We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Inn
Ranked #12 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very Glad we stayed here for 11 nights in May. Well priced (- well the best value I could find in NYC), the rooms and shared bathrooms were always clean and the staff were very friendly - of course the place isnt perfect ( and we couldnt expect it to be) - but It didnt bother us as we were out and about most days and the price was right.

After reading how small the rooms were, we were pleasantly surprised with our standard room - as although it was small by world standards, this was NYC! we had more than enough room for two people and we were there for 11 nights. Bed very comfy, Linen good, with a good air conditioning unit.

Location - it was situated in a very safe and lively area close to transportation, restaurants and the tree lined streets of Chelsea was a welcome respite after tourist meccas like time square etc.

Would stay again for sure, but wished next time they had free wifi or costed it in to the price of the room.

Room Tip: If you can, spend the extra for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    125
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
40
133
52
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Americus, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great location, friendly staff, but details were lacking!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AestheticPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Having been to NYC numerous times and having an aunt that lived a few blocks from the B&B, i was aware that this was a good location. The entrance to the Brownstone of the inn was lovely! The interior is nicely decorated and immaculate!! Very easy to get around, near the subway, the high line, fashion district, etc. Many great restaurants in the area too! The staff was very nice. I had a room with a private bath for 3 nights and had to switch to an economy room on the last night. The superior room with bath was great. Beautiful bathroom, all new! Had a (nonworking) fireplace in the room. Bed was comfy and direct TV was provided. Minimal fee of $3.00 per 24 hours if you want wifi (that is a lot less than the hotels charge). The economy room is tiny, but more than sufficient as the shared bathroom was just a few steps away. Felt very safe here. Word to the wise. On the phone I was told I would move just once due to limited room availability. When I arrived I was told I'd move twice (the 3rd night to another private bath room on another floor). Not sure why. When I pressed the issue, it wasn't really answered. So I packed my things on day 3 of my stay for moving before I went down for breakfast and was told that I didn't have to move until the next day as planned. When I asked why, I got a response to the effect of, "well if you had called me" to which I replied "why would I call you when this was confirmed at check in". Those things were frustrating, but not enough to make me not stay there again. Oh and the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theatregirl33647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We booked a Superior Room with private bath - overlooking lovely and leafy 22nd St. Quiet, but just steps from the bustle of 8th Ave. Couldn't have been easier to get from (and back to) the airport on the subway, and proximity of stations also made it uber easy to get around everywhere. Substantial breakfast, super clean, gorgeous linens - and the always available hot tea and coffee was a blessing coming in late from a chilly evening. My own teeny nitpick is having to pay $3/day for wifi access. But really, that was it.
And I also recomment the New Venus Restaurant, just across 8th, as a fabulous, reasonably priced place to eat - see separate review.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is in gay area (Chelsea Gay District NYC). I walk to the bar, restaurant, subways..Its safe area. The place is very clean, staffs are friendly. I def stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveler1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in the West End Suite for 4 night during the first week of April. Traveling with 3 teenagers is always a challenge to find the space we need without breaking the bank. We had plenty of room to spread out, suite was bigger than it looked in photos. Hotel is on very pretty street directly across from magnificent church. We easily walked from Penn Station with luggage. Also walked from Times Square to hotel at night, always felt safe, there is a large presence of friendly NYPD officers throughout city. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. We paid about $400/night incl. Tax which is reasonable for nice location in Manhattan during peak season and included breakfast and wifi. Also, very short walk to 2 subway lines and walkable distance to Circle Line sightseeing cruises @ 42nd St. If you stay here you can walk to the restaurants and shops in Chelsea Market- very nice, not too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denisev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham,UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Booked for a long weekend, much cheaper than a hotel and a great location for our stay.
Room was good - functional size (not much room to walk around the foot of the bed but OK), decent bed, TV & cable, clean and quiet (single glazed windows but onto a quiet residential street) We had a shared bathroom which was never an issue & had a really good powerful shower Very helpful and friendly on reception with fee tea and coffee all day with continental breakfast available in the mornings.When you leave the building you have to hand your key in and then buzz to get back in the building meaning someone is on reception 24 hrs a day. WIFI to your room cost $3 a day bought via reception
For a short break found it a good economical place to stay - recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Inn

Property: Colonial House Inn
Address: 318 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of New York City's vibrant Chelsea neighborhood and steps away from the subway and buses, shopping, restaurants and New York's most famous attractions, Colonial House Inn has been a charming home away from home for visitors from near and far since 1985. Our warm and welcoming hospitality and clean well-appointed rooms and amenities keep our guests coming back year after year. Our reasonably priced 20 guest rooms and 2 luxury suites, that include an elaborate complimentary continental breakfast daily, are a refreshing change from the typical New York hotel. We invite you to stay with us and experience our friendly hospitality and special charm. We look forward to your visit and to welcoming you to your New York home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Colonial House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing