We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely place to be in a big city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wall Street Inn
Ranked #274 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location. Don't rush to the midtown-explore Wall Street! Helpful personnel, cosy rooms, though a bit small for three. Breakfast is fresh, but too small and tends to finish by 9.30. Dining area is open 24-7, you can bring your food and eat it with their tea or coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lebina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 520 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in January. It was a very cold period to be in New York but the hotel made up for most of the issues with the weather. The location was excellent, tucked away in the financial district, the oldest part of Manhattan,offering a great deal to see and to visit in the immediate vicinity.

It is also close to ferry terminals and boat tours. Moreover, all the various subway lines from all areas of the city converge in this area to one of a number of subway stations that are all just a five or ten minute walk from the hotel; these can whisk you to most parts of the city that you may want to visit. The subway is very favourably priced and a very speedy means of transit. There are plenty of shops nearby and plenty of restaurants. It's an easy twenty minute walk to Ground Zero. A really great location.

The hotel itself at just five floors, is small and, we thought, competitively priced - certainly good value for money. The reception was quite large; it included a modest residents' lounge and a breakfast room. There was always coffee and tea available here and a good continental breakfast was served from six until ten each morning. The hotel had no frills like swimming pools or gymnasiums but what they had the basics very well presented and comfortable. The hotel staff were excellent, all of them, very helpful, very polite and very efficient.

The bedrooms were quite large, we had a room with a large king size bed and there was still room for wardrobes, cupboards, a fridge, a table, a desk, chairs and drawer space. It was not overcrowded. The bathroom was large and very attractively tiled and decorated. It had an excellent shower.

If we can, we will stay at the Wall Street Inn whenever we go to New York in the future. Marvelous!

Room Tip: We only went in one room but I expect the higher up the building you go the less noise you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent Christmas week at The Wall Street Inn to be near family. When we arrived they said our reservation had been cancelled and it took at call to our daughter in London, in the early hours of the morning, to find out there was nothing wrong with our booking and our travel agent rang them to confirm they had been paid. We got a brief apology from the person on duty.
The room was very nice as were the domestic staff, the room was spotless.
Continental breakfast was very good, staff very pleasant.
There was not one day of our one week stay that the reception staff offered us a 'good morning/evening' or indeed looked up from whatever they were doing behind the counter and smiled!! It became a game with us to exit the lift, which was opposite the reception desk by about 10 feet, say good morning to whomever was on duty and see if we got any sort of response.
The reception staff leave a lot to be desired and really bring down the atmosphere of a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallStreetInn, General Manager at The Wall Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Ms. Sheila N,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your impressions from your stay with us this Christmas. We value your feedback which allows us to improve our product and service. We are glad that you liked our hotel but saddened to learn that you felt mistreated by our front desk staff. During this vacation period of reduced staffing and in our efforts to be professionally efficient "in a New York minute", we may have unintentionally missed the Holiday spirit. Please note that all of our associates are always courteous to guests as evident in other reviews on this site but we will still try harder in the future.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us; we know that you have many options for accommodations in New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A lovely hotel, spacious rooms for New York, service is excellent the room is clean. About a 8 minute walk to 2 subway stations and about 20 minute walk to the 9/11 memorial. The receptionists are great we arrived really early for our check in and they managed to find us one room early and allowed us to store all our bags there, they were also really helpful telling us where to go to collect our tickets we had prebooked.. The only let down is the breakfast, very very limited pastries and warm drinks. Drink are available all day however the milk regularly runs out!
I would sat here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toddler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

From checking in to checking out we could not have asked for a better place to stay. The room was clean, large and comfortable. Free wi-if, continental breakfast, tea/coffee and pasties available 24/7.

Transport in to the city centre is good, lots of places to eat near by. Not really noise for being in NYC.

Would come again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here in mid-December during SantaCon and found that all of the financial district was relatively quiet, especially this little hotel! It is on the older side and doesn't have a bar, but the rooms are spacious and extremely clean and there is a continental breakfast. The hotel is very close to the Subway and there were tons of restaurants and bars just a block over. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorotaPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is on the older side, but it is clean, comfortable and the service is wonderful. They have free wi-fi throughout the hotel that is fast and reliable. They also provide a continental breakfast, and coffee and tea is available throughout the day.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#240 of 469 in New York City
586 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#218 of 469 in New York City
1,493 reviews
Financial District
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial Center/Manhattan Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial ...
#309 of 469 in New York City
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#265 of 469 in New York City
599 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#366 of 469 in New York City
2,519 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#100 of 469 in New York City
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wall Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wall Street Inn

Address: 9 S William St, Manhattan, New York City, NY 10004-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#156 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $141 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wall Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wall Street Inn welcomes you to a perfect downtown location near the New York Stock Exchange and all lower Manhattan corporations. Our intimate hotel brings charm to the traveler and offers comfort at an affordable price. It is ideal for your next business or vacation trip to New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wall Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wall Street Hotel New York City
Hotel Wall Street
Wall Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing