We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #287 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked this hotel in January for our July trip primarily because it had queen-sized beds (uncommon in New York) was reasonably priced, and was close to Times Square and Rockefeller Center. Although it isn't particularly fancy, it was just fine for our needs since we were there only to sleep. The hallway to our room wasn't the traditional straight corridor but rather very twisty. Our view was terrible: outside we saw the outsides of three buildings with two of them having windows with the same view of ours and the final wall being nearly totally black. My daughter was intrigued with the fire escape right outside our bathroom window and luckily didn't venture out there! The bed skirt on one of the beds had holes and was discolored and should have been replaced. Otherwise, the room was clean when we returned each night so we weren't disappointed. The breakfast is ample; it can get crowded but we were able to get a table each time without much of a wait. They have hard-boiled eggs, donuts, yogurt, cereal, toast, and bagels along with fruit choices...pretty good for a continental breakfast. The only thing that made us upset was that we had left our bags at the hotel after we checked out, and we came back to find that while they were being stored, someone had placed something on a print my daughter had bought and had left unpacked for carry-on purposes, tearing and folding it. All in all, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Lynne0725,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the view from your room. In Manhattan, many hotel rooms have similar views. We always try to honor requests for certain rooms, so you can always try to request a room with a better view for a future stay. We apologize for the worn bed skirt and will definitely replace it. We also sincerely apologize for the accidental damage done to the print you left with your luggage.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to New York City!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 3,579 reviews

An EasyToBook.com traveler
Portsmouth, Oh
Reviewed July 24, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had booked the broadway at times square initially but was redirected to the hotel at times square due to on-going renovation. We didn't mind the change of location as the hotel was just down the next street. The waiting for lift can be slow and the breakfast bar is crowded during peak period. You may want to come down earlier for breakfast before the crowds arrived. The service at the reception was excellent and the room is clean. The room is also spacious for a hotel in NY too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuYa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am staying here with my sister. She has muscular dystrophy and uses a walking frame. Although sometimes we had to wait a while for the lifts as she couldn't fit in with her frame itvwasn't any real drama. All staff were extremely helpful. The room was very comfortable. There are many eating places close by so finding somewhere for dinner was never a concern. Not too far to walk to use the Gray line hop on hop off bus which was part of our 3 day New York pass. We have both been very satisfied here and recommend this accommodation. Breakfast was pretty good considering it was continental.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 505Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were a family of four and found the room suitable and clean. For the price of the room, the breakfast, and the price of parking in New York this was very good deal. Nothing extravagant but you don't spend a lot of time in the room. The staff is friendly and the hotel has character. We used the back elevator and had no problems with our room. The breakfast was ok. I liked the yogurt and fruit. The best part was the location, location, location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found this hotel on the internet and were very pleased with it. The name of the hotel is a bit of a misnomer as it is on a reasonably quiet street a ways from the hubbub of Times Square. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed, the staff was friendly and helpful, and a continental breakfast was included. A really good bargain for the location and quality. There are two sections to the hotel and we were in the back with one elevator which could be a bit slow. We would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWH419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have booked The Hotel At Times Square following recommendations on Trip Advisor. Generally speaking, we encountered what was described by previous guests and were not surprised. But some of our expectations were definitely not met. One lift served 11 floors and waiting for it was a test to our patience. Often, not wanting to spend precious time staring at the lift door, we took the stairs. Less often we climbed up 8 floors. Of course, when the lift finally arrived, it stopped at every floor. The breakfast room was at times so crowded that there too, we had to wait. And breakfast itself. There was plenty, provided you like a lot of bread, because that was the main ingredient that was offered. Otherwise, good location and reasonable rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Jacob L,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the elevators. Sometimes during busy hours of the day they can get a bit held up as guests are coming and going. We are sorry you were not pleased with the free breakfast. We try to provide as much variety as possible and currently include boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, pastries, and more.
The majority of our guests enjoy their stay for the great location and fabulous value they receive.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#188 of 469 in New York City
2,115 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#300 of 469 in New York City
7,623 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 469 in New York City
7,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#319 of 469 in New York City
1,644 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 469 in New York City
19,264 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#294 of 469 in New York City
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $137 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing