We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #290 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Location is everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you are not interested in facilities (spa, gym, pool, etc...) and do not care about not having free movies, console games or a minibar, but are slimy looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in an 'Ideally' situated hotel, then this one ticks is good for you.

Yes, it can be noisy if you are close the the lifts and yes breakfast is frankly not good (toast and cereal is all that is on offer). But this place is perfectly situated.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory_Cornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    1,451
    501
    131
    124
See reviews for
1,002
993
144
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is reaonably prices and well located only 2 blocks from Times Square. There are no amenities to speak of. The staff is professional though not very welcoming. The rooms are small but clean. The hotel could use a bit of updating. But if you want location and don't want to spend a fortune, then this hotel will work very well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAC1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel, traveling with friends and using 2 separate rooms. Overall we were happy with our stay, though it wasn't perfect.

The best thing about this hotel is its proximity to Times Square and 5th Ave -- although it's only a short walk from either, it's located on 46th street, which means that it's quieter than if located on an avenue.

The rooms themselves were comfortable -- very comfortable beds and nice furnishings. The rooms are somewhat small, so there's not much room to move around, and if you have a lot of bags (as my friends did) your room will quickly feel cluttered.

Although the rooms have windows, there is NO view to speak of. Our rooms were merely a way to access the fire escapes -- outside the room was just the walls to building next door, Almost no outside light can get into the room, so the rooms always feel a bit dark.

The bathrooms have no fans, and if you shower with the door closed, the room will quickly steam up, and every surface in the bathroom will be soaked. The back of the bathroom door looked a bit mildewy -- presumably from all the moisture. The windows have signs on them saying that you should not open them (although I did), but even that didn't really help with the moisture. Another complaint is that the hotel doesn't offer bar soap or little bottles of shampoo -- everything is liquid coming from dispensers on the walls -- feels a bit cheap.

The staff at the hotel leaves a bit to be desired -- there were 2 incidents that left us feeling underwhelmed with the hotel. First -- one of the maids didn't close the door to the room when she was done cleaning -- she turned the deadbolt to keep the door unlocked while cleaning, and forgot to shut the door when she was done. Fortunately, nothing was taken, but this was inexcusable.

Second had to do with the breakfast. Overall the breakfast is pretty underwhelming -- bagels, donuts, coffee and juice in a room that's too small for the number of guests that eat breakfast. One morning we were there around 10AM, when breakfast ends. As we left the room, the door didn't close behind us, and the man who was overseeing the breakfast yelled at us because we didn't close the door. Seems like he could have just closed the door, but he was a surly jerk, and really shouldn't be working in this industry.

Overall, I might stay there again if the price was really good, but there may be better hotels available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Arrived 3.22.13 after our cruise to spend some time in NYC. We reserved a non-smoking room with two queen beds, and were surprised at the size of the room – quite spacious, especially by New York standards. The room itself was clean with minimal street noise. The concierge was helpful and assisted us in planning our subway routes and choosing a tour. The Wifi was great in the lobby, and I was happy that I was able to use the printer to print our free tickets to the 9/11 Memorial (recommended).

The elevator is small and slow. The hallways between rooms are dirty and in dire need of vacuuming. The bar on the second floor is convenient but needs a scrubbing, and the Christmas décor removed (it’s March people!). Also, the first bartender we experienced there couldn’t be bothered to assist us as she was busy on Facebook and flirting with the cute boys that came in. She couldn’t mix a drink to save her life. On the other hand, Lisa was exceptional, and was the reason we returned a few more times. There’s a great restaurant a few doors down called Ipanema, excellent Brazilian food.

Times Square is right down the block as are many different subway stations, etc. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and location is important to you. It’s not the “W” but it worked well for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Risa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Cleaning and location?? Clean and well located !! And nothing to say about the hotel employees.
The hotel itself is not a Boutique Hotel, if you know the meaning of a "Boutique Hotel", because is only an old 3 star hotel, which was renovated not too well, and that's all you should expect. What's worse is that, in a 3 star hotel the breakfast is so basic and taken into disposable dishes (like Camping) !? Be counting on WI FI and not having it in the room !? Or the view from our room (909) to be worst we ever had from a hotel room, !? And I had to choose either slept with noise and kept the hot air machine on?? Or turned off and had cold overnight ?? Or after a long day having to walk up to the ninth floor because the elevators do not always work as they should, it's not very nice!?
Having already been several times in NY, I can say from experience itself, which are much better and almost nearly the same price, and the breakfast and W FI included in the room price, not worth it, although it is why many choose this hotel. However, outside the hotel, NY remains the Wonderful and Amazing New York "The City" !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mjdemony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear mjdemony,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not pleased with your stay. As you can see from the many positive reviews we get, our hotel offers highly competitive rates along with a range of free amenities including Free breakfast and 24 hour cappuccino/coffee/tea. We do use disposable dishes for our breakfast service all of which are environmentally friendly. Unfortunately, as is typical of many New York hotels, not all of our rooms have views. As buildings in New York City are tall and very close together, some of the windows do not face the outside. Our elevators work properly, but sometimes during busier hours of the day they can get held up.
We apologize for the many inconveniences you faced at our hotel. The majority of our guests are very satisfied with their stay because of the location, clean rooms, free breakfast, free WiFi, and free domestic phone calls.
We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good service with friendly staff. Nice clean rooms, however the rooms were a bit small. Location was excellent, literally a 5min walk from Times Sq. Our room also had a nice view of NYC. i would possibly consider returning to this hotel, but the room did bother me for the price we paid. Not as modern as other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The wife and I were in NYC for 2 nights prior to a Bahamas cruise. I had searched high and low for a reasonable rate and had settled on one of the Double Trees in NYC. Unfortunately the rate jumped before I booked so I started looking a little more. I hadn't seen this hotel before but it showed up at $150 a night so it warranted a closer look.

For my $150 a night I got free wifi and breakfast. This is what really sealed the deal for me. Add this to the great location only a couple blocks from Times Square and I felt that I got a great value. There is a nice lobby with computers for guests at no charge. Hot water was great and so was the shower. The staff was very friendly.

The only negative I have was the room size. It was small. I guess this is the norm in NYC though.

When we go back I expect that The Hotel at Times Square is where we will stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fightpiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#183 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#305 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,399 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#265 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#303 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,966 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#317 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 11,470 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#297 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing