We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #293 of 475 Hotels in New York City
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We enjoyed out 3 night stay at this hotel last week. Had a two double bedroom with no view. The room was surprisingly spacious and though we did not get a room with a view, we were able to get our room early in the morning so that was great. The breakfast was very good and though busy at times, we didn't wait long for food or table. The hotel was in a great location and easy to get to TImes Square, Broadway, Rockefeller, etc. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: All that you need and then some!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fenwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    1,453
    501
    131
    124
See reviews for
1,003
994
144
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my fiance stayed here in April. We could not fault the hotel at all. Staff were very helpful, rooms very nice and cleaned regularly, breakfast was perfect to get you started for a busy day in NYC. We found the best little touch was the bar on the second floor. We found just fantastic after a hard day sightseeing and shopping to just head downstairs for a few quiet drinks and the bartender was very inviting. We cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and have already advised our friends to stay here

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank W_d85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

good things first;
-Excellent location,5 mins walking to times square, convenient access to subway from many points around.
and the bad stuff;
-very small rooms, isolation was bed, very noisy, we could hear noise from the street and the noise of a fighting couple in the next room
-cleaning was poor, I found a pinch of stranger's hair in my towel, disgusting!
-poor breakfast, disposable cups and plates makes you feel like you are in a hostel not in a 3 star hotel. There is only one person working at the restaurant who is supposed to be refilling the empty buffet. But most of the time there was something missing, if you had the cereals you had to wait 20 mins for the yoghurt. On our first day, we did not know they had a sharp closing time for breakfast, the doors were open so we went in around 10 am. The guy at the restaurant started yelling at us, questioning us, what are you doing here, do not you see the time, go to your room, etc. Very rude!! All he had to say was "sorry sir we are closed". when we remined him, you could tell us normally that you are closed, he said "I am telling you normally" Unbelievable, An apology would have been nice! In the end we've done our part, paid for it, all we expect is a proper service!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin_delft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear lin_delft,
Thank you for your review. We hope you had a great time in New York, but are very surprised that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The housekeeping staff works very hard to ensure that the rooms are very clean and usually do not overlook such issues. We sincerely apologize that there was a hair on your towel and will continue to remind staff that such things cannot be overlooked.
Unfortunately, because we do not have proper space to wash dishes, we use disposable plates and cups for our free breakfast, which is served daily from 6:30am to 10am. The staff works hard to keep the areas clean and well-stocked.
The majority of our guests are very happy with their stay. We provide an excellent value for the money and even throw in free amenities that you won’t find everywhere in New York City, like free breakfast, wi-fi, and domestic phone calls.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

bad condicions for de price paid (block bath, we went to a doble bend room when we book a queen room) , and the recepcionists not friendly. and this is without considering the expensive price. in two" words", good situation, regular hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pau C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Located 46th near 6th it is a great location for a family visiting New York - one block from the action but not too far. There is a sister hotel called Broadway at Times Square a bit closer to the action - I think next time I'd prefer that. We had a two bedroom suite - even with two rooms you couldn't swing a cat - it is very cosy. Rooms very good - bathroom a bit aged and the refillable shampoo and soap a bit of a turn off. Breakfast included - it's crowded but certainly enough choice.

Laundry - there is a "Mr Green Laundry" location 670 9th Avenue - (10 min walk) which is between 46th and 47th street - they offer wash dry and fold - we had two large bags of laundry and it was all done for less than 20 dollars. Open 7.30am- 10pm - it's also a laundromat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay in two-room suite at Hotel at Time Square on 3/22 - 3/24/14. It is a great value and I will definitely stay there again. I found the staff polite and friendly. The room was very clean with pleasant decor. Our suite was not huge but nor was it tiny or cramped. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room unbelievably quiet...very conducive to a good night's sleep after a day filled with activities and lots of walking. The hotel location is perfect...subway terminal is just around corner and Rockefeller Center and Time Square are just a couple of blocks away. Conveniences we discovered nearby, all within a block or two, were a 24 hr. Duane Reade store (for drug store and food items, beer, or wine) a Mcdonald's (for my iced coffee in a.m!), and a 2 Bros. Pizza which offers a $1 cheese pizza slice...an inexpensive bite to eat on the go and their pizza is very good! Also, there is a small plaza/park directly across the street from the hotel where you can sit and enjoy a cup of coffee or food from one of the many street vendors/food trucks. I highly reccomend Hotel at Time Square.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele_Penna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Rooms were nice. Breakfast did not get replenished very fast. Would have like to have had more hot options. Front desk very helpful. Nice location, easy walk to Time Square and the theaters. Over all a good experience

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howdy606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#183 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#301 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,407 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#267 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#304 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,979 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#318 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 11,516 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#298 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing