We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out! Expensive things "go missing" here.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Watch out! Expensive things "go missing" here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

While staying here for work I left an expensive item in the room. When I called to try to get it back, it was completely unaccounted for. Even after speaking with Hyatt corporate, there was no way to get it back as it had seemingly disappeared somewhere in the housekeeping department.

Someone here has sticky fingers. I would highly recommend staying away from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
This is very disappointing. I am really sorry to hear that we were unable to locate your electric toothbrush. Please know that upon hearing of this issue I asked the staff to review every single item logged into our lost and found system since March 14th, the day we opened. Unfortunately, no toothbrush has been found. I will continue to monitor all entries and contact you directly should something turn up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    654
    156
    62
    32
See reviews for
542
516
97
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bethel park pa.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Got there about noon & expected to drop off luggage till room was available. They had one ready on 2nd floor, so we took that one & checked in. Not the biggest but it worked for us. Everything was clean & fresh & we could use the stairs to come & go. Now for the breakfast!!! They had 3 juices - cereal - donuts - english muffins - fresh fruit - mixed cut up fruit - yogurt - then every day there was a different main dish - eggs & sausage - breakfast sandwich - french toast. What more do people want??? Also there were always 2 or 3 servers keeping the room clean because a lot of people were to lazy to clean up their table for the next guest. I would also say that there were about 75-80 places to sit. Not a long wait if everything was taken. We never had to wait for a table. We didn't have any problems with anything while we were there.

Room Tip: If the view is important - ask for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent visit. I am pleased to hear we were able to accommodate your early arrival (something we always try to do), you found your room fresh and clean the breakfast well-appointed and convenient. I am also pleased to hear that you did not encounter any problems during your stay; this is what we strive for with every guest.

Thanks again for the feedback. I hope to have the opportunity to be of service again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen,MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently spent the week-end at this Hyatt property and were delighted with our experience. The location worked well for us, with a wedding in Central Park and reception on Bond St., it was centrally located, and having Macy's around the corner was a draw for many. The entire staff could not have been nicer, nor more helpful. It was nice that it is a new property and everything is immaculate and in good working condition, bed was wonderful, size of room for NYC was quite adequate and we had a lovely view. What more do you need? We found the breakfast to be plentiful and tasty each day, so nice not to have to go out to eat in the morning. By mistake, we left a cell phone charger in the room, which the housekeeper found and turned in and which was returned to me, thereby saving me $30.00 to replace it. I am quite sure that that would not have been the case in all hotels! So...we shall return to this property and shall recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John512_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for the feedback and the recommendation! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to find and get your misplaced items back to you in a timely manner. We work hard to ensure that those lost items get back to their owners…not always an easy task!

Thanks again for the feedback. See you on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great location, VERY roomy rooms given it's NYC, refrigerator, great customer service and the morning breakfast buffet is the bomb! Plus, we had an amazing view of Empire State...beautiful at night! We have a family of four, with two six-foot teenage boys in the mix, and we had room to move for the first time in a long time given we were in a room in the City. I can't recommend this hotel enough, and it will definitely be our go-to property from now on...thanks!

Room Tip: We had a two-queen/sofa bed suite close to the top floor at the back with an amazing nighttime view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, your guestroom, the breakfast, the service and the views! We look forward to being of service again on your next visit to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
220 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place is new and has clean modern rooms and bathrooms. The location is nice as well, especially for tourists. The free daily breakfast was nice, except the OJ tasted like Sunny Delight. However, it was downhill from there. We had no house keeping during our entire 3 night stay for some reason, though we were out of the room plenty. We had to call downstairs for extra towels, soap, and toilet paper. Our room key quit working half way through our trip; that was annoying. The bell hop was not very helpful, but expects tips anyway. Check-in took forever. Though the overall stay was fine, there are probably better choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor so you can use the stairs. The elevators are very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GH_ShrtOrDrCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit to the Hyatt Place New York/Midtown-South. While I am pleased to hear that you found the facility in new condition and clean, the location convenient and the complimentary breakfast well-appointed, I am disappointed to hear of the issues that you did encounter. Please know that the issues you described are certainly not typical of the high levels of service that we strive to provide to each of our guests. We take the service of our guests very seriously and work hard to ensure a problem free experience for each; with that being said, admittedly, we sometimes fall short and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience created by the issues you described.

Thank you again for your feedback and for having chosen the Hyatt Place New York/Midtown-South. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service that our guests have come to expect from Hyatt Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Yeah... if you are a fan of motel 6... but this place is a big embarrassment for Hyatt... what a huge disappointment.

Positive:

It's new
Friendly, helpful Staff
Location

Negative:

God awful slow cheap elevators
Tiny closets
small rooms
lighting sucks
Food is disgusting

In the end... great staff to bad they ended up at this cheap Hyatt dump... The new Best Western and the Holiday Inn Express next-store are far nicer... did I mention the elevators are painfully SLOW!!!

This place is a big deal to the budget traveler... but for you Hyatt loyalist it's a big disappointment

Hyatt missed the ball on this property!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SFtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. While I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facility’s new condition, friendly staff and convenient location, I am disappointed to hear of the issues that you did encounter and that we fell short of your expectations. We take the experiences of our guests very seriously and work hard to ensure we meet the expectations of each; with that being said, admittedly, we sometimes fall short and I apologize if your experience was anything less than your expectation.

While I cannot speak to the offerings of the Best Western that you mention as it has not opened yet, I can speak to that of the Holiday Inn and would only say that I believe that most readers would disagree.

Thank you again for your feedback and for having chosen the Hyatt Place New York/Midtown-South. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service that our guests have come to expect from Hyatt Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place one night recently and found it to be a good deal for a last minute stay. It is brand new, so everything was in perfect condition.The room is a nice size for NYC and the bed was very comfortable. We were on the 18th floor, so we had a nice view of buildings around us. The free wi-fi was pretty lousy so I stuck to my Verizon LTE connection. We skipped the breakfast, so I can't comment on that. We had no issues with the elevators, but perhaps we were coming and going at odd times? I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and am looking forward to being of service again on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing