We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian Meal”
Review of Grata - CLOSED

Grata
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 58 & 59th Street
Transit: Lexington and 59th
Description: GRATA is Latin for 'Welcome'. It also means a gracious hello, and a gratuitous thank you. It's the proprietor's promise that you will be well-taken care of here. Mouth-watering cuisine stems from Grata is a melding of worlds. Upon entering, a curved bar carved from mango and cordova-colored wood greets you. This rich, beautiful wood is also used on the cocktail tables. Exposed brick walls and traditional linen-clothed tables complete the dining room decor. Cream-colored walls and ceilings weave a seamless blend of old and new worlds. This comfortable restaurant with its sleekly modern, yet classy European ambiance sits at the foot of the Ed Koch Queensboro Bridge on 59th Street and 1st Avenue, Manhattan. The charming decor makes a lovely night out for neighborhood regulars, a date, family or friends gathering, or for business people wanting to impress their clients to close that Grata is starting its second year. Come in, say hello and enjoy a delicious meal. Allow us the courtesy of thanking the Sutton/Beekman neighborhood (as well as Manhattan and its outer boroughs) for allowing Grata the room to grow and improve. We are thrilled to be a part of the Sutton/Beekman Place community. Many exciting events and changes are in store during our second year!
barrington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Meal”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

we had dinner here in May. There were four of us. We had cesar salads to start It was very good. My husband and I both had pasta which were excellent. The other couple had lamb and risotto which they raved about. Our waiter was very helpful. I would eat here again on my next trip to New York.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Twice in a week”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were in New York for a weeks vacation and went to Grata twice. Both times Dora (the manager) took the time to make us feel like we were best friends. The second time we went I left my Ipad behind and went back and they had it tucked away for me. The meals both nights were amazing and the wine fantastic. I think I also got a free desert because it was my birthday. When in N.Y.C. again my wife and I will make sure we go back to Grata. This is a must go to place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wewilldoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcome and service”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

As a pair of tired and hungry tourists in the Upper East Side, this restaurant was a total find. Although they were in the process of putting all the furniture back in place after a function, we were given a warm welcome to the restaurant and some fantastic service! They have a great wine selection and the rigatoni special was sooooo good. What we especially liked was the personal touch.... the lovely lady owner took the time to come over and speak to us. What a fab restaurant :-) xx

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woody081982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“BEST RESTAURANT IN NEW YORK CITY”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

"The place can be a little pricey ($1500 for 2 with starters mains and wine). But worth every penny, and every course!The food was exquisite. We had a salmon tartare starter that combines the best of tartar with Italian food. Mains and dessert was great as well. The server (we love him Alejandro ) was attentive, full of suggestions, and just mastered exactly the right combination of anticipating what we'd need when we needed it, but being entirely inconspicuous for the rest if the time.Will definitely go back again!" Best Restaurant in Midtown

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Romano1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Another Fab Bday Party”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

15 people - lots of different appetizers and specials of the day for our main courses - of course they made a fuss and sang Happy Birthday 2 our honoree - felt like we were in a friends home with how comfortable the staff makes you feel here - I eat here at least once a month

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HAYNES5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grata also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing