We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Solid stuff in the shadow of the Empire State Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #142 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brier, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Solid stuff in the shadow of the Empire State Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

One of several boutique hotels on this street, and one of the few reasonable (in NYC dollars) hotels to fit 5 adults/teens. Two comfy queen beds and a sofa in a small room is a tight fit, but in NYC, tight fits are the norm. Newish and clean, with an airy lobby and a dining area. The free breakfasts have long lines as you approach the 9 am cutoff, and the food is OK at best, lots of bready things. We only ate there twice in a week. But’s in New York: lots of places to eat including a better than average Fresh and Natural deli next door. Plus the Keg Room right across the street was a family favorite.

The Herald Square subway is right around the corner, so you are in the heart of city, but happily out of Times Square (it's a subway stop away).

25 floors (we don’t count the non-existent 13th floor), means if you get high up on the south side, you get a tremendous view of the Empire State Building. And the windows open slightly for fresh air versus constant air conditioning. There are 2 fast elevators, but wait time around busy breakfast times can be long.

Good maid service, solid & free WiFi, and a friendly staff. Minor quibbles about lack of power outlets and noise from the elevators.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougt425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    551
    123
    58
    26
See reviews for
450
428
81
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is small but very nice....we loved our room - very contemporary and clean! Nice breakfast buffet that is free, however, the line gets very long, and the dining area is very small. There is only one elevator, so the breakfast backup caused a huge delay in getting downstairs. Otherwise, the staff was very friendly and the hotel was within close walking distance to Times Square and the Empire State Building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Hallie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend. Will stay here every trip to NY. Location is convenient to shopping, subway lines, Times Square, and TKTS. Rooms are large by NY standards with a separate couch and sitting area. Decor was much more upscale than expected.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel have made our stay incredible. Kevin at the front desk was amazing and helped us get a room as soon as we got there, which was around 9:30am ( most hotels make you wait until 3 to check in). Kevin also made sure I had a tub, which was an added bonus. I will always choose this hotel in the future because the prices are great, it's very clean, the larger rooms are very spacious, the staff is great... Especially Kevin, and the location is perfect! I love this place and look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keirstead72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

PRO: Very friendly staff. Great location. Walking distance to time square and empire state building. CON: Only one elevator. Be prepared to wait during peak hours or use the stairs which is an excellent form of exercise that I would recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barto, pa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

First time staying in New York City. We had a party of 5, so it was hard to find a room that slept 5 that was not so expensive. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. Room had (2) queens and a sofa bed. The room may have been a bit on the small side, but we did not feel cramped. Beds were very comfortable. Large screen TV and fridge in the room. There is a microwave in the lounge to use. The hotel is within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. Times Square, Broadway. Rockafeller Center, Port Authority.
Breakfast was a step above the normal continental breakfast we get. Nice breakfast sandwiches and french toast along with all the other normal items.
I would not hesitate to stay here again when going to city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disneybonvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I'd like to start by saying the staff is exceptional at this property. We are a family of six (6) and this room fit use well and cozy :) I must admit that this is our first stay in NYC so this room seems small to us but from what I've read this is good sized (esp for the location and price).

We love the location. It ended up being much closer to key locations and attractions like The Empire State Building, Time Square, Broadway and Shopping. We also bought unlimited 7 days Metro Passes and every location was a quick train or bus ride away.

I have to agree with earlier comments about the morning elevator situation. It's very difficult to take the elevator in the mornings. With the crush of people checking in and out along with the staff having to use the same elevator it makes sense that there's a long wait. Luckily we are on the 5th floor so we just took the stairs in the AM.

Ok that brings me to breakfast. We sometimes just slept in so late we missed it but as it nears 9am there is a crush of people in the dinning area and yes food does run out but they quickly restock even when it's close to 9am. There were these two people who has the arduous task of taking care of the buffet areas and they hustled. There was a young Spanish girl and guy and anything I asked about or for they always had a smile and a quick turn around. I do feel they need more hands on deck for breakfast since the great staff is being overwhelmed by poor design and layout of the dining area. One plus was that we were free to take our food outside to eat or even to our room. The food was pretty good and they had many choices.

There is a microwave in the dinning area that can be used throughout the day which came in handy for reheating leftovers.

Parking sucks but we are in NYC so that's to be expected. We drove here from Florida in our SUV and just note the base is $35 but for an SUV it's $45 per day (ouch since we're here for 7 days).

All in all the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable which are my personal top two needs...I would certainly recommend this hotel. Lovely hotel with a great location.

Pleas note that I'm really not a fussy or high maintenance travel/person. For the price point this property is very good. I read some other reviews and if you want to be picky etc than you may need to up your price point.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnieSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#165 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#107 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#167 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#151 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Expedia so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing