We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #155 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Rooms nice and spacious for NYC ( some overlook Empire State ). Very central. Lobby cramped. Breakfast good. Free Wi fi. good overall deal for NYC.
Good for families and tourists and ok for business too.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,924)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Although this is not a luxury hotel, they made you feel like a queen. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful no matter what was requested of them. I must say this was the most pleasant hotel stay that I have had in quite some time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Joerether C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Loved this hotel. Within walking distance to Penn Station, Times Square, Macys etc. Free breakfast and many of the rooms sleep five people. The rooms are big for New York standards. Great for families!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Ddown129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our great experience at the Hyatt place started with Dulce who checked us in. She graciously told us that while our room was ready, if we wanted to wait we could have a room with a nicer view of the empire state building. She was fabulous! The room was very nice and comfortable, though neither of us were happy with the pillows, but that is really nit-picking. As others have said this is an excellent location, with many attractions within easy walking distance and the subways are close. It was just about half the price of what I was going to pay at the Marriott. And Discount parking- 35.00 a night to park (24 hours) is cheap in NYC. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: high floor- request an empire state building view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nottnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here a couple times for business. You really can't argue with the location; though the street it's on isn't the swankiest place I've ever set foot, you can get virtually anywhere in Manhattan in 15-20 minutes as the hotel is conveniently a three-minute walk to Herald Square station, where several subway lines intersect.

Rooms are very serviceable, and borderline "nice"; they feel new and clean, and have nice couches for lounging. They're equipped with fridges, which is a huge plus. I understand the higher floors have nice views; I was on 9 so was looking across the street into an office building. I didn't find the street too noisy, unless someone got out of a cab and then the horns would start blaring (welcome to New York). Also, I got a Wall Street Journal delivered to my room each morning, which was a nice touch. Internet was a bit slow, but free. Breakfast was very good, with hot sandwiches, cottage cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal etc. And the breakfast staff work really hard to keep the place clean and stocked, which I appreciated.

Front desk service is a bit raw: this is where you remember that no, this ain't the Plaza, it's the Place. Somewhat unpoised staff are expected at a limited-service hotel; it just hurts when you're paying $350 a night to have to try as hard as I did to get a smile out of anyone.

Room Tip: High floors (higher than 15); if you're sensitive to noise, as for a rear-facing room.
Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank mattypw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The location is perfect - close to the subway and walking distance to Times Square, Empire State, etc. It is so nice to return to a quiet hotel at the end of a busy, noisy day. The room was very clean & perfectly quiet, and the staff were friendly. Will definitely stay here again, for a girls' trip or with family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
2  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel suited us perfectly - great location - walkable or easy access to subway. Rooms were a bit smaller than expected but we were only returning at the end of each day to sleep. Breakfast buffet was very busy but turnaround was quite quick - food was adequate for free buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank gjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#164 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#161 of 468 in New York City
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 468 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 468 in New York City
1,173 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#94 of 468 in New York City
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Address: 52 W 36th St # 54, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $205 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing