We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and place to stay for the cost!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Rockford, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and place to stay for the cost!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Pros:
Great room location (702 - it was a big corner room with a king size bed),
Loved that we had the ability to control our own a/c & heat.
Continental breakfast (although if you are gluten free there aren't much options in food but still a pretty big continental breakfast for those with non allergy issues - hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, fruit, bagels, pastries) I loved that they had the eggs in a crockpot of hot water - never seen that before, although it did seem to cook them longer....
Comfortable bed.
FREE Coffee/Hot chocolate machine in lobby.
Apple iMac's for use in lobby - never used them but it was nice to know they were available.
Baggage storage after checking out of hotel was a big plus!
Hotel was in a great location and it's proximity to subway stations - we walked a lot of places and just took the subway/bus. [We took the bus/subway from LGA to the hotel. Just take the Q33 from LGA and then get off at the Victor Moore Terminal at Roosevelt Ave and hop onto the F subway line - get off at the Rockefeller Center exit and it's only a 2 minute walk to the hotel and $2.25 - included the free transfer - also we had a messenger bag & a carry-on - people did not care that we had luggage on the bus/subway]

Cons:
Wi-fi was not working at all. I am not sure if it was because we were on the 7th floor but they could definitely use some network extenders to have a better signal since you advertise free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - they are bigger. The elevator is slow at times so be prepared to wait or jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank latinachica26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    1,427
    490
    126
    121
See reviews for
969
980
142
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We arrived at 8am. I decided on the way from the airport that I would change our room to a 2 bedroom suite and luckily they had a room ready for us when we arrived. Great start after travelling from Australia believe me. The 2 bedroom is good for a family of four. The size is adequate and we had a view of the GE building which was nothing special. We used the free breakfast every second day of our 11 night stay and we never had a problem with crowds. If you go early around 7am then hardly anyone is there. Staff are friendly enough and housekeeping do a great job. The free coffee making machine in the foyer is a god send after a day of sight seeing in the freezing cold.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie001Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my 2 children and I couldn't have been happier. I was upgraded from room with two double beds to one with two queen beds which made a big difference when sharing beds. The room was very clean and a decent size for a New York room. The bathroom was adequate size and also clean. The heating and cooling sytem was adjustable in the room and warmed and cooled the room very efficiently. The location was perfect as it was just one and a half blocks from the center of Times Square. I realized that I had forgotten my cell phone charger and when I inquired at the front desk, the very kind clerk lent me his own charger for the night. In fact, every employee we encountered was very kind. There was also a very nice breakfast in the morning. All of this for a very reasonable price!!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
289 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

To my surprise rooms are large enough and walk in dress room is actually interesting . Bathroom could be larger defenately bathroom sink . Heating in my room did not work during my last night i stayed there and it was of course a very cold night . A breakfast is served complimentary but do not expect a large breakfast buffet but rather just something that will do . Hotel is well taken care of but will surely not win a design or deco prize. For a city as new york and where this hotel is located i find the rate this hotel charges cheap considering rooms are comfy and have a nice wide screen tv as desk and wireless phone. No minibar in the rooms and the only ice cube machine is in the lobby. If this hotel would help guests checking out holding A taci for transport to airport i personally would apreciate. This hotel gave me what i wanted , a good night of sleep and during a very cold winter week in nyc just a short walk to 5th avn . I will be back soon to enjoy but also check this hotel again and see if the little flaws have been corected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, close to everything but not in the middle of the crowds. Nice, clean, updated rooms. Free continental breakfast. Staff is excellent. I have been staying here every January for the past 15 years. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Long story made short:

- Great location, just a couple of blocks away from Times Square, right next to the Subway (47-50 Rockefeller) and 5' away from Times Square's subway station (most major lines cross this station).

- Great staff. The personnel was very friendly and ready to solve every single problem that would arise. Special credits to receptionists Harpreet and Ella, who are by a clear mile the hotel's superstars, always very kind and friendly and did a great job.

- 24/7 stores right next to the hotel, that includes eating spots, drugstores, supermarkets, etc.

- Rooms cleaned daily. Fair overall service, however it can be improved significantly, as there have been a few days that I would find the cleaner's hair on my towels and my sheets.

- Average to small in size but that shouldn't be a problem unless you're planning to host a party in there.

- Free wi-fi internet access. A big plus when you still try to find your way to NY. Free use of 2 Macs by the reception for the guests, as well as 2 HP laser printers.

- Nice breakfast. A variety of foods and beverages. Coffee, milk, corn flakes, donuts, bananas, breads, butter and jam, orange juice, boiled eggs and more.

- Gym. Trivial but still a big plus if you want to keep in shape.

- Noise and disturbances has been an issue during my stay. For the days I had noisy neighbors I found it very difficult to sleep. There's also a constant dull background noise on the back side of the building, probably it's due to the air-conditioning units installed in the backyard, as well as the fire-safety doors slamming all night in the corridor that can turn out to be pretty disturbing, too.

- A nice hall in the reception. Can accommodate quite a few guests. Meetings' table. Free coffee, tea and hot chocolate beverages by the reception. Shuttle and tours operator next to the reception. Free luggage storage for the case your flight is later than the time of your checkout.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dvbhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#188 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,837 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#308 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,165 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#262 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#300 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,818 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#312 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,866 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#291 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travelocity and ETB so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing