We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again”
Review of Envoy Club Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Envoy Club Suites
Ranked #426 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I have read the other reviews but found my room less than up to standard... the carpets need replacing (they looked dirty with many stains!), the curtains and window treatments need cleaning, in fact the room smelt terrible! The apartments are very roomy but really need a major updating!! Also very concerned about security... rooms were left open on the floor when being cleaned and anyone could access any of the rooms whilst the cleaning staff were completing their duties! Never seen anything like it! I travel the world alot and have stayed at many places but this ranked as one of the worst places I have stayed in for a long time. Travellers should also be aware that the Hotel is not centrally located and cabs are not always easily accesible outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gant02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 129 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was huge! the kitchen was as big as my one at home!

the living room size was good, and the hotel was within walking distance to times square, the empire state building and the Rockefeller plaza.

we had 6 people staying here and the pull out sofa was a little uncomfortable for adults. It might be ok for kids though, and the living room with the sofa bed was very noisy and let in a lot of light at night. the bedrooms were perfect though.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squishy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I booked the Envoy Club Suites, because I really needed my kids (aged 11 and 14) to get a good nights sleep (separately) after flying in late evening from London.
The block itself is on the east side of mid-town, and was easily accessed from JFK, even on a Friday evening.
The suite we stayed in was a corner unit,had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, and we made use of the sofa-bed provided in the lounge area.
Unfortunately, the sofa bed was such poor quality that my son had to sleep on it at a strange angle (his feet a good six inches below his head). What was more disappointing, was the fact that as it was a corner suite, there were approximately 8 sets of roman blinds to adjust to cover the windows. Half of these did not close properly, and the brass ropes were very dirty (as were the curtains themselves).
Furthermore, the noise form the traffic (why does everyone hoot 24/7 in NYC?) was very audible.
The carpets really were dirty, and black in some places, and it is so so frustrating to me when this happens, because it shows that the owners really do not care.
The second night we stayed there was a very loud party going on in the room above till at least 1am (which I know can happen at any hotel) but this also soured my stay.
I truly believe, if they changed the carpets and the curtains, thus would be a very nice place to re-visit, and worth 4 stars from me.
In its current state, I would unfortunately advise against staying here....sorry

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank euanhusarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is the 2nd time my girlfriends and i have stayed at the envoy and i cannot say enough. the rooms were beautiful and spacious! we had a great time. the roof top was the best part of our vacation as we spent the whole day laying in the beautiful sun.
the elevators werent working 100% and that is something they may need to fix in the future. other than that, our stay was great!!!!!!!!!!!! These are apartments, and not your typical hotel with bar/lounge near the check in area so it might not be for everyone...however i will only stay at the envoy club when i visit NYC again.

Room Tip: 2 bederoom suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgraci09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnvoyClub, Manager at Envoy Club Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to New York City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed here as it was across the street from NYU, and reasonably priced. No extra ammenities, but it was very clean, close to restaurants, close to NYU and reasonably priced. Only stayed for one night (business trip), but would definately stay here again! The desk is only open 9 am until 8 pm, but there is a doorman at the front lobby 24/7. There is no business center, but the front desk staff were very helpful when I needed a document printed from my email (I forwarded it to them and they printed it for me). It seems to be a place for NYU patients, maybe, and NYU physician visitors. Very clean, pet friendly (where isn't it in NYC?).

Room Tip: reasonably priced, clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndajoMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnvoyClub, Manager at Envoy Club Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review. We work hard to please our guests and we are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience. We appreciate your feedback about the business center and will look into adding a business center so that our guests will be able to easily print documents in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

This is a "hotel" that is several floors in a residential apartment building on the corner of 1st and 33rd. We were having doctors appoints on 37th and 1st so it was a perfect location for us. It is a 10 minutes walk to Macy's and the Empire State Building, so not so far off the beaten track. We had a studio apartment with a queen bed, a sofa, dining table and 2 chairs and a full kitchen. The bathroom is large for a NY apartment. We had a view of the Empire State Building from our room. The room was very clean, although the carpet was a bit tired.

There is coffee and creamer and a nice convenience store on 2nd Avenue for bread, juice, milk etc. Due to the snow storm we ate both nights at Benjamin's on 2nd Avenue. Great food, cozy atmosphere and very good service.

Other reviews said the hallways were dirty, but we found ours very clean. The staff were very helpful (Got me a hairdryer in less than 5 minutes- it was supposed to be in the room). We had maid service even though we were only there 2 nights. There is no night staff, so you are your own from 9pm to 8am. There is a doorman in the building and he was very friendly.

There were some very noisy people in about 4 rooms on our floor. They were slamming doors and yelling in the halls but there was no no noise once they were in their rooms. Several people complained to the front desk in the morning, as well as us.

Very good value for what you get. I would highly recommend here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

OK here it is.

Good - Location, room layout, kitchen, water view.

Bad - Certain staff feel that they are doing you a favor to help you - not Shavar sp? he was great and the reason we may stay again. Others - not so great. Rooms were cleaned well but not vacuumed well. Go figure. BUT you get a vacuum in the room so go to it. This place is in many ways a hotel in name only. It is 1/2 a converted apartment bldg shared with tenants of the apartment in the rest. The hotel staff and apartment are different. No bellman for hotel guests. Concierge is limited in scope and hours. $50 charge for late checkout. WARNING: Call ahead if checking in late - be sure you room is ready.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highclasslowrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#210 of 469 in New York City
5,382 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 469 in New York City
7,339 reviews
Midtown
YOTEL New York
YOTEL New York
#135 of 469 in New York City
11,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 469 in New York City
11,721 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 469 in New York City
19,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envoy Club Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envoy Club Suites

Address: 377 E 33rd St, New York City, NY 10016-9474
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#231 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $199 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Envoy Club Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Envoy Club Suites offers beautifully appointed studios, one and two bedrooms with full kitchens and all the comforts of home. We are located in the historic Murray Hill neighborhood in midtown Manhattan. These spacious, elegantly designed apartment suites are complete with fully equipped kitchens, a dining area, cable TV, VCR/DVD player, CD stereo, and wifi internet access. Property includes large Fitness Center with sauna and steam room, Cinema Room, Conference Room and Rooftop Deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Envoy Club Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Envoy Club Hotel New York City
Envoy Hotel New York City
Envoy New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing