We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #285 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my 2 children and I couldn't have been happier. I was upgraded from room with two double beds to one with two queen beds which made a big difference when sharing beds. The room was very clean and a decent size for a New York room. The bathroom was adequate size and also clean. The heating and cooling sytem was adjustable in the room and warmed and cooled the room very efficiently. The location was perfect as it was just one and a half blocks from the center of Times Square. I realized that I had forgotten my cell phone charger and when I inquired at the front desk, the very kind clerk lent me his own charger for the night. In fact, every employee we encountered was very kind. There was also a very nice breakfast in the morning. All of this for a very reasonable price!!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 3,582 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

To my surprise rooms are large enough and walk in dress room is actually interesting . Bathroom could be larger defenately bathroom sink . Heating in my room did not work during my last night i stayed there and it was of course a very cold night . A breakfast is served complimentary but do not expect a large breakfast buffet but rather just something that will do . Hotel is well taken care of but will surely not win a design or deco prize. For a city as new york and where this hotel is located i find the rate this hotel charges cheap considering rooms are comfy and have a nice wide screen tv as desk and wireless phone. No minibar in the rooms and the only ice cube machine is in the lobby. If this hotel would help guests checking out holding A taci for transport to airport i personally would apreciate. This hotel gave me what i wanted , a good night of sleep and during a very cold winter week in nyc just a short walk to 5th avn . I will be back soon to enjoy but also check this hotel again and see if the little flaws have been corected.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Tigs85
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, close to everything but not in the middle of the crowds. Nice, clean, updated rooms. Free continental breakfast. Staff is excellent. I have been staying here every January for the past 15 years. Great value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Long story made short:

- Great location, just a couple of blocks away from Times Square, right next to the Subway (47-50 Rockefeller) and 5' away from Times Square's subway station (most major lines cross this station).

- Great staff. The personnel was very friendly and ready to solve every single problem that would arise. Special credits to receptionists Harpreet and Ella, who are by a clear mile the hotel's superstars, always very kind and friendly and did a great job.

- 24/7 stores right next to the hotel, that includes eating spots, drugstores, supermarkets, etc.

- Rooms cleaned daily. Fair overall service, however it can be improved significantly, as there have been a few days that I would find the cleaner's hair on my towels and my sheets.

- Average to small in size but that shouldn't be a problem unless you're planning to host a party in there.

- Free wi-fi internet access. A big plus when you still try to find your way to NY. Free use of 2 Macs by the reception for the guests, as well as 2 HP laser printers.

- Nice breakfast. A variety of foods and beverages. Coffee, milk, corn flakes, donuts, bananas, breads, butter and jam, orange juice, boiled eggs and more.

- Gym. Trivial but still a big plus if you want to keep in shape.

- Noise and disturbances has been an issue during my stay. For the days I had noisy neighbors I found it very difficult to sleep. There's also a constant dull background noise on the back side of the building, probably it's due to the air-conditioning units installed in the backyard, as well as the fire-safety doors slamming all night in the corridor that can turn out to be pretty disturbing, too.

- A nice hall in the reception. Can accommodate quite a few guests. Meetings' table. Free coffee, tea and hot chocolate beverages by the reception. Shuttle and tours operator next to the reception. Free luggage storage for the case your flight is later than the time of your checkout.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dvbhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My 2 adult daughters and I stayed here for 5 nights for a January get away. The hotel was clean, beds were super comfy and we had free access to internet use and WiFi. The free continental breakfast was OK but their 24 hours coffee/cappuccino/hot chocolate machine was fabulous. We frequented this a few times a day and saved us loads of money compared to Starbucks and just as delicious and as individualized, too. The location was unbeatable with just 2 blocks from center of Times Square or subway. We were able to walk to so many attractions. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pattiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the "The Hotel @ Times Square" for two nights with wife and kid of 8 years. The location of the Hotel is Fantasic which more than makes up for the other small glitches. Just around four minutes walk and you are at Times square. The staff is quite helpful. This is a rare property which offers a complimentary Breakfast. This comes in handy. The spread is quite basic but fresh and nice and saves you a lot of time especially if one wants to maximize the sightseeing time. Oh! one must mention the complimentary tea and Coffee available next to the lobby 24/7. This was a blessing as we reached on a very cold November morning non-stop from Mumbai - India. Check in was a bit delayed as we were early. But a room was done up quite quickly under the circumstances. Of course we had provided them advance intimation about our early arrival.Walked from here to Grand Central , Rockefeller Centre- around 20 minutes at leisure. Madam Tussaud 10 mins walk, Ripley's "Believe it or not" - 10 mins. Did the 3 day Hop on Hop Off from Times Square and it was fun in-spite of the bitter cold. Do try the Two Brothers pizza just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Avoid the road facing rooms if you sleep light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vagabondanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#190 of 469 in New York City
2,115 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#300 of 469 in New York City
7,637 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#320 of 469 in New York City
1,645 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 469 in New York City
19,281 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#295 of 469 in New York City
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $137 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing