We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location! Delicious breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #288 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Brazil
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location! Delicious breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

If you are thinking about a hotel that you can go everywhere in Manhanttan, this is what you need! Near subways, restaurants and, of course, Times Square! My wife and I had a great time and we really liked the staff and forniture. The breakfast was very delicious!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GustavoCostaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    1,548
    549
    137
    130
See reviews for
1,063
1,074
155
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay, over all, here. The room we had was clean, slightly dated, but very comfortable. The cleaning staff was extremely polite and nice. We found the lobby inviting. The desk staff was courteous and helpful. The very small bar, on the 2nd floor was nice. The breakfast was just so so. I'm not big on continental breakfast so I started skipping it. (We stayed here several days). By far the biggest wow factor is how close you are to great attractions, for the price you pay. The only bad thing I have to say about this hotel is they were painting the hallways apparently on our floor and didn't put out wet paint signs. I found out the hard way! Luckily I was able to wash the paint off. If you're looking to save a few $$, I would recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

5 minute walk to Times Square which is the reason why we stayed there. Otherwise, the price is reasonable and other services were okay. The rooms were clean but a bit small. It didn't matter anyway since we were out most of the days.

The breakfast was pretty basic but it was edible. Helpful staff even if they did look very stern.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located fairly close to Times Square which is excellent. The morning breakfast is also good, but has been significantly downgraded from previous stays. I think they are becoming more cheap with the amount and variety of food served. There is also quite a delay and catching the elevators. The price should be very low for this hotel otherwise do not stay here. It does me every basic need. The rooms are in need of an upgrade.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelleteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear travelleteacher,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you think breakfast has gone downhill since your last stay. We continually try to offer more variety for our guests. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the elevators. Sometimes they can get a bit held up especially during busy hours of the day. We would also like to point out that we will be upgrading all the guest rooms soon.
We hope to welcome you again in the future for a pleasant stay.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was my second time staying at this hotel, the previous being 3-4years ago. The location is great for many midtown attractions. You're on 46th between 5th & 6th, so it's a little quieter (relative to other parts of midtown) but you walk a few blocks to theaters, Times Square, subway is close.

This trip we check in for a room with two queen beds. We are given a room at the back of the hotel with a separate elevator on a higher floor. The elevator - at least the one in the back of the building is a bit of an amusement part ride - the car shakes as you go up and down. When we get to the room we discover that someone is staying there - suitcases and stuff in the room. We go back downstairs, the two women at the front desk apologize multiple times and were very confused about it because it showed in their system as free. They did explain that sometimes a person at the front desk will switch a room for the guest and not enter it in - apparently this happened today. Thankfully they gave us the room across the hall which was perfectly fine.

If you've not been to NYC before please note - THE ROOMS ARE SMALL - that's a fact of life in NYC and all but the most expensive rooms are going to be small. That being said, this was a good size room by NYC standards - 2 queen beds, a closet, desk, nightstand, dresser and TV. The room was clean and they room service kept everything tidy throughout our stay. The room felt a little humid even though the AC was going - I realized that's because the bathroom does not have a vent/fan and there are stickers on all the windows instructing you not to open them. You look up at the light fixture in the bathroom and see that the metal on it is rusting (thankfully we didn't see any mold). We may have bent the rules and opened the windows after showers to get rid of some of the steam. Otherwise the bathroom was fine - tub & shower - they don't give you bottles of soap, but have dispensers there for hand soap, lotion, conditioner, and body wash. Seems like a good eco-friendly alternative and since there were 3 of us in the room, no worry about running out of soap!


The lobby is nice, looks new. There are multiple iMacs available for people to use for free. There's free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. There is also a coffee/hot chocolate machine as well as a hot/cold water dispenser and ice machine on the first floor.

The hotel offers breakfast each morning. The last time we went, it was in the winter and not the peak of tourist season. This time, on the other hand, the breakfast room was crowded and under stocked. There were dishes where there should be pastries, but each morning when we went (usually 30min-1hr before breakfast ended) the trays were empty. One morning the yogurt fridge was empty. They did have toast, bagels, waffles or pancakes, cereal, and fresh fruit. Beverage choices were OJ, apple juice, milk, coffee, and tea. One strange thing was that there's no half-and-half in the breakfast room, but if you go upstairs to the coffee station, they have half-and-half. I appreciate them offering breakfast, but wished that they had made a better effort to keep it well stocked.

Overall, given the price, the location, and the extras - this is a very good hotel for midtown. I've stayed here twice and would stay here again. Hopefully the owners of the hotel will spruce up the rest of the hotel like they did to the lobby to make it even better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MySobriquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel. It's definitely not the type of hotel I normally stay at. If you get just the right room, it can be a great value in a great location.

First the pluses: the housecleaning seems to be really good. If you get a room on the 3rd floor (not facing street), the room will be tiny but convenient, comfortable and quiet. The higher floors are a pain because of waiting for elevators. The street-side rooms are noisy with construction.

Then the true negatives: The service is sub-par, the breakfasts are extremely crowded and the food is nothing to get excited about. Along with the items mentioned above, if you don't get that right floor and location, you might not be happy at all.

For the money spent, if I could stay in the same room and don't eat the breakfast - go to a cafe around the area, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Street-side rooms are noisy. Try to stay on lower floors to avoid elevator but not 2nd floor (noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhatFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

It's a good hotel for those who spend more time walking in the city but not sitting in the rooms. The rooms are big, but not so clean, in some of them are no windows. The breakfast in awful, but you can find free coffe and tea in front of reception. They have transfer to airport, it seems cheeper than taxi. The Hotel located close to broadway shows, stores.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014Elena_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#166 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,056 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#262 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#329 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13,536 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,440 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#307 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing