We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yikes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #289 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Now, I booked a room here via Booking.com for a business trip. The rate was around $230 at the time, which in NYC standards is on the low end of

That said, DO NOT travel here if you are working. While I am aware of the Times Square/Midtown location, I figured it'd be okay since I'd be out most of the time in meetings. But wow. I lived in NYC and I forget how awful tourists are. It is FULL of the most obnoxious and loud tourists. The continental breakfast is what you would expect- but so obnoxious to weed through rude tourists just to get a coffee. Come on people - MANNERS. Christ. This hotel attracts those types of people.

The room itself is really small - and like a cave. I had one window that faced an enclosed alley and I almost overslept and missed a meeting because it was so pitch black even at 9a. The bathroom was a small bathroom - but I really didn't like the products they had. Instead of the little sample shampoo/conditioner/lotion provided by a nice company, it was a soap dispenser on the wall for all of the above. No conditioner. Bring your own - it smells strongly of apples (not cute) and is cheap quality.

The bed was redeeming - quite comfy. If only I could sleep through the noise - no even guest-noise...but a old haggard angry looking room service maid decided to park her cart in front of my room in the wee hours and I heard her yelling every morning. She sounded like she was constantly in an argument.

As I was leaving, I heard a girl trying to check out and get the hell out of there for bed bugs. She had bites all over her arms and neck and the actual bug in a tissue for proof. They weren't helping her out at all.

Overall, it was fine. But not for me. I will not be returning. Might be a good choice if you're a tourist.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear aeec,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you felt the hotel did not suit your needs. Our hotel attracts both leisure and business travelers with many of the latter being repeat customers who appreciate the remarkable value we provide. These include free amenities that everyone enjoys like breakfast, WiFi, and domestic phone calls to anywhere in the US. Our rooms vary in size somewhat, but most are about the average size for a hotel room in Manhattan. In addition, when booking you can always request a particular type of room, even a bigger room with forward facing views. We always try to grant such requests.
We can assure you that we have always maintained the highest standards in preventing and eliminating bed bugs. We have employed a company that routinely conducts checks even if there are no signs of problems. In addition, our housekeeping staff is trained to proactively look for signs. If there is any question, the pest control company is called and they come in immediately.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future, whether for business or pleasure. Our guests enjoy our competitive rates and overall great value.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 3,632 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after taking the airport bus from EWR to the Port Authority stop ($8 p/p for seniors) then dragged our bags the few blocks to the hotel. We stayed 2 nights in room 903 prior to taking the inaugural Breakaway cruise to Bermuda. We could have walked to Pier 88 by the Intrepid Museum too but chose not to.

The hotel is very nice with a street level automated entrance so no stairs or heavy doors to manage. The lobby area is lovely. Our room with 2 double beds overlooked 46th street & a park which we later discovered was a 9/11 Memorial park, a beautiful peaceful oasis amongst the skyscrapers.

Check in was smooth & upon telling the lady I didn't remember if I told our TA that I was a CAA member she gave us the 5% discount upon showing her my card. We took the elevator up to the room & were quite happy with it.

We had the included breakfast both mornings & it was quite good altho' it could have included muffins instead of some of the sweet items but there was toast, cereal, fresh fruit, juices, a neat coffee machine & many other choices.

The wifi was good & quite fast. The location was about 1 1/2 blocks from Times Square so not too far to walk to stores, restaurants, the HOHO bus, Radio CIty Music Hall etc.

We enjoyed our stay & would probably stay there again if we returned to the Big Apple.

Room Tip: Room 903 facing 46th Street & the park was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2cruise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is great, the location is good, the little bar on the second floor is a real gem, the wi-fi throughout the building is fantastic.
Two Mac's in reception if you don't have your own iPad.
The free breakfast is as good as any hotel breakfast.
However, this is NOT a boutique hotel (as listed). It is a hotel with small, dark rooms. But THIS IS NEW YORK, you should be out, exploring, experiencing, living it.
Just don't expect to be wow'd by the rooms.
While we were there it seemed as though there was a refurbishment in progress but no reference was made to the guys painting and replacing carpet!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Paul D,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your time in New York was fun. Our room sizes are fairly typical of most hotels in Manhattan. In addition, not all of our rooms face the street, so they can get a bit dark. We apologize for any inconvenience because of this. We do offer exceptional value the room includes a range of free amenities like WiFI, continental breakfast, business and fitness centers. that are often not found in higher end hotels. These are all set in a very contemporary style typical of boutique hotels some of which offer room service; an amenity we don't but one that is increasingly being dropped by most hotels, particularly in the city.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff at this hotel should be giving lessons to other hotels' staff. Everyone could not have been more friendly and helpful. While the lobby is not especially large or comfortable, it serves its purpose and it is in very good condition and it , like the entire property,was spotless. The room while small, was wee decorated, clean and fresh and equipped with every amenity. The rooms and hallways have been recently refurbished. We were able to walk to the theater, Mass at St. Patricks, dinner at Becco and even to The American Museum of Natural History. West 46th st. is loaded with restaurants of various ethnicity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with at least a view and not one that looks out on a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was our first time in this hotel and we were not disappointed! the location is great ,walking distance to the Times square , tow blocks to Rockefeller center. The room was clean and large, we could open the window, even though it was a little bit noisy...
Nice breakfast , free coffee at the lobby and the staff were very kind and welcoming .
We recommend this hotel and will stay here again !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

There was no ventilation fan in the bathroom. There was nothing to set luggage on except the bed. A single elevator was stuffy and slow. There was no view with this room. Very small sink in the bathroom. A block and a half from Times Square with much construction taking place along somewhat uneven sidewalks. Decent continental breakfast with very fresh donuts, bagels, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. Waited for coffee from the machine in the lobby as a hotel staff member worked on it and never acknowledged my presence, even brushing past me as he left. Certainly saved money but was disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smilinghoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was not our first stay in this hotel, we’ve been there three years ago. The location is really great, the rooms are OK but you cannot open the windows… even a little bit. Someone had smoked (quite a lot) in our room, and it would have been pleasant to change the air!... If you don’t want to wait (sometimes a long time) for the elevator, you can ask for a room in the low floors… but then you will “enjoy” the permanent noise of the air conditioned system of the main building!!!! It’s up to you!!!! The breakfast is quite poor and the breakfast room is very noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chalupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#193 of 470 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 470 in New York City
7,394 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#363 of 470 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#309 of 470 in New York City
4,229 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#95 of 470 in New York City
856 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#297 of 470 in New York City
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing