We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel at Times Square
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
$143
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$236
$205
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$400
$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$223
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
$123
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$197
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$136
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (3,716)
Filter reviews
3,716 results
Traveler rating
1,005
1,768
640
155
148
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,005
1,768
640
155
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelstimes squaregreat locationfree breakfastnew yorkrockefeller centerboiled eggsrooftop barbreakfast roomfire escapebudget hotelwould definitely stay here againradio city music hallaround the cornertwo blockscentral parkfifth avenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,491 - 1,496 of 3,716 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

12 of us spent 5 nights at the hotel @ times square and had a great time. The hotel is very clean, all staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was a good size and the location was excellent, in walking distance to times square and fifth avenue. Breakfast was a continental buffet but great selection and always replenished. There was also a coffee station in the hotel reception which you could just help yourself to at anytime.
We didn't go to the bar in the hotel but looked quite good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicccola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Four of us spent three nights at the hotel @ times square and had a great time. All of our dealings with the hotel went quickly and smoothly. Our room had a queen and a king in two separate, connected rooms which worked out great. Considering the accomodations and the great location it was an excellent value. The location was important because we had a six year old with us and we wanted to minimize the amount of walking his little legs would have to do. It must have worked since he still had enough energy to skip down the sidewalk the last day. The hotel has a nice enough lobby area with two computers with nice big monitors. The elevators, which can be a problem in some hotels, required a minimum of waiting time. They also had a nice manned, information center. The breakfast was average. A bit chaotic with a limited assortment of items and the trash got a bit backed up at times. But, it was convenient and good enough. There are many hotels to chose from in NYC, but we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Now, I booked a room here via Booking.com for a business trip. The rate was around $230 at the time, which in NYC standards is on the low end of

That said, DO NOT travel here if you are working. While I am aware of the Times Square/Midtown location, I figured it'd be okay since I'd be out most of the time in meetings. But wow. I lived in NYC and I forget how awful tourists are. It is FULL of the most obnoxious and loud tourists. The continental breakfast is what you would expect- but so obnoxious to weed through rude tourists just to get a coffee. Come on people - MANNERS. Christ. This hotel attracts those types of people.

The room itself is really small - and like a cave. I had one window that faced an enclosed alley and I almost overslept and missed a meeting because it was so pitch black even at 9a. The bathroom was a small bathroom - but I really didn't like the products they had. Instead of the little sample shampoo/conditioner/lotion provided by a nice company, it was a soap dispenser on the wall for all of the above. No conditioner. Bring your own - it smells strongly of apples (not cute) and is cheap quality.

The bed was redeeming - quite comfy. If only I could sleep through the noise - no even guest-noise...but a old haggard angry looking room service maid decided to park her cart in front of my room in the wee hours and I heard her yelling every morning. She sounded like she was constantly in an argument.

As I was leaving, I heard a girl trying to check out and get the hell out of there for bed bugs. She had bites all over her arms and neck and the actual bug in a tissue for proof. They weren't helping her out at all.

Overall, it was fine. But not for me. I will not be returning. Might be a good choice if you're a tourist.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear aeec,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you felt the hotel did not suit your needs. Our hotel attracts both leisure and business travelers with many of the latter being repeat customers who appreciate the remarkable value we provide. These include free amenities that everyone enjoys like breakfast, WiFi, and domestic phone calls to anywhere in the US. Our rooms vary in size somewhat, but most are about the average size for a hotel room in Manhattan. In addition, when booking you can always request a particular type of room, even a bigger room with forward facing views. We always try to grant such requests.
We can assure you that we have always maintained the highest standards in preventing and eliminating bed bugs. We have employed a company that routinely conducts checks even if there are no signs of problems. In addition, our housekeeping staff is trained to proactively look for signs. If there is any question, the pest control company is called and they come in immediately.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future, whether for business or pleasure. Our guests enjoy our competitive rates and overall great value.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after taking the airport bus from EWR to the Port Authority stop ($8 p/p for seniors) then dragged our bags the few blocks to the hotel. We stayed 2 nights in room 903 prior to taking the inaugural Breakaway cruise to Bermuda. We could have walked to Pier 88 by the Intrepid Museum too but chose not to.

The hotel is very nice with a street level automated entrance so no stairs or heavy doors to manage. The lobby area is lovely. Our room with 2 double beds overlooked 46th street & a park which we later discovered was a 9/11 Memorial park, a beautiful peaceful oasis amongst the skyscrapers.

Check in was smooth & upon telling the lady I didn't remember if I told our TA that I was a CAA member she gave us the 5% discount upon showing her my card. We took the elevator up to the room & were quite happy with it.

We had the included breakfast both mornings & it was quite good altho' it could have included muffins instead of some of the sweet items but there was toast, cereal, fresh fruit, juices, a neat coffee machine & many other choices.

The wifi was good & quite fast. The location was about 1 1/2 blocks from Times Square so not too far to walk to stores, restaurants, the HOHO bus, Radio CIty Music Hall etc.

We enjoyed our stay & would probably stay there again if we returned to the Big Apple.

Room Tip: Room 903 facing 46th Street & the park was quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2cruise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is great, the location is good, the little bar on the second floor is a real gem, the wi-fi throughout the building is fantastic.
Two Mac's in reception if you don't have your own iPad.
The free breakfast is as good as any hotel breakfast.
However, this is NOT a boutique hotel (as listed). It is a hotel with small, dark rooms. But THIS IS NEW YORK, you should be out, exploring, experiencing, living it.
Just don't expect to be wow'd by the rooms.
While we were there it seemed as though there was a refurbishment in progress but no reference was made to the guys painting and replacing carpet!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Paul D,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your time in New York was fun. Our room sizes are fairly typical of most hotels in Manhattan. In addition, not all of our rooms face the street, so they can get a bit dark. We apologize for any inconvenience because of this. We do offer exceptional value the room includes a range of free amenities like WiFI, continental breakfast, business and fitness centers. that are often not found in higher end hotels. These are all set in a very contemporary style typical of boutique hotels some of which offer room service; an amenity we don't but one that is increasingly being dropped by most hotels, particularly in the city.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews