We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New York City Bargain”
Review of The Amsterdam Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Amsterdam Inn
Ranked #422 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 6, 2007

This is not a hotel for everyone. However, if you have a sense of adventure and are looking for basic accommodations, the Amsterdam Inn may be for you. My wife and I stayed here for the 2007 New York City Marathon (November 1-4). We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel’s location at 76th Street and Amsterdam Avenue is very central for midtown activities and also only two blocks from where the Marathon ends. We found the Amsterdam Inn to be secure, with a buzzer at the entrance and also at the second floor landing. An attendant is at the reception desk 24/7. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast is included (at a coffee shop a block away). High speed internet is available (at extra cost). There is no elevator and yes, the stairs are steep. For New York City, the room rate cannot be beat ($159 weekdays, $179 weekend days). We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2007

The Amsterdam was a pleasant surprise. It is very clean. The staff very helpful and will assist with luggage. I had a full bed with shared bath and the room was average sized.The bathroom was large and clean; in addition there was a separate small shower and toilet on the same floor. The only incident I had was with other occupants not cleaning up after themselves. When you share communal space it is common courtesy to try and clean up or at least tell the staff what needs cleaning. Otherwise the location is perfect, i rode the bus all the way down to Macy's in 25minutes. Just ask the staff how to get where you want to go.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank seasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a wedding over in Long Island, and I was very impressed. First impression is that our room was extremely small, but this was expected. Surprisingly, the room and bathroom were both spotless and looked like they had recently been remodeled. I was actually really impressed with the bathroom and the shower, it was nicer and "fancier" than any chain hotel I've stayed in. The price we paid (a little under $200) was excellent for the area. The room was quiet with little city noise coming it, but I'm sure this depends on where your window is. The hotel itself is really quaint and you get the New York City living experience due to its size (small) and location.

The staff at the hotel was great as well, and the two employees we interacted with were helpful when needed but otherwise stayed out of the way. I definitely recommend the Amsterdam if you're just one or two people and don't mind a very small room.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rowuncw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

At first we weren't very happy. Huge construction project going on outside and very tiny, not terribly nice rooms, tiny bathrooms down the hall, steep steps, no elevator, a little creepy. However it was very clean and an absolutly wonderful location.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DisappointedAmherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Are you people kidding me??? This place was horrible. Yes, it was in a good location, but that does not make up for the thread bare sheets, the horrible squeaky bed, the cheap [--] towels, and the remote control that may or may not have been used previously as a sex toy.

Um yeah, and the construction/drilling that started at precisely 7am is just one more reason why the Amsterdam Inn is off my list of places to stay in NYC. GAG.

(We also were not given a crib for our baby. And the stairs were brutal.)

And just because their website says they are a "boutique hotel", they are not. Take my word for it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mominseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Wow, what a great little hotel. We have been travelling in the USA for six weeks and stayed at upwards of 20 different hotels and this one rates in our top five! We were lucky to get a lobby floor room because we only had one flight of stairs to climb. Our room was cozy and very clean and not too small. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to everything and in a pretty safe part of town, we always felt comfortable walking around - and for two country folks from New Zealand, that's saying something. Close to subway, the park, 5th ave and a gorgeous cafe around the corner called Cosi will killer sandwiches! We will be staying at this hotel when we return to NYC that's for sure for the price (cheap for the city) it can't be beat!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Globalkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Initially we were a bit nervous at pulling up in a taxi at the little door, but once we were settled in, the receptionist was fantastic. We were actually given a choice of which room we wanted! I read previous reviews that staff were negative, but we never got that vibe! They were friendly, helpful, and accomodating. The hotel is next to several great restaurants and delis and very close to the subway.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Coralee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 469 in New York City
5,479 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#230 of 469 in New York City
3,757 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#63 of 469 in New York City
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 469 in New York City
7,336 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
2,444 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#355 of 469 in New York City
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amsterdam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amsterdam Inn

Address: 340 Amsterdam Ave, at 76th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6932
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Amsterdam Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Amsterdam Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amsterdam Hotel New York City
Amsterdam Hotel New York City
Amsterdam Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing