We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are small but thats New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #291 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 14, 2014

For New York the Hotel was good , rooms are on the small side but you expect this in New York. The hotel location is great , the breakfast is good , plenty to eat for a continental breakfast. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, cannot fault , if you have a family of 4 , would suggest 2 rooms if you are having more than 2 nights in New York.Foyer in hotel in beautiful , staff can be a little abrupt but this is the New York style , dont take offense.Value for money as all the Apple Hotel chain of hotels are.Would stay again if for a short period.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,323 of 3,693 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good hotel good location free wi fi in rooms very important for me, breakfast quite good, would go again.
Night staff were quite helpful as we arrived 1am in the morning and there was a mixup with the booking

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were sent here from a sister hotel because they said there was a problem with our room. We arrived late at night and were told we had to pay the price that we originally booked with at the other hotel. (When I made the reservation, this hotel was priced lower and it still was on the night of arrival when I checked) I was told they couldn't change the rate that was given at a sister hotel. It was late and we'd just arrived back from an overseas so, honestly, I didn't feel like arguing the point. Our room had a queen bed, when we'd booked a king at the other hotel. It smelled strongly of spicy, ethnic food. The hotel is an average, older facility. We paid about $300 night with taxes, which was disappointing since we'd just had a much nicer room in Paris for the same price. There was a bar in the hotel, but it is quite shabby and not very clean. I had seen some reviews about unhappiness with the Applecore Hotels and I should have read them more closely.
There are a couple good things to say: The location is very convenient to Times Square and many other attractions. There was a very pleasant employee at the travel desk (I don't remember her name). She booked a private driver for us to the airport at the same rate as a shuttle and that saved us time on our departure day. Other than that, I think I'll do my research if I return to NYC and will avoid this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRGreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear KRGreenBay,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you faced issues while checking in. At the time of your arrival at Broadway @ Times Square Hotel, there was an electrical problem with the room, which made it unsafe to rent to guests. We sent you to The Hotel @ Times Square where you were given the same rate. Unfortunately, the front desk clerk does not have the authority to change the rate at the time of check-in. Additionally, like other hotels in New York City, our rates are always changing. However, we always provide an excellent value and always include free amenities not often found in other New York hotels, like WIFI, breakfast, and domestic phone calls. We’re sorry that you found the bar shabby and dirty. Cleanliness in all parts of the hotel are of utmost importance and we will ensure that the bar is cleaned thoroughly.
The majority of our guests at both hotels are very happy with their stay and often become repeat customers. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The perfect location for this hotel makes you forgive some of its sins! We stayed from Jan 25-29. Check in was quick and easy and the service was great. Our room was pretty compact but what we're used to for NYC. No view to speak of, in fact when the curtains were opened during the day, not much light came through! Breakfast was fine but nothing special. Unfortunately the whiff of smoke getting out of the elevator and creeping under the bedroom door might put me off booking again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lynseyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect, could not ask for a better location. The hotel was very clean, room was a perfect size. The bellmen there were so helpful and friendly. The bar in the hotel is small, but it was perfect for us, the bartender, Danielle, was amazing. Had a blast at the bar during our trip, cheap drinks, lots of laughs. The free hot chocolate and cappuccino's were a great way to start the day. The bed was super comfortable and so were the pillows. I will stay here again next time I go to the city. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Location of the hotel is excellent. The nearest underground is just around the corner (Rockefeller Center Station, orange line) or just a few minutes walk from Times Square (red line). There is also a small bar on 2nd floor with good prices. Continental breakfast is nice, around 9 o'clock there is usually a peak time and sometimes you have to queue. Rooms are also nice and comfortable, in bathroom there is available soap, hand cream, shower gel and shampoo. Windows do not seal the best, so you might hear noise from the street from time to time, if you are not used to that (but not like all the time). There is only one slow elevator, sometimes it is better to take stairs, it goes faster (in mornings).
We only had small problems with our credit card (we come from Europe), it didn't go through for the payment, so we payed by cash, no problem. But few days later we noticed that hotel took 2 reservation amounts form the account, they said it must be mistake from the bank, the bank said they had charged this amount, but afterwards hotel/bank released cash back to our account.

Room Tip: To avoid waiting for the elevator in the morning, take the room on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadv67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights while on business trip. Upon my arrival, I was allowed to check in early, which was great after a 14hours flight. Given the price, it was a great bargain to have basic breakfast included. The rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. The staff were helpful in providing directions and modifications to my bookings without any hassle. Book early for even a greater deal. There are several affordable eateries nearby. The hotel is a walking distance to most shopping areas and NYC attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbblandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#183 of 473 in New York City
2,160 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#261 of 473 in New York City
8,537 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#106 of 473 in New York City
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#360 of 473 in New York City
1,246 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#336 of 473 in New York City
2,855 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing