We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and certainly a good VFM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #291 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and certainly a good VFM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Long story made short:

- Great location, just a couple of blocks away from Times Square, right next to the Subway (47-50 Rockefeller) and 5' away from Times Square's subway station (most major lines cross this station).

- Great staff. The personnel was very friendly and ready to solve every single problem that would arise. Special credits to receptionists Harpreet and Ella, who are by a clear mile the hotel's superstars, always very kind and friendly and did a great job.

- 24/7 stores right next to the hotel, that includes eating spots, drugstores, supermarkets, etc.

- Rooms cleaned daily. Fair overall service, however it can be improved significantly, as there have been a few days that I would find the cleaner's hair on my towels and my sheets.

- Average to small in size but that shouldn't be a problem unless you're planning to host a party in there.

- Free wi-fi internet access. A big plus when you still try to find your way to NY. Free use of 2 Macs by the reception for the guests, as well as 2 HP laser printers.

- Nice breakfast. A variety of foods and beverages. Coffee, milk, corn flakes, donuts, bananas, breads, butter and jam, orange juice, boiled eggs and more.

- Gym. Trivial but still a big plus if you want to keep in shape.

- Noise and disturbances has been an issue during my stay. For the days I had noisy neighbors I found it very difficult to sleep. There's also a constant dull background noise on the back side of the building, probably it's due to the air-conditioning units installed in the backyard, as well as the fire-safety doors slamming all night in the corridor that can turn out to be pretty disturbing, too.

- A nice hall in the reception. Can accommodate quite a few guests. Meetings' table. Free coffee, tea and hot chocolate beverages by the reception. Shuttle and tours operator next to the reception. Free luggage storage for the case your flight is later than the time of your checkout.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dvbhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    1,476
    512
    133
    126
See reviews for
1,022
1,009
149
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My 2 adult daughters and I stayed here for 5 nights for a January get away. The hotel was clean, beds were super comfy and we had free access to internet use and WiFi. The free continental breakfast was OK but their 24 hours coffee/cappuccino/hot chocolate machine was fabulous. We frequented this a few times a day and saved us loads of money compared to Starbucks and just as delicious and as individualized, too. The location was unbeatable with just 2 blocks from center of Times Square or subway. We were able to walk to so many attractions. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the "The Hotel @ Times Square" for two nights with wife and kid of 8 years. The location of the Hotel is Fantasic which more than makes up for the other small glitches. Just around four minutes walk and you are at Times square. The staff is quite helpful. This is a rare property which offers a complimentary Breakfast. This comes in handy. The spread is quite basic but fresh and nice and saves you a lot of time especially if one wants to maximize the sightseeing time. Oh! one must mention the complimentary tea and Coffee available next to the lobby 24/7. This was a blessing as we reached on a very cold November morning non-stop from Mumbai - India. Check in was a bit delayed as we were early. But a room was done up quite quickly under the circumstances. Of course we had provided them advance intimation about our early arrival.Walked from here to Grand Central , Rockefeller Centre- around 20 minutes at leisure. Madam Tussaud 10 mins walk, Ripley's "Believe it or not" - 10 mins. Did the 3 day Hop on Hop Off from Times Square and it was fun in-spite of the bitter cold. Do try the Two Brothers pizza just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Avoid the road facing rooms if you sleep light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vagabondanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel at least 6 times. Great place for location, small but clean, and the continental breakfast was perfect for us. The best part is the rate. You get a lot for your bucks. Now, if you want the "gold faucets", go to the Ritz. I don't think you will be disappointed if you are looking not to exhaust your bank account but wanting a good place to rest your head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vesta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on almost every trip to New York since 1994. I've seen it go through 2 thorough renovations, changes of name and staff. I am a frequent business traveler and there is absolutely no better hotel for the price in the entire area.

Ashok at the front desk is a pleasure to deal with; the breakfast is what you would expect at an American hotel in this price range; the rooms are large for Manhattan; and the housekeeping staff is meticulously clean. I've on occasion defected to more glamorous hotels - the Algonquin, the Hilton and the Marquis - but I learned my lesson - this is the absolutely best little find in the entire midtown area.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to the elevator can be loud, as can those right on 46th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy90292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very good location for Times Square, 5th avenue and subway to other areas.
Beds very comfy and rooms cleaned every day to an excellent standard.

Cute little bar with good choice of wines and spirits. Good value hotel without being cheap and tacky.

Breakfast is what you would expect for continental breakfast. Can get busy. Great choice of pastries.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliesha1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Overall this hotel is average, the room was tiny but clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and of course being 5min walk from times square is fantastic.

The breakfast was dissapointing, bagels, donuts, cereal and boiled eggs were pretty much what you have to choose from. So being in Manhattan there is no shortage of cafes and deli's where you can get a decent breakfast.

Free wifi was available but the signal was weak and speed low.

If you are planning to spend as little time as possible in your hotel room and make the most of the city instead...like we were then this is not a bad option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuadCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#179 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,882 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,646 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#266 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#322 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,136 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#304 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing