We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #144 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel Great location”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Loved this hotel. Within walking distance to Penn Station, Times Square, Macys etc. Free breakfast and many of the rooms sleep five people. The rooms are big for New York standards. Great for families!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Ddown129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    680
    169
    62
    33
See reviews for
575
532
100
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our great experience at the Hyatt place started with Dulce who checked us in. She graciously told us that while our room was ready, if we wanted to wait we could have a room with a nicer view of the empire state building. She was fabulous! The room was very nice and comfortable, though neither of us were happy with the pillows, but that is really nit-picking. As others have said this is an excellent location, with many attractions within easy walking distance and the subways are close. It was just about half the price of what I was going to pay at the Marriott. And Discount parking- 35.00 a night to park (24 hours) is cheap in NYC. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: high floor- request an empire state building view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nottnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here a couple times for business. You really can't argue with the location; though the street it's on isn't the swankiest place I've ever set foot, you can get virtually anywhere in Manhattan in 15-20 minutes as the hotel is conveniently a three-minute walk to Herald Square station, where several subway lines intersect.

Rooms are very serviceable, and borderline "nice"; they feel new and clean, and have nice couches for lounging. They're equipped with fridges, which is a huge plus. I understand the higher floors have nice views; I was on 9 so was looking across the street into an office building. I didn't find the street too noisy, unless someone got out of a cab and then the horns would start blaring (welcome to New York). Also, I got a Wall Street Journal delivered to my room each morning, which was a nice touch. Internet was a bit slow, but free. Breakfast was very good, with hot sandwiches, cottage cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal etc. And the breakfast staff work really hard to keep the place clean and stocked, which I appreciated.

Front desk service is a bit raw: this is where you remember that no, this ain't the Plaza, it's the Place. Somewhat unpoised staff are expected at a limited-service hotel; it just hurts when you're paying $350 a night to have to try as hard as I did to get a smile out of anyone.

Room Tip: High floors (higher than 15); if you're sensitive to noise, as for a rear-facing room.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mattypw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The location is perfect - close to the subway and walking distance to Times Square, Empire State, etc. It is so nice to return to a quiet hotel at the end of a busy, noisy day. The room was very clean & perfectly quiet, and the staff were friendly. Will definitely stay here again, for a girls' trip or with family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel suited us perfectly - great location - walkable or easy access to subway. Rooms were a bit smaller than expected but we were only returning at the end of each day to sleep. Breakfast buffet was very busy but turnaround was quite quick - food was adequate for free buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank gjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is well located, staff are very friendly and helpful and the facilities are well kept. The room was more spacious than I expected. Lower floors are a bit noisy if that is an issue for you. All in all I was very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank hollyr345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Conveniently located to transportation and shopping (Macy's just 2 short blocks away). Good value, terrific staff. Be aware that hotel is very busy, only 2 agents at desk, prepare to wait to check-in/out and for elevators ( only 2 serving 24 floors of rooms).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosietheretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St # 54, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing