We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a look, Cafe is the highlight” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neue Galerie

Neue Galerie
Book In Advance
More Info
$260.00*
and up
Full Day NYC Tour
Ranked #64 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum displaying works of art by German and Austrian artists and designers.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a look, Cafe is the highlight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The museum is exclusively devoted to Austrian art. I enjoyed my first trip, but was greatly disappointed that their recent Klimt Retrospective amounted to a just few paintings already in the permanent collection and a special plaque commemorating Klimts 150th birthday. Cafe Sabarsky on the first floor, however, is wonderful! Take an afternoon break to enjoy a authentic Viennese desert and coffee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLover1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    304
    76
    40
    32
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
225 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Nice Little Gallery of Austrian and German Modernist Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

It was by chance that we happened upon the Neue Gallery. We were walking from Madison Avenue towards Fifth Avenue when my wife spotted a banner on a lamppost advertising their current exhibition. Why not check it out? We were right there.

The gallery is housed in an impressive former Vanderbilt mansion. The museum is dedicated to Austrian and German modernist art from the turn of the last century. It's most famous painting is the iconic portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer by Gustav Klimt.

The museum is elegant and the collection is small. Several additional paintings and many drawings by Klimt were displayed. There were paintings by other artists of the same era as well as lamps, clocks and other objects. I did not rent an audio guide. Perhaps I should have.

This is a little specialty museum, nicely done and worth visiting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
248 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gallery Marred by Admission Charge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Fans of turn of the century German & Austrian art will love this jewel of a museum along Museum mile not far from the Met. One should not put a price on art but then if you are on a budget, the admission charge should not be something you can ignore. It is a beautiful museum & kudos to the Lauder family for this. However at $20 per admission, it is hefty. I believe the family can give back to the city by having more free days like other museums instead of only the first Friday of the month. May be a petty comment but this is my view.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful art gallery, restaurant and shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Check out the Neue Galerie website and you get a glimpse of what you can expect there. The collection is an exquisite representation of Austrian and German art and design of the early 20th Century. The two restaurants (same menus, different floors of the gallery) provide a taste of Vienna with a menu of savoury dishes, pastries and beverages. This is a small gallery but the quality and experience make it very special.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Came for Klimt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I came to this gallery specifically to see Klimt's Adele Bloch-Bauer. I've admired this painting for years and wanted to see it in person. It so happened that my NY trip aligned with his 150th celebration so there was more of his work on display which was wonderful.

The interiors of this building are incredible. I found myself admiring the walls, moldings and floors as much as the art. The staff that i interacted with were friendly. The book store and gift area were a bit stuffy climate wise so I didn't stay to browse.

Helpful?
1 Thank just2bria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neue Galerie also viewed

 

Been to Neue Galerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing