We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and pleasure in the Big Apple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wall Street Inn
Ranked #293 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Business and pleasure in the Big Apple”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My client booked this for a business trip as the room and flight constituted a bargain. And it's a really cute little old fashioned but well kept hotel Downtown, close to Wall Street subway. Clean room, comfortable bed - perfect for just little old me! And much better than an anonymous large chain. Free Wi-Fi and decent toiletries - maid service was excellent - in fact all the staff are very smiley. Breakfast is just continental and limited but you can make a coffee/tea anytime you like and there are always fruit, pastries and cake available. Great restaurants nearby so it's a really good choice for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: no views so keep the blinds down - the little rooms are really little ((I was in 301) so not much s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    247
    34
    15
    7
See reviews for
93
204
38
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel met our needs perfectly.

We had a complicated booking (3 seperate bookings to cover the week) and the front desk were able to change this to a continuous booking on check in, which we really appreciated.

The hotel was ideally located for what we wanted to do in the City, was outside of the tourist hustle and bustle and is close to a number of subway lines.

The hotel itself and Stone Street behind, look like somthing out of a movie and are a lovely change from all the skyscrapers. Stone Street is also handy for food and drinks after a long day.

We didn't take advantage of the complimentary breakfast during our stay (would recommend Leo's bagels nearby for a quick and tasty brekkie), however we were grateful of the hot drinks that were available all day in the lobby.

The room was decently sized by NYC standards, very clean and had everything we needed. The heating broke on our second to last night, which we didn't realise until we got in at around midnight, however an engineer was up to our room and fixing the problem within about 15 minutes, which we thought was excellent.

I've seen a few complaints re: noise from Stone Street Bars. We stayed over New Years Eve and while we heard a little bit of noise, it definitely didn't stop us sleeping. I'd imagine it's worse in the summer when people are out in the street, but nowhere in Manhattan is silent at night and we were so exhausted by the time we went to bed that I doubt it would ever be a problem, for us anyway.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Wall Street Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Elegant and well located a few steps from the metro station and the pier.
Friendly staff, large rooms and nice clean bathroom with tub and hearty breakfast in the morning in a room next to the lobby.
We stayed there with my wife on our honeymoon, we stayed here for almost a week. Would go back again.

Room Tip: recommended for business travelers, couples and families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alej80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location. Don't rush to the midtown-explore Wall Street! Helpful personnel, cosy rooms, though a bit small for three. Breakfast is fresh, but too small and tends to finish by 9.30. Dining area is open 24-7, you can bring your food and eat it with their tea or coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in January. It was a very cold period to be in New York but the hotel made up for most of the issues with the weather. The location was excellent, tucked away in the financial district, the oldest part of Manhattan,offering a great deal to see and to visit in the immediate vicinity.

It is also close to ferry terminals and boat tours. Moreover, all the various subway lines from all areas of the city converge in this area to one of a number of subway stations that are all just a five or ten minute walk from the hotel; these can whisk you to most parts of the city that you may want to visit. The subway is very favourably priced and a very speedy means of transit. There are plenty of shops nearby and plenty of restaurants. It's an easy twenty minute walk to Ground Zero. A really great location.

The hotel itself at just five floors, is small and, we thought, competitively priced - certainly good value for money. The reception was quite large; it included a modest residents' lounge and a breakfast room. There was always coffee and tea available here and a good continental breakfast was served from six until ten each morning. The hotel had no frills like swimming pools or gymnasiums but what they had the basics very well presented and comfortable. The hotel staff were excellent, all of them, very helpful, very polite and very efficient.

The bedrooms were quite large, we had a room with a large king size bed and there was still room for wardrobes, cupboards, a fridge, a table, a desk, chairs and drawer space. It was not overcrowded. The bathroom was large and very attractively tiled and decorated. It had an excellent shower.

If we can, we will stay at the Wall Street Inn whenever we go to New York in the future. Marvelous!

Room Tip: We only went in one room but I expect the higher up the building you go the less noise you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent Christmas week at The Wall Street Inn to be near family. When we arrived they said our reservation had been cancelled and it took at call to our daughter in London, in the early hours of the morning, to find out there was nothing wrong with our booking and our travel agent rang them to confirm they had been paid. We got a brief apology from the person on duty.
The room was very nice as were the domestic staff, the room was spotless.
Continental breakfast was very good, staff very pleasant.
There was not one day of our one week stay that the reception staff offered us a 'good morning/evening' or indeed looked up from whatever they were doing behind the counter and smiled!! It became a game with us to exit the lift, which was opposite the reception desk by about 10 feet, say good morning to whomever was on duty and see if we got any sort of response.
The reception staff leave a lot to be desired and really bring down the atmosphere of a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallStreetInn, General Manager at The Wall Street Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ms. Sheila N,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your impressions from your stay with us this Christmas. We value your feedback which allows us to improve our product and service. We are glad that you liked our hotel but saddened to learn that you felt mistreated by our front desk staff. During this vacation period of reduced staffing and in our efforts to be professionally efficient "in a New York minute", we may have unintentionally missed the Holiday spirit. Please note that all of our associates are always courteous to guests as evident in other reviews on this site but we will still try harder in the future.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us; we know that you have many options for accommodations in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A lovely hotel, spacious rooms for New York, service is excellent the room is clean. About a 8 minute walk to 2 subway stations and about 20 minute walk to the 9/11 memorial. The receptionists are great we arrived really early for our check in and they managed to find us one room early and allowed us to store all our bags there, they were also really helpful telling us where to go to collect our tickets we had prebooked.. The only let down is the breakfast, very very limited pastries and warm drinks. Drink are available all day however the milk regularly runs out!
I would sat here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toddler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#230 of 466 in New York City
537 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#351 of 466 in New York City
503 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#190 of 466 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#123 of 466 in New York City
2,908 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#363 of 466 in New York City
2,383 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#235 of 466 in New York City
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wall Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wall Street Inn

Property: The Wall Street Inn
Address: 9 S William St, Manhattan, New York City, NY 10004-2412
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wall Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wall Street Inn welcomes you to a perfect downtown location near the New York Stock Exchange and all lower Manhattan corporations. Our intimate hotel brings charm to the traveler and offers comfort at an affordable price. It is ideal for your next business or vacation trip to New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Wall Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wall Street Hotel New York City
Hotel Wall Street
Wall Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing