We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience at The Hotel at Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #286 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Newburgh, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Experience at The Hotel at Times Square”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

There was no ventilation fan in the bathroom. There was nothing to set luggage on except the bed. A single elevator was stuffy and slow. There was no view with this room. Very small sink in the bathroom. A block and a half from Times Square with much construction taking place along somewhat uneven sidewalks. Decent continental breakfast with very fresh donuts, bagels, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. Waited for coffee from the machine in the lobby as a hotel staff member worked on it and never acknowledged my presence, even brushing past me as he left. Certainly saved money but was disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smilinghoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    1,668
    593
    142
    140
See reviews for
1,188
1,136
167
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
550 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was not our first stay in this hotel, we’ve been there three years ago. The location is really great, the rooms are OK but you cannot open the windows… even a little bit. Someone had smoked (quite a lot) in our room, and it would have been pleasant to change the air!... If you don’t want to wait (sometimes a long time) for the elevator, you can ask for a room in the low floors… but then you will “enjoy” the permanent noise of the air conditioned system of the main building!!!! It’s up to you!!!! The breakfast is quite poor and the breakfast room is very noisy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chalupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Can not beat the location of this hotel if your business or leasure in nyc is in the area between 5th and 7th avn. Elevators can be slow sometimes and surely when you stay on the 14th fl. More disturbing and this is an issu management needs to take care of , traveling in the elevators with cleaning staff i can accept but not when this person is moving all the waist he colected on a floor and we have to share the elevator with him and the very bad smell. Rooms have nearly no daylight but are very comfortable. Breakfast is same as it always is and wifi works very well in the rooms and is complimentary. Still have some flaws this hotel for me to give it a perfect note lets see what will change in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second stay at The Hotel @ Times Square, an AppleCore hotel. It is very convenient to Times Square, just a couple blocks west and to 5th Avenue, Madison avenue and Park avenue to the east. Radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center are just two blocks north and Grand Central Station just a few blocks southeast. In other words you could not be more centrally located for the heart of Manhattan. Now, about the hotel. The rates are very affordable as far as NYC goes, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. just about all of them from the front desk to the doormen to the concierge remembered us from our week stay over Thanksgiving 2011. Being an older but updated building the elevators are small and few, meaning be patient if you are on an upper floor. The ice machines are on the bottom floor only of this 14 story very narrow building. Free breakfast are available, just a bit more than what would be described as a continental breakfast. The lobby/longing area is very comfortable with free Wi/Fi and 2 computer desks, TV, and seating. The maid service is good. The concierge is very helpful in giving information from attractions to navigating the transit systems to arranging for private cars for transfers ( I highly recommend this service as we were disappointed with our first taxi ride in NYC. We have since used the private cars to/from the airport and it's just a few dollars more than a taxi, well worth the extra money....unless you want to take a chance on listening to some foreigner's noon prayers over the radio and him trying to convert you to his religion. We found the room small by most cit'y's hotels, but this is NYC, that said we found out we actually had a medium sized room for the rate. Anyway, how long are you going to be in your room? The central location made subway travel a breeze, something I didn't think I would like but know now the subways are cheap and very reliable. If you want the luxury experience of the Plaza, go there. If you want affordable rates, clean atmosphere, very friendly staff and good location, come to this hotel. Tell them Bluestraveler50 sent ya.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireman158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. Great comfortable bed, adequate continental breakfast and clean room! This hotel is close to many of the NY highlights. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JLCLJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I found this hotel on-line and was greatly interested by the location, since it is at 46th street near the corner with 6th avenue. The 47 st subway station was less than a block away and Times Square, Diamond District, NY Public Library and plenty of stores were in walking distance (we did walk). But the Hotel itself was a huge surprise: the rooms had very good size and the bathroom as well. Everything was very comfortable. There was AC on the room, so we could control the temperature as we like. Service was excellent, including the simple but good breakfast included. There is a gym in the lower level. So I really can't think of a reason to try any other hotel in the Times Square region - not comfort, not size, not location. This hotel is great.

* I'm from Brazil and it turns out that the street/area is known as "Little Brazil". I'm not fond of looking for my own country while travelling (I rather meet local things and people), but in truth the area has some shops and restaurants with Brazilian theme, nothing much, so no worries.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarceloBarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#184 of 466 in New York City
2,082 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 466 in New York City
7,230 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 466 in New York City
9,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#320 of 466 in New York City
2,715 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#291 of 466 in New York City
2,531 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing