We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the "The Hotel @ Times Square" for two nights with wife and kid of 8 years. The location of the Hotel is Fantasic which more than makes up for the other small glitches. Just around four minutes walk and you are at Times square. The staff is quite helpful. This is a rare property which offers a complimentary Breakfast. This comes in handy. The spread is quite basic but fresh and nice and saves you a lot of time especially if one wants to maximize the sightseeing time. Oh! one must mention the complimentary tea and Coffee available next to the lobby 24/7. This was a blessing as we reached on a very cold November morning non-stop from Mumbai - India. Check in was a bit delayed as we were early. But a room was done up quite quickly under the circumstances. Of course we had provided them advance intimation about our early arrival.Walked from here to Grand Central , Rockefeller Centre- around 20 minutes at leisure. Madam Tussaud 10 mins walk, Ripley's "Believe it or not" - 10 mins. Did the 3 day Hop on Hop Off from Times Square and it was fun in-spite of the bitter cold. Do try the Two Brothers pizza just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Avoid the road facing rooms if you sleep light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vagabondanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    1,426
    490
    126
    121
See reviews for
969
980
141
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel at least 6 times. Great place for location, small but clean, and the continental breakfast was perfect for us. The best part is the rate. You get a lot for your bucks. Now, if you want the "gold faucets", go to the Ritz. I don't think you will be disappointed if you are looking not to exhaust your bank account but wanting a good place to rest your head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vesta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on almost every trip to New York since 1994. I've seen it go through 2 thorough renovations, changes of name and staff. I am a frequent business traveler and there is absolutely no better hotel for the price in the entire area.

Ashok at the front desk is a pleasure to deal with; the breakfast is what you would expect at an American hotel in this price range; the rooms are large for Manhattan; and the housekeeping staff is meticulously clean. I've on occasion defected to more glamorous hotels - the Algonquin, the Hilton and the Marquis - but I learned my lesson - this is the absolutely best little find in the entire midtown area.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to the elevator can be loud, as can those right on 46th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy90292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very good location for Times Square, 5th avenue and subway to other areas.
Beds very comfy and rooms cleaned every day to an excellent standard.

Cute little bar with good choice of wines and spirits. Good value hotel without being cheap and tacky.

Breakfast is what you would expect for continental breakfast. Can get busy. Great choice of pastries.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliesha1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Overall this hotel is average, the room was tiny but clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and of course being 5min walk from times square is fantastic.

The breakfast was dissapointing, bagels, donuts, cereal and boiled eggs were pretty much what you have to choose from. So being in Manhattan there is no shortage of cafes and deli's where you can get a decent breakfast.

Free wifi was available but the signal was weak and speed low.

If you are planning to spend as little time as possible in your hotel room and make the most of the city instead...like we were then this is not a bad option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuadCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I cannot believe that some of the poor reviews written were from people who stayed there at the same time we did. We were really impressed with the hotel. We had a 2 bedroomed suite (1211) with 1 bathroom. The beds were huge and the most comfortable we have ever slept in - we would have liked to take them home! The wifi was great. The bathroom was spotless, plenty of towels and toiletries, cleaned everyday, with fresh towels if you wanted them. The breakfast was great and saved us a lot of money. The location was perfect, within walking distance of just about everything. The staff weren't overly friendly, but they were friendly and courteous, just not quite as overboard as in some of the restaurants we visited, but this wasn't a problem. There was a complimentary drinks machine with tea/coffee/hot choc in Reception which was very nice to warm us up after a few hours walking in very cold temperatures.

We hope to return to New York in a couple of years, and I hope we can stay at this hotel again, it would definitely be our first choice.

Room Tip: Room 1211 was a lovely 2 bedroomed suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou1se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have difficulty finding words to describe how managment treat people. Back in March 2012 my husband and I were looking for hotel rooms for our Christmas/New Year's trip. We found this hotel that charged $235 per night and we could guarantee this rate for the entire 10 days we were going to be there. We called and spoke directly with the front desk (not reservations) and were told that we could reserve the room. The room could be cancelled at anytime up to 24 hours prior to arrival. The clerk did not ask for an email and provided the confirmation over the phone.

On the same day we found different hotel through Hotwire.com that gave us a rate of $175 per night for the entire 10 days. We booked through hotwire and then called The Hotel At Time Square to cancel our reservation. We spoke with the same clerk who said that everything had been taken care of. We asked for a cancelation number and he said there wasn't one and that we had nothing to worry about.

Fast forward 9 months. We are in NYC and my husband looks at his banking info- the Hotel at Time Square charged us for one night as a no -show fee. On the last day of our trip (New Year's Eve) we go over to the hotel to sort this out. The hotel manager, Sunnie, would not reverse the charge and said that we would have been given a cancellation number. After explaining the story several times all she would say is that they "held the room in good faith" even though we had good faith that our reservation was cancelled. We asked her to which email the confirmation number and cancellation number would have been sent to she said one was not on file and one had not been provided to her at the time of the reservation.

When we returned from the trip, I sent Sunnie an email containing the confirmation email of the hotel we did end up staying at (who would spend money on two hotels for one trip?) as well as a list of our long distance phone records to prove that we called on the same day. Unfortuantely our phone records did not show any of the Toll Free Numbers we had called and we couldn't prove that we had, in fact cancelled our reservation on the same day it was made. To add insult to injury, Sunnie replied to my email and said that a confirmation email and a welcom letter was sent to my email - How could that be since she had said (prior to receiving my email address by me sending her an email to clarify the situation) that no address had been provided at the time of reservation? Unfortuantly, the manager is not willing to reverse the charges and we are stuck with the bill... goes to show that no matter what any one tells you ALWAYS get it in writing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashlens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Ashlens,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your no show charge cannot be reversed. Most hotels have a strict no show policy similar to ours where a cancellation must be made by 3PM the day before arrival. Our staff is trained well in their positions and usually when booking a room, guests are asked for an email address in order for us to send a welcome letter and confirmation email. When one is not provided a confirmation number is given over the phone for both reservations and cancellations. Further, there is no record of anyone accessing your booking after it was made on March 25, 2012. Unfortunately since we have no record of your reservation being canceled, we cannot issue a refund for the no show.
We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#188 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#308 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,158 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#262 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#300 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,814 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#312 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,855 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#291 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotwire, ETB, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing