We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel for this area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Okanagan Valley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel for this area”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel was exactly what we were hoping it would be.
The price was reasonable especially considering a breakfast was included. The room though small (as expected) had all we could need for a comfortable stay and the free wifi was another reason why we chose this hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of the Times Square area with theatres , restaurants etc. without being too noisy at night ( though there was constant traffic buzz).
The only downside was the elevators were unreliable

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doglover286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    1,668
    593
    142
    140
See reviews for
1,188
1,136
167
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrawee, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We picked this Hotel for its its proximity to Times Square, Theatres and Restaurants & it didnt disappoint. Hotel was clean, friendly - but the bathroom was a little small. The continental breakfast was great - that's all you need before heading out for a busy day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: With a family of 4, we had the 2 room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hi, My wife and I drove down from Montreal and had booked into this hotel. We wanted to be close to all the attractions in NY, and as we felt we would spend a lot of time out we looked for a hotel at a reasonable price. The hotel has parking almost straight across the road, and at NY prices for parking we thought the price was ok. The breakfast was not great, but you get what you pay for. It is an easy walk to Times Square, Broadway etc, so for us it suited. The room was ok, and while it needed a little refurbishment was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful, and made our trip a lot more enjoyable with there help. I think that for money value this was a great choice. Cheers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Joe H,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had the chance to see everything you wanted to in New York. We’re sorry you were not pleased with the breakfast. We continually reevaluate what we offer and take guests’ suggestions to try to improve it.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Based on the recommendation of a co-worker, I booked this hotel just three days before my trip to NYC. I'm glad I listened to him! The location is excellent - just far enough away from Times Square area to avoid the noise, but close enough to get there with no problem. At the other end of the block is 5th Ave, which translates to plenty of tourist attractions (Empire State Building, NY Public LIbrary, Rockefeller Center), shopping, and restaurants. The price was reasonable, the room was clean, yes, the hallways are kind of wonky, but this hotel certainly has character (and free breakfast and Wi-Fi). The view from our room was nothing to write home about, but I didn't come to NYC to sit in a hotel - I came to enjoy the city. And we did. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewels6399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Jewels6399,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and use it to try and provide a better customer experience but are particularly thankful for thoughtful reviews like yours. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the excellent value we provide and hope you had fun in New York City.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

A very comfortable hotel. Good breakfast. Good WiFi. Friendly little bar on the 2nd floor with reasonable prices. Rooms quite small but clean and adequate as didn't spend much time there. Very convenient for sightseeing as central for going north or south and within easy walking distance of many sights, eg Rockefeller Centre, Empire State Building, Times Square and Central Park. Coffee making facilities and ice maker in the foyer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very average. Small room, awkward hallways and elevators to navigate with luggage, great breakfast, friendly staff, windows in room, not exceptionally loud on 3rd floor over street. They upgraded us to a room with an extra bed for free so my kids didn't have to camp out on the floor- that was really nice of them. They have a fridge for $20 for your stay if you want to refrigerate food. Quiet hallways, didn't hear other guests while we were there. Average cleanliness. Mattresses were pretty uncomfortable- a little soft for my taste.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristyBMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ChristyBMcG,
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make sure that our guests have a comfortable and clean experience. Our rooms do vary somewhat in size, but most are about average for New York City hotel rooms.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg,VA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our room was very nicely redone. It was not large, but certainly adequate for the two of us. Very nicely appointed. All of the hotel we saw was very nicely remodeled - not sure what parts a recent reviewer experienced, but all that we saw were very nice. The breakfast is very nicely done as well. We were also able to check in early and everyone we dealt with was always very helpful.

The hotel is very convenient for theater-goers. We saw two plays in the two days we were there and the location made it very easy on us.

We drove into NYC and the hotel has an arrangement with a garage very close by and only cost us $26 a day for parking, very surprising for the city.

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
2,080 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,218 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#320 of 467 in New York City
2,713 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#289 of 467 in New York City
2,528 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing