We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thoroughly enjoyed it!”
Review of Colonial House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial House Inn
Ranked #6 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were visiting NYC for the weekend and were searching for accommodations that were reasonably priced, included breakfast, and were located in the heart of the city. The Colonial House Inn is located on a small tree-lined street in the Chelsea neighbourhood of Manhattan, far away from all of the standard tourist traps where you are more likely to pay through the nose.

We were quickly checked into our room upon arrival and were pleasantly surprised with the sufficient space available in our queen room with private bathroom (Room 14) located on the second floor. The bathroom had a sink, toilet, and stand-up shower, and was quite sufficient for our needs. There was a wardrobe in the main room which had several shelves for clothing, plenty of hangers, and a safe. There is also a mini fridge to keep some snacks and drinks cold. To control the temperature there was a window air conditioner which kept the room nice and cool, there was also a real fireplace which made me wonder if they supply guests with firewood during the winter. I was impressed with how efficiently the room was organized to maximize the space.

The bed was quite comfortable and provided a great night’s sleep after exploring NYC for the day. It was nice having the private bathroom available to us, much more comfortable in my opinion than the shared facilities. The breakfast each morning was plenty to get our day started with bagels, English muffins, toast, cereal, assorted pastries, and fruit available. The staff did a great job of ensuring everything remained freshly stocked during the breakfast rush and that hot coffee was always available.

If you want to stay in an authentic place that makes you feel like you are part of the city then this is an ideal location. We were thoroughly pleased with our decision to stay at the Colonial, things couldn’t have gone any better!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SoxFan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Colonial House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 352 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights - I'm not sure if I just love New York and this place gets extra points for simply being host to my experience but whatever the case it was a great location in Chelsea, half a block from Metro subway, there's great dining or quick food options very close, it's close enough to Greewich village/Washington sq area for good nightlife and not have to worry about getting a cab late/cheap. The highline walk is about two blocks away along with all the small art gallery's underneath it. The Rooms are very small but you're in New York so it's not like you want to just sit in your room all day anyway - daily housekeeping was very good and the room was clean - the shared bathrooms were immaculate and never had to wait for a shower. The rooftop area was a nice place to chill,out and reset - often got takeaway salad from foragers on the corner and had lunch up there. The breakfast was better than most complimentary breakfast efforts and the staff were all pretty helpful with directions and recommendations. The stairs are hard if you've got a big bag, we were on the top floor and the room was pretty warm most of the time (lucky the air cooler worked) but other than that I can't fault it - we had a wonderful convenient stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sathya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We just returned today after spending 3 nights at the Colonial House Inn. We paid a little extra for our own bathroom and it was well worth it. We also lucked out with a room facing the back. It was peaceful and wonderful to awake to the sound of birds instead of traffic. It was hard to believe we were in the city! Lots of stairs to climb but not a big deal if you have a pair of good working legs. Nice little area for coffee, tea and breakfast included with the room price. Very artsy and beautiful, historic building. Friendly staff were always available to answer any questions. Extremely clean and comfortable rooms with excellent housekeeping. We slept comfortably and arouse refreshed each morning. Easy walk to the subway. High recommend!

Room Tip: Back-facing rooms are very quiet. Convenient location to the Subway andc
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichandLauBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

My stay at the Colonial House Inn was brief this time, but I stayed there for a week several years ago. Price is very low for the quality and location you get. Nice little rooftop area, simple and yummy continental breakfast to grab on your way out each morning, and a block and a half from the subway that will take you to the heart of Times Square. The owners are flexible and worked with me to book a room for one night when the minimum is normally four nights. I've only stayed in rooms with private bathrooms, but the shared bathrooms in the hallways were always very clean and fully stocked anytime I used them.
Overall, I never go to NY to stay inside. If I had to, though, I would be comfortable and have someone at the front desk to answer my questions. Perfect choice, great neighborhood (dogs being walked, trees lining the streets), and several good cafes for a croissant on your way to Central Park. :) Don't miss the Colonial House Inn!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank KMarieDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This has been one of my favorite sorta "economy" place to stay in NYC for years. While all the rooms do not have private baths the shared and private baths are always cleaned exceptionally well...I note when I use the shared baths never a problem sharing and always sterile and clean. Access fo so many subways very nearby makes this a plus for the location and getting the 7 day Metro Unlimited Pass is advisable. The staff is very helpful but wifi is not free and the old fashioned pay computer and printer is a hassle and antiquated. While it was a rainbow B&B at one time its attractiveness to Europeans and others makes for a delightful mix of folks at breakfast. Often this place is booked fully and the standard rooms are very small but if the price is right one would never complain even with all the steps and no elevator. If one has problem with steps I would search elsewhere but staff again is helpful with luggage and couldn't be nicer overall with help on anything to make your NYC stay delightful. For theatre goers the subway is so close and convenient and a fast way to get uptown to the theatres.

Room Tip: Rooms in basement and second floor are prime cause less steps to maneuver. Front rooms are sometime...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hubert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

arrived into Penn Street station mid afternoon- walked with luggage to Colonial House Inn- had basement room down two fights of stairs. Room was suited for 2 couples would be rather squashy with 5. Nice garden area to sit and review the day prior to going to dinner with unlimited choices. We walked to Chelsea Markets that same afternoon, then up to the Hi Line taking some great shots of the city that you don't always see. Empire State just peeps out at you at each turn of the overhead garden railway. Then walked up to Broadway and Times Sq grabbing some dinner before we head back to CHI walking all the way. 4 tired over 60 year old aussie tourists, although well satisfied slept like babies in comfy beds. Bathroom in Paradise room was a little daunting- getting in and out as no steps to enter bath and floor could be rather slippery. Toilet leaked and air-con was not working unusually warm for October in NYC. Staff helped as much as they could and finally ac was functional. We purchased pass to travel on bus rail etc and this was really worth the money just to not have to worry about hassel to buy single tickets. The CHI is just a spit from the sub-way and just around the corner from a great cup cake shop yumm! Would I stay again most certainly even it was just to take in a true NYC living- sitting in the garden at night was an experience in itself listening into peoples lives and daily activities thought we were on a movie set of Cat on a Hot Tim Roof! sirens and NYPD arriving at appartment blocks behind our residence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jengar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Despite having such a small room we were very happy as after all i usually care about is a comfy bed - tick, and a great location - tick. We shared a bathroom on our floor with one or two others which was not an issue and the sink in the room was very handy especially over new years and christmas when many people need to get ready at the same time. The bed is small but very comfortable and we slept great. The little flat screen tv was nice i dont usually watch TV on vacation but it was so cold at night that it came in handy. we were on the second floor and with all of our luggage after 5 weeks of travel it would of been hard to get to the top floor. The staff were friendly and the artwork is really nice. The hotel also smells wonderful like cinamon or something. One thing that would improve the small rooms and i cant understand why we didnt have them but please get towel racks and more hanging hooks 9 days in a small room with no towel racks was annoying. The heating was another one, sometimes so hot we had to open window and be cold and other nights not on at all??? The location is great and Chelsea is very charming, we would return to this hotel. (room 11 is pretty good for a small room) 24 hour tea/coffee was nice and breakfast was pretty good lots of variety but some of the pastries a little stale.

Room Tip: lower floor the better very steep stairs. not good for disabled
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tequilasunrise4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,487 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#398 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#54 of 468 in New York City
2,128 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#290 of 468 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Inn

Address: 318 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $218 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of New York City's vibrant Chelsea neighborhood and steps away from the subway and buses, shopping, restaurants and New York's most famous attractions, Colonial House Inn has been a charming home away from home for visitors from near and far since 1985. Our warm and welcoming hospitality and clean well-appointed rooms and amenities keep our guests coming back year after year. Our reasonably priced 20 guest rooms and 2 luxury suites, that include an elaborate complimentary continental breakfast daily, are a refreshing change from the typical New York hotel. We invite you to stay with us and experience our friendly hospitality and special charm. We look forward to your visit and to welcoming you to your New York home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing