We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good place to stay for location and money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #141 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for location and money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean. ..updated and large enough to work in.
Free WiFi and free breakfast.
Street didn't offer much and was filled because of construction but great staff and for the money I paid 209 ut was just fine. Could use a better evening bar.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank windycitygal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    537
    118
    58
    26
See reviews for
436
411
78
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice place to stay in midtown. Comfy rooms right sized and free Wall St. Journal, USA Today AND breakfast. Staff is professional and helpful. Close to subway, shopping and Broadway. There is no fine dining nearby but there is Korea Town with its iconoclastic barbecues.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel was very accommodating to us as we asked for several special requests. We got into our room very early - circa 11 am after a race in Central Park, so the showers were very welcomed! The breakfast buffet was very nice, especially the scrambled eggs with tomatoes and cheese. Only complaint was long elevator waits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Free internet, free delicious breakfast, gym is ok, rooms ok, reasonably priced. Not a luxury hotel, but as comfortable and convenient as you could ask for. 200 hundred extra characters required by STOOOPID TripAdvisor

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here last December just after Christmas and had a nice time, but found hard it had to like it. My husband booked a bigger room as my sister was also with us.The staff was disoriented and really slow with the check in process. It took almost an hour! We drove from DC so we really tired and just wanted to relax. Considering we reached after noon, check in should have been a breeze. They gave us a handicapped room and the room was spacious.

The room was clean with modern decor. It was all good, until I stepped in the shower and realized the position of the shower head was such that it would not only flood the bathroom but also the room! Really strange experience. It took half an hour for room service to provide us with towels to soak the water and then another 2 hours for the maintenance guy to arrive to figure our problem. The staff was extremely slow but they tried their best to help. My husband booked through his points and since we were disappointed with the whole thing they gave us a night free.

The location is amazing, always buzzing with tourists and its walking distance to all the hotspots, shopping, restaurants etc. We ate breakfast in the hotel and enjoyed the selection at the buffet - nothing special the usual bread, muffins, oatmeal, juices, fruits for us vegetarians. There can be a wait line for breakfast as well as the elevators. As mentioned above we drove and weren't planning to use it during our stay. We found a cheaper alternative to the hotel parking opposite the hotel, best way to find options is by using google maps.

Might come back to stay in a standard room mainly for the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pallaviumarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Positives: Location, location, location; just a block from Empire State Building on one side, and Macy's on the other. We took a red eye flight and arrived way before 3:00 pm check in, the staff was accomodating none the less...THANK YOU!. Appreciated that WiFi was not an extra $12/day thank you. The breakfast skillets were quite phenomenal! Not the typical "free breakfast" of bad coffee, stale bun, and juice. But rather a real, hearty, hot breakfast...definately a plus! Negatives: The elevators. There are only two of them, and they are slow. by the time it gets to your floor, it's probrably full. Stairs are ok...unless you have luggage and you're on the 18th floor. The rooms are quite small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Rodolfo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this midtown location for the second time. Rooms have been clean and its a great location. That is all I really want and this hotel provides it. Staff is friendly, no issues. Our earlier stay had a great view of the Empire State Building, this time we were not as lucky. Bathroom was clean too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Y78GPmichaelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#152 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#170 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#143 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#105 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#60 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing