We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No luxury, but great location”
Review of Colonial House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial House Inn
Ranked #6 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Pros: The location is great and very convenient to subway, High Line, etc. Charming old place. Love that it's gay-friendly. Always diverse clientele (lots of Europeans, a few hostelers, several older gay couples, a family here and there). The main manager is a really lovely fellow. Cleaning staff was friendly. Very accommodating about letting you leave luggage if you arrive early or want to leave late. Low price (for NYC), although don't be deluded by the advertised prices -- taxes are KILLER in NY and add significantly to the overall cost! Shared bathrooms were mostly fine. Rooftop space nice, but used by smokers, which keeps non-smokers away sometimes. Mattresses are fully enclosed in bed-bug preventing wraps.

Cons: Stairs are steep and not especially level. No elevator (and you have to climb steps to reach the front door.) Wifi was spotty. The female at the night desk was really nutty and gave very poor advice. (Clearly didn't know the area at all.) The breakfast consisted of *really* cheap grocery store bagels, stale cupcakes, a few pieces of old fruit, and bad coffee. (You can make your own nice cup of tea, though, and you can ask for a small yogurt.) Food was sufficient for calories only - if you're really on a serious budget. Otherwise, just walk outside and go have breakfast at a diner for $5! The linens (sheets and towels) were quite old and while clean, were not spot-free. We didn't want room service for the 4 nights we were there, but requested fresh towels. We asked four times to get the towels (the good manager was off duty), and finally went to the front desk where someone ultimately opened a cabinet and handed us two very old, stained looking towels.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the street. You avoid the extra noise that first floor rooms endure, but don...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Colonial House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 352 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the economy size, was told the room was small, but to my surprise it was adequate size for two people who packed light. Not once was the shared bathroom occupied with another guest and the staff were absolutely charming! They offered us to use the kitchen and stressed that we enjoy the rooftop porch, which was absolutely gorgeous. Great design in the rooms and on rooftop. Great price, and the complimentary breakfast was more than enough for us on a budget. Of course, Chelsea is an amazing neighborhood, also. I just hope they don't raise the price on this beautiful bed & breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved this Inn! We grabbed it for one night really quickly before catching Amtrak the next day. It was close to Penn Station for the morning, which was convenient. The price was right. The neighborhood is charming. Staff is UNBELIEVABLY friendly. They allowed us to store food in the fridge, and use flatware/plates and their toaster to make ourselves a light dinner (bagels/hummus). They also let us check in about 4 hours early. We missed breakfast because we left so early, but it is included. Bikes are available to rent. We didn't mind the shared bathroom - it was always spotlessly clean & there was never any wait. We found the room snug, but not too small. We never heard a peep from the other rooms, which was nice. Although it was a bit awkward when I started to walk downstairs and there was a guy on the first floor wearing just a towel on his waist...waiting for the bathroom. Nothing else like that happened, though. For this price point, a room with A/C can be hard to come by. We commute to NYC on a regular basis, so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmasc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in this boutique style hotel for 7 nights in June and were disappointed with the size of the Superior room with bathroom. If your travelling for any length of time with large international suitcases plus carry on luggage as we were, the room we found was very small with limited space for your luggage, which we had to store on the couch as there was very little floor space and just enough room to walk around the bed. It had the box air-conditioner in the window which was noisy with no option of opening a window. The place was clean, bed very comfortable and it provided a nice environment for breakfast and would be fine for a single or couple just in New York for a visit with little luggage.

Room Tip: Superior room if travelling with lots of luggage
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The room we had in this historic house was very comfortable. We had a small refrigerator - a big plus! There's even a party deck on the roof.

The location in Chelsea makes it easy to head uptown or down. I think it was 2 stops to Times Sq.

There are a variety of restaurants nearby from Dallas BBQ to Murray's Bagels to The Tipsy Parson. So many great choices.

We are sure to stay here on our future trips.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElmhurstBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We always stay in the economy room or standard rooms when we can get them, for $130 or 150 a night its a great value, so cozy, so perfect & a location in the center of the city, they do have much larger rooms with private bathrooms, also a couple of fabulous suites that are of course more expensive. If you want a larger room with private bathroom then pay the higher rate don't hold the smaller rooms preventing me from getting my favorite room, they do sell out most days so book in advance.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs (3 flights at the most) ask for a lower floor when you reserve.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seetheworld377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

THIS HOTEL booked me and my wife a standard room. The room was approx. 8x8. the bed touched the both walls lengthwise and the door touched the bed upon opening. the only other piece of furniture in the room beside a small bed was a fold up chair. No closet, bathroom or "AC". when I refused the room because it was uninhabitable they kept my 2 day fee of $348.96 quoting a 2 week cancellation policy. Hello!! I did not cancel. we were there. the room was unfit. I suggest that if you are in the area, stop in and ask to see room #200, just for laughs. third world country?? prison cell?? you choose!

Room Tip: when making a reservation make sure the refund your money if you find the room inadequate
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank stardust24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 468 in New York City
4,925 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 468 in New York City
11,503 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#399 of 468 in New York City
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,131 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#294 of 468 in New York City
1,234 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Inn

Address: 318 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $214 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of New York City's vibrant Chelsea neighborhood and steps away from the subway and buses, shopping, restaurants and New York's most famous attractions, Colonial House Inn has been a charming home away from home for visitors from near and far since 1985. Our warm and welcoming hospitality and clean well-appointed rooms and amenities keep our guests coming back year after year. Our reasonably priced 20 guest rooms and 2 luxury suites, that include an elaborate complimentary continental breakfast daily, are a refreshing change from the typical New York hotel. We invite you to stay with us and experience our friendly hospitality and special charm. We look forward to your visit and to welcoming you to your New York home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing