We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #154 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A new hotel in a great location, near Herald Square, so great shopping in the immediate vicinity. Also near many subway stops for various lines, so very convenient to travel around. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Fitness center small and in the basement, but adequate machines with built in video systems, and there are towels and cold water available. Breakfast was fairly good, although crowded in the morning. The elevators were slow to arrive at times; allow an extra few minutes for this, and ask for a lower floor, so you can use the stairs if in a rush. Room was average size for NYC (meaning small anywhere else), but comfortable bed, nice large shower and a big flat screen television. To sum up, a good 'base of operations' for either business or tourist trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor, so the stairs are a viable option to use, if elevators are too slow for you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranknDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,926)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I read a lot of reviews about how elevators were slow breakfast was so crowded we didn't experience any of this people just like to complain about everything. This hotel was in a good location pretty close to everything we got a 2 queen room w a pull out sofa bed which is unheard of in NYC everything is usually just 2 double beds it's a newer hotel & rooms were very clean the front desk staff there was great especially Luis I would def return to this hotel next time I'm in NYC !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you spent time to do some homework, and is flexible in your vacation days, it is not hard to find very good rates for this midtown Hyatt Place even during busy seasons. You get everything you expect from any Hyatt Place, and more. The atmosphere is lively. The breakfast is above average. The room is spacious and clean. I will not hesitate to choose this hotel again if the rate is good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tooraktoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The location of this hotel is good. The gym is adequate. The complimentary breakfast is pretty good. Two old slow elevators for 25+ floors means you will wait a long time for the elevator. The bar is tiny, but the evening bartender Kevin is awesome and makes a mean martini. The cleanliness of the rooms is average--or so I thought until I found bed bugs in my bed! When I checked out a night early because of the bed bugs, the hotel charged me full price, and said they would need to conduct an investigation that would take 6 to 8 weeks long before issuing a refund. An investigation--even though I brought them a live bed bug in a water bottle and despite the fact that there was at least one smashed one on the bed sheets. But they gave me 10,00 Hyatt points to make it all good, as if I am going to stay at Hyatt in the future. Boo to Hyatt for the bed bugs and their refund policy.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2504
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
16  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

we spent 3 nights in NY City and the Hyatt Place was perfect for us. As a family of 5 with two teenagers we had a hard time finding a good hotel, centerally located, for a reasonable price. This hotel has rooms accomodating 5 people (two double beds and a sofa bed). This was its main advantage for us. In addition, the hotel's location is great and so is the breakfast which is included in the room price. Although the room was quite small, it was very pleasant and clean, and we had a great view of the Empire State Building right outside our window!
We would definitely return!

Room Tip: must take a room on a high floor (preferably facing the Empire State Building)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalTul2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place has a perfect location, closet o everything and surrounded by nice “real” (not only super crowded commercial) restaurants and stores.
The staff is SUPER friendly and checking in and put is just a second.
Rooms are well appointed, small fridge, nice tv channel selection with the paper view system, and the size is pretty decent for NY.
The price is also fair. We will definitely stay here again: We moved from here to a Marriott in Times Square (DH wanted to be in the heat) and we regretted it a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hyatt Midtown for a few days in September. The location of the hotel is great. Its close to Penn Station, Harold Square and 34th street shopping. The hotel was very clean. The customer service was awesome and check in was easy. We were able to get a late check out (2pm) because we were rewards members. The room was a good size for a New York hotel. We stayed on the 22 floor with a view of the Empire State Building. There was also a small refrigerator in the room which came in handy. The internet service was easy to use and worked fine. The bed was comfortable. The hallways are a bit small and the elevators can be a little slow. They also have free breakfast available or you can go to a nice little bakery/sandwich shop right next door. They had very good breakfast sandwiches. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiC301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#168 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#162 of 468 in New York City
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 468 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 468 in New York City
1,174 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#93 of 468 in New York City
4,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Address: 52 W 36th St # 54, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $204 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing