We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #288 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 16, 2013

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!! This is a great stay for a great price. This hotel has everything you need for your trip to the big city. Right between 5th and 6th ave. 3 min walk to Times Square; 5 min walk to Radio City Music Hall and to the theater district. Great restaurants all around. The staff was really nice. The rooms are pretty big for a New York Hotel. I was actually very pleasantly surprised about that. Rooms are clean and The beds are comfortable and the bathroom a pretty good size. It's pretty quiet, as well. You cannot hear any of the street noise. I enjoyed my stay so much, my family and I already booked 2 rooms for when we return in December. I would definitely recommend this hotel. And I’m pretty sure this will be y “go to” hotel whenever I decide to visit NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmedina0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 3,631 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location being one block from Times Square. It's fairly basic but clean and comfortable which is all you need in New York. They have free wifi throughout. Breakfast is included and there is a good variety - cereal, toast, bagels, fruit, yoghurt and - of course - donuts and pastries! You can get free coffee, tea and cold water throughout the day close to the concierges desk. Free calls within the US are also included. On our last day we found the hotel also has a small gym, just a few machines in a basement room but useful if wandering around Manhatten doesn't give you enough exercise! We had a room at the back and our view was a brick wall. There is also a bar but we didn't visit it so can't comment.

Room Tip: We had 518 which was at the back looking out at a brick wall. However it was quiet and also meant we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location and value in the center of the theatre district. Good service and one of the few hotels that allows smoking! Will definitely stay there again. It is a little small and not the most luxurious of places, but I loved it for the 2 days I was there. Quaint little bar for a quick late night cocktail and packed for the continental breakfast! Great bargain for NYC!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caligirl6843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wonderful location in Midtown Manhattan to explore NYC
Comfortable and spacious rooms
Free Wi-Fi everywhere in hotel
Great breakfast area with generous offering
Family suites with two rooms are great value
Pleasant lounge in lobby

Room Tip: Choose high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here twice this year for a total of 12 days. Booked it because of the price and the location, but it has other advantages too. Breakfast is included as is free internet and a free USAToday. There's a free coffee machine (with flavored coffee) in the lobby as well as coffee pots in the rooms, Two more bonuses: meticulously clean rooms and the cutest little second floor bar ... next to no tables in it so it's very quiet and a great place for a chat and a glass of wine or beer.

Room Tip: If you like baths, be sure to ask for a room with a full bath. Some are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blkWeyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel and we had a great time. The room was spotlessly clean and quite spacious, with a TV, lots of wardrobe space for clothes, etc. The view from our room was terrible, but who goes to NYC to look out of the window anyway? As others have said, you do have to wait a long time for the lift. The biggest issue for us was the breakfast - the room is not big enough for all the guests so there is often no where to sit and the food itself is terrible - coffee, cereal and juice all from machines! We ended up eating out for 2 of the mornings. The free wifi worked well in our room.

Despite the poor breakfast, we would still stay here again because of the excellent location. The room wasn't exactly cheap, but this is NY and when compared with options of a similar price, this hotel seems like quite good value for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear sarahlu84,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, but we do wish to apologize for the breakfast and elevator wait. We try to offer as much variety as possible during our free breakfast, which includes fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, bagels, coffee, juices, teas, hard boiled eggs, and more. The majority of our guests enjoy the wide selection and can generally find something they like. Nevertheless, we’re sorry you did not enjoy it.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next trip to New York.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First time in New York City, and only there for 24 hour layover at that.
My wife and I needed a centrally located place to sleep, for the very short stay. The Hotel at Times Square is only 2 blocks away from Times Square, 3 Blocks from Rockefeller Center, and probably about 6 from South end of Central Park. The Hotel was very inexpensive as NYC hotels go, so I was leery. But turned out to be unfounded. Room was small, but comfortable, nicely furnished, clean, and for a little over 200.00 was a great value in mid-town Manhattan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#193 of 470 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 470 in New York City
7,394 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#363 of 470 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#309 of 470 in New York City
4,225 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#95 of 470 in New York City
856 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#296 of 470 in New York City
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing