We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Aussie outpost near Penn Station”
Review of Pie Face - CLOSED

Pie Face
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Great Aussie outpost near Penn Station”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am a New York City tour guide who spends a lot of time in midtown Manhattan. I'm always on the lookout for a new place to enjoy lunch. Australian clients suggested Pie Face. Pie Face is a cheerful casual place offering savory pies (meat and/or vegetable) and sweet pies (like apple crumble or pear and ricotta). Espresso blends and milkshakes round out the beverages. The Thai chicken curry was a bit bland but the pie crust was a perfect golden brown and delicate. The crust melts in your mouth. Seating is limited to about thirty people at one time at bright yellow tables or sitting on fire engine red stools at counters. The staff is incredibly friendly. A big meat pie with mashed potatoes is about $8.00. A mini sweet pie is $3.50. Pie Face is a good lunch option on the eastside of 7th Ave between W 35th St and W 36th St. I went to the branch near Penn Station although I believe the address for this store is listed above as near W 57th St and Broadway. Pie Face is opening multiple stores around Manhattan.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    67
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute Place”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stopped in because was passing by. Purchased 2 mini pies-chocolate and pecan. When they say mini, they definitely mean mini but the pies are very cute. Would recommend trying it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank B5105MMcindyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“On its way downhill?”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We live a block and a half away and drop by regularly for a quick bite. Recently, the service quality seems to be in free fall. Tonight, Saturday, 11pm, as the local theaters were depositing their throngs onto the sidewalks, we stopped on our way home for a quick, late snack to take home. Despite the hour and the crowds on the street, there was a solo server who seemed indifferent to the growing crowd waiting to approach the counter and order. He moved at a snail's pace and completely mixed up our order (two sausage rolls, a mini cherry pie and a mini lemon pie). When we got home, we discovered a single sausage roll, a mini cherry pie, and a blueberry pie). We hadn't intended to order the sausage rolls, but only two of the eight or so savory pies were available. We discovered the errors on arriving home and changing out of our street clothes. Having come home from a long day trip, we didn't want to go back out to have the order corrected, so we ate what we were given. The sausage roll was lovely, the pies as well. But with this kind of inattentive, indifferent, sloppy service, I'm not sure we can continue recommending this Pie Face location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toreadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Pot Pies, Brownies & Croissants”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Pie Face's take-out chicken pies are delicious, as are their croissants. But the real surprise is how luscious their chocolate brownies are. They have a pudding-like filling, which is unlike any I've ever had tasted. Worth seeking out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryDMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW suburb Chicago Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Warm little treats and great coffee”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I found this little pie shop on 53rd and 7th... the buttery aroma of pie crust drew me in to view the cases of mini pies. I chose the chunky steak mini pie and a pear & ricotta mini dessert. They warmed it up for me and I enjoyed a heavenly little treat as I walked back to my hotel for the night. I love NYC!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MOMOsan_309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pie Face also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing