Room was freezing. HORRIBLE street noise. NO ELEVATOR! NO mattress pads on the beds and they looked at me like I was crazy when I asked for one. Sheets were thread-bare and had holes. And NO HEAT in the bathroom at all!! I am sorry I believed the semi-acceptable reviews for this place to save some money. Stayed 1 out of 3 nights and booked a 4-star hotel on Priceline for almost the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We accepted, but didn't need, the free l Day Gym passes being distributed outside the entrance on Amsterdam Street. This is because we received the Switzerland-type hike up an immediate flight when you enter. (Personally, I liked being off the street level. However, it took 2 flights to escape the street noise on the weekend.) We expected some of this from an uptown/downtown boutique hotel.

We found the service to be excellent when we requested a higher floor room to escape the street noise of our 1st night. Our room DID NOT have an in-room refrigerator, but the desk manager kindly offered to share the staff refrigerator for a few small items.

The rooms were very clean and bathrooms manicured. Continental Breakfast passes came with the room key at a location down the block. Best of all, it was only 1-2 blocks to the nearest subway stop to go anywhere in town. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHEI43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

The cheapest hotel I could afford in NY and was excellent value for money. The hotel had a slight hostel feel but is great for young people looking for somewhere decent to stay, The room was basic but you get what you pay for

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gra003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Good place 2 stay where u can see real new yorkers going about their day. Go to Zabars for a bagel at breakfast, walk thru the park, get a pizza at Nick's, all stuff New yorkers do, and from this hotel u can do it all.

Now, onto the hotel. The rooms r really small. u have a bed, a tv at the en of the bed, and a bathroom, and thats it. u definatley would never pay this much for a hotel anywhere in the world but in New york (and maybe London).

In the future i probably wouldnt stay here again. Altho we were on the 1st floor, it was still a real pain to carry ur bags up just one flight of stairs.

The staff were generally quite good. a little bit quiet and that, but they did ensure security was tight all the time

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Yes, they are friendly and common areas are very clean. The rooms are the problem.
Mine didn't have a bedside lamp so you had to keep the ceiling lights on if you wanted to read, go to the bathroom at night or just take a peek at your watch inthe middle of the night. I asked for one and they said they didn't have an extra one.
I also asked for a chair as there was no place to place the laptop (they do suggest a service at a cost) but you can only place the laptop in your bed.
All this for a room with shared bath at 117.00 dollars including tax. No breakfast of course. No elevator. So at least 5 flights of stairs.
The bedspread looked so ancient that one has to remove it immediately. Now, noise.
The staff yells from one floor to the other and from one end of the corridor to the other and feels like they are inside your room.
There is a huge construction site next door, deluxe condominiums and since the windows and window airconditioners are not in the best of shape (the accordion closures tattered) you can hear the construction noise all day.

This hotel should be billed as a notch above a youth hostel and should cost 60.00 a night MAX. Not a cent more for what you get.

Next time in Manhattan I will book earlier, pay more and save on other things so as to not have to give business to establishments like this.

I would recommend everyone to find better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yurisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 469 in New York City
2,112 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#195 of 469 in New York City
1,177 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 469 in New York City
3,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#183 of 469 in New York City
5,341 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#68 of 469 in New York City
3,642 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#349 of 469 in New York City
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amsterdam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amsterdam Inn

Address: 340 Amsterdam Ave, at 76th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6932
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #421 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Amsterdam Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Amsterdam Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amsterdam Hotel New York City
Amsterdam Hotel New York City
Amsterdam Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing