We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Free WiFi, Free Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #283 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Free WiFi, Free Breakfast”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 9 nights in late September 2013.
Total cost was $3553 taxes & fees included.
The location at 59 W 46th Street is perfect. A block to the nearest Subway, 2 blocks to Times Square, and easy walks to many of the major sights and 5th Avenue Shopping.
The WiFi worked right away and depending on the time of day, even YouTube was available. Otherwise regular surfing and email was easy.
Breakfast was simple and the same every day. Nothing special but enough to get you started.
The small bar is the only dingy part of the hotel. They really need to do a major overhaul there.
It would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room too, but lots of ice is available in the lobby. The room was clean, small and the bed very comfortable. Watch out if you book a private car or shuttle to one of the airports. Be sure they confirm an AM or PM departure. We had to scramble a bit because of this when they made that error when we needed a 4:30 AM car but it didn't show due to the concierge's error.
Otherwise, this hotel was great value considering the high cost of staying in NYC. They also have a sister hotel (Broadway @ Times Sq) down the block that looked even nicer. Don't know the rates.

Room Tip: We say a room near ours that looked bigger and was away from the noisy front street. Try asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Doug M,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in New York. We’re sorry you were not impressed by the bar. Many guests enjoy it, even though it is small for a drink after exploring the city all day. We do have refrigerators available on request for a nominal fee.
We’d like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the error the concierge made for the car service you booked. We hope everything was resolved and you were able to make your flight.
Our rates at all of our hotels vary all the time, but are always competitive. We have five hotels in Manhattan, all have a bit of a different style, but they all offer free WIFI, breakfast, and domestic phone calls.
We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to New York at any one of our hotels.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    1,682
    600
    142
    141
See reviews for
1,204
1,139
172
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2nights. The hotel is just a few blocks away from the subway (Rockefeller Stn). We used the subway to and from the airport. They have breakfast buffet which is enough to get you going in the morning. They have coffee machine at the lobby which I loved it! Our room has only 1 window with not much natural light coming in. It was clean and big enough. We requested to have a late checkout but with a charge. But they let you keep your luggage in their storage since we are leaving at night. I like the location because it is mostly near tourist spots. Even the famous redhook lobster roll food truck parked in front! I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank myh_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and I have to say I don't have one complaint with the hotel, our rooms were cleaned every day and the breakfast facilities were good, maybe a bit small in space but variety was good. Our luggage was stored on the day we checked out as we were not leaving the city until the evening. The hotel also arranged a taxi to the airport but at a charge, we paid about $40 more than a regular cab but it was rush hour when we left therefore there was no guarantee we would get one off the street. All in all we got what we paid for, cheap and cheerful, clean and in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as we were facing the street and sometimes the traffic can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madmolly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A girlfriend and I spent two days and one night in NYC to go see Wicked, 9/11 Tribute Center, Time Square, Battery Park and to do some shopping of course! We stayed at this hotel which was great as well as the staff! We arrived at the hotel at 10:00 AM and they stored our luggage in a baggage room which was locked. We had lunch and then saw Wicked. Afterwards we went back to the hotel and we checked-in. The room was very clean with a large closet, desk, bathroom (you did have to step to get in there, but that was not a big deal). Our room did not have a view which was no big deal because we were not there to stay in the room. I know it is tabu, but I am a smoker and they did have smoking rooms which was a great relief for me and hard to find these days. The staff stored our luggage the next day while we were site-seeing. The price was excellent, considering the other hotels in the area wanted $300 or more for a Sunday night stay in September. If you are looking for clean nice place to stay at a great price this place is for you! Oh, I almost forgot the free breakfast! The hotel is super close to Time Square without actually being on the square and it is close to the theatre district. We walked to both locations. We also walked to Grand Central Station and the subway was nearby. Check this hotel out, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanetteFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location is excellent,very central, a short walk to Times Square, Theatre disctrict, Port Authority etc. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was a huge bonus and had plenty of selection. Free Teas, Coffee, Water and ice available all day in the reception area. Our room was very clean and serviced every day. Very quiet room eventhough we were next to the elevator. If we were to be picky the down side it would be our view, it was a brick wall but as we were gone early and back late, it was not an issue for us. Would love to go back to New York and when we do we'd definately come back to The Hotel at Times Square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel. The rooms are clean. The location is great and the price is reasonable for N.Y.C.. Its only a couple of blocks away from Times Square, which provides you with night time entertainment when you are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!! This is a great stay for a great price. This hotel has everything you need for your trip to the big city. Right between 5th and 6th ave. 3 min walk to Times Square; 5 min walk to Radio City Music Hall and to the theater district. Great restaurants all around. The staff was really nice. The rooms are pretty big for a New York Hotel. I was actually very pleasantly surprised about that. Rooms are clean and The beds are comfortable and the bathroom a pretty good size. It's pretty quiet, as well. You cannot hear any of the street noise. I enjoyed my stay so much, my family and I already booked 2 rooms for when we return in December. I would definitely recommend this hotel. And I’m pretty sure this will be y “go to” hotel whenever I decide to visit NYC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmedina0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#182 of 467 in New York City
2,088 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 467 in New York City
7,325 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#310 of 467 in New York City
1,621 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
18,416 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing