We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #286 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location - good value for money”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I had 5 days to celebrate a big birthday here and were very lucky that we had no snow - tho it was cold so maybe next time we will choose a warmer time of year!
We arrived after having emailed the hotel who gave great directions to arrive by Air-Train & Subway (much cheaper than taxi and not that much longer)
It wasn't an over-gushing USA welcome - but we got checked in quickly and efficiently.
The room was lovely - plenty big enough for 2 (we knew NYC hotels don't offer much space) and the room was re-furbished so was all new + very comfortable. We had asked for a high floor - we were on the top, and so couldn't hear the traffic below - bliss!
The bathroom was big (for NYC) and the shower ok - a bit iffy sometimes with the water pressure but was sufficient. Had free shower gel + lotion so that was a nice touch. Plenty of towels + space to put all our things. My only advice was that it would have been nice to have some hooks there to hang towels or bathrobes etc.
There was an ironing board/iron + a hairdryer + coffee pot in the room (no tea unfortunately, but that was fine!)............there was also free tea + coffee all day / night in reception - which was big plus.
We visited the bar on the 2nd floor - it wasn't anything special and we found it a bit over-priced so didn't go back.
I like to have a window open at night (even tho it was freezing temperatures) and the first night we had to ask reception as there were stickers on the windows to get a maintenance man to do it. Subsequent nights we just did it ourselves and it was fine. There was a window in the bathroom too but with the fan on you didn't really need it.
As the days wore on, I needed several things from reception, and I just want to say that everyone there was VERY helpful and friendly - I asked for a charger one morning, and there was a different man on in the evening who didn't know about my request - but surprised me the next day by not only remembering me + my room number - but also lending me a charger!
My husband wasn't very well one evening and reception were very helpful and sympathetic - I can quite understand why peope want to come back here. Obviously if we had money to stay at the classiest hotels, we would, but this hotel cannot be beaten for its location and value for money and great service by great people (who are genuine!).
The big lounge in reception + the PC's so I could print my boarding pass were a great plus - as were the free wi-fi and free calls in USA.
However, in our eyes, just one thing let it down - breakfast. Don't get me wrong - it was delicious and was always refilled so nothing ran out and there was lots of variety for a small buffet type breakfast - BUT, it was in a very small room which got overcrowded, and was served on paper plates,cutlery and cups. However sturdy they were, and I presume the reasons are to keep washing up + staff costs down - all of which I understand, but we felt a bit let down. However, I think that is just in keeping with the whole US throw away society as everytime we wanted a coffee in NYC it was ALWAYS served in a paper cup - took away the mediterranean enjoyment of the whole coffee experience! Horses for courses I guess!
Anyway - thanks NYC and the great hotel - one day we will be back!

Room Tip: I have heard all the rooms are now re-furbished, but I stillthink (despite the bad lifts situation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    1,668
    593
    142
    140
See reviews for
1,188
1,136
167
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This location was perfect! The hotel was within two blocks of the LIon King, which was our main reason for going back to NYC. The service and staff were excellent. The rooms were a good size for a couple, but would be small if travelling with children.
Would stay there again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are looking for a great priced hotel very close to times square this is the hotel for you! We had 4 woman in our room and had PLENTY of room for all of our suitcases! Everything about this place was great! The continental breakfast was so yummy! Free coffee/latte available 24 hours a day was a big plus over this past weekend! Staff was all very friendly!

Overall great hotel!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a NON smoking room! We forgot and got stuck in a smoking room, but still wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurierdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned home from our yearly excursion to The Hotel @ Times Square in midtown. My husband and I, along with our 2 children, ages 7 and 8, go each year to spend several days in NY. If you want a perfect midtown location that is more than reasonably priced-- in NYC terms, downright inexpensive as compared to other hotels, this is the place for you. The entire hotel has been renovated, and the rooms are very clean with new furnishings, along with tiled bathrooms and very pretty granite on the sinks. Breakfast is included in the price, and if you belong to AAA, you will receive a 5% discount. It may not sound like very much, but when you see all of the extra taxes that one is charged on a nightly basis, it adds up to more than you think. Check in has always been easy, and everyone remembers us from year to year. We are always welcomed back with a smile. The lobby is very attractive, with a beautiful sitting area, 2 large flat screen TV's and 2 computers. Of course there is free WI-FI. Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Broadway shows, every type of restaurant imaginable, along with the M&M and Hershey Stores are just a few blocks away. There is absolutely no reason to spend outrageous sums of money on hotel rooms, when this hotel offers so much. If you need a place to park your car for the duration of your stay, you will receive discounted parking at the lot across the street. The clientele here are so nice. Everybody is very respectful. Leaving is always difficult, but we know we have found a gem in the center of NY that we can always return to. Thank you to everyone who makes this place special.

PS If you have never been to NY before, you may think the rooms are on the small side and the hallways a bit narrow, but remember this is the norm for NY. It cannot be compared to other hotels in smaller cities!

Room Tip: There is one suite on each floor, which consists of 2 rooms that have a door separating them. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebOneWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear DebOneWorld,
Thank you for your outstanding review! We’re so happy to hear that you and your family enjoy staying with us every year while you visit New York. We provide guests with the best hotel value by including free amenities like WiFi, breakfast, and even domestic phone calls.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family next year!

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Normally, I stay at another Apple Core Hotel facility on Lexington Ave. and E 30th street, but this month, me and the family decided for staying at The Hotel for enjoying the Carnival holidays due to its extremely good location (between 6th and 5th Avenues) and nearby subway station at Rockfeller Center.
Everything I wrote about the other hotel, I could repeat it here, but on a bigger scale, since this hotel has larger facilities (hall, free breakfast room).
However, there is room for improvements: during breakfast time, we noticed that only one person was available for refilling the coffe-making machines, the juice dispensers, etc. It would be much better if the breakfast staff was larger.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otavio_silveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broughty ferry
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in February , room 323 was small and didn't have any natural daylight , it had two windows but the were in frosted glass and must have faced a wall ? but was nice and clean. Beds were soft But comfortable. There was a sign you could leave on bed if you wanted the sheets changed, so you could have new bedding daily if you so desired. Towels were changed every day , new toiletries as needed . Our corridor smelled of cigar smoke , as some of the rooms are smoking rooms, but thankfully the smell didn't enter our room.
Excellent location , on 46th , 6th ave. just a block and a half away from Times Square . Excellent continental breakfast buffet, with lots of choice , toast , various bagels , cereals, yogurts , jellys , cream cheese , boiled eggs, oj , apple juice ,tea coffee , bananas apples , Danish pastries , croissants , doughnuts. A special mention has to go to the man who kept the breakfast items replenished . He was super efficient and never ran out of any breakfast item. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend and will definitely return.

Room Tip: NOT room 323 as it had no natural sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diamondgirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#184 of 466 in New York City
2,081 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 466 in New York City
7,230 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 466 in New York City
9,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#320 of 466 in New York City
2,715 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#291 of 466 in New York City
2,531 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing