We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #289 of 479 Hotels in New York City
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and i were visiting our daughter in Philadelphia and the three of us decided at the last minute to go to New York for a night.We booked this hotel the day before we were due to arrive.
We had a large room with two queen beds,large enough bathroom with a good shower and plenty of towels for the three of us.We also had a closet that you could store suitcases and coats in.There was also tea and coffee making facilities in the room although you could have as much tea,coffee,water and ice as you wanted in the lobby.
Breakfast was also provided with tea,coffee,juices, cereals,breads,toast,yogurts,fruit and doughnuts.The only problem with the breakfast is that it can get very very crowded late on ,so go a little early and have a good breakfast.
The hotel is very clean and in a great location and we all agreed that we would go back and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    1,480
    514
    133
    127
See reviews for
1,025
1,010
150
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for New year's since Dec 28 , until Jan 4th , the first 3 nights we didi not have enough wi-fi coverage , called several times and since the problem wasn't solved , even installing an additional router on the room , they changed us to another room for disabled people , that because of it's special characteristics wasn't ideal for us , even worst for the remaining four nights we didn't have the TV working , called several times and even changing the TV , still didn't work , when checking out we just received a $ 30 discount for the inconveniences , after paying $2,200 for the 7 night stay , another problem is the elevators which are not enough for the hotel capacity

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Enrique2308,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience of the WiFi. It was checked by our General Manager who did not have a problem accessing the internet from your room. We are also sorry about the TV not working. At that time we were switching the cable service, so there could have been a problem there. We did everything we could to try to solve the problem for you and since it could not be solved, we issued a 10% discount for the inconvenience.
Most guests enjoy their stay for the convenient location and free amenities we always provide: WiFi, breakfast, and domestic phone calls.
We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the kind of hotel that the location is so worth.
If it was not the location, it would be a normal one.
Bad things: small rooms (though some rooms in the back of the building are bigger), mold smell, bad breakfast arrangement, and overpriced (as all of manhattan hotel).
Good things: location, breakfast included, location, coffe and hot chocolate for free in the reception, location, pleasant room maids, location, and good service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodrigoFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We selected this hotel several months before our stay (Dec 29-Jan 2 2013) so we thought that we would get a nice break and good accommodations. What a surprise! Paying an average of $400 per day did not not provide the room quality I expected. The first thing was that when we checked in a room was not available. Not to worry. We checked that bags and ventured forth into the now snowing day. Hen we came back 2 hours later, tired, wet and dying to get into a room, the baggage person took forever to get our bags. Not his fault.. He was in great demand. The room was small, the corridors narrow and the elevator terrible. The staff had no training in customer service. Once when going up, the cleaning lady wanted to ride the same elevator. When reminded that there was no space, she let out a short scream and only prevented from creating a scene by her coworker. The coffee was dilute, the bread stale, the eggs.. Never mind. While the surroundings were fairly quiet, the heater/air conditioner provided a constant ambient noise. I must say the shower was impressive.great gobs of water came rushing out. The only good thing I found. Oh, OK, the Internet was free and good.close to Times Square where we were for New Years Eve. If the place was 1/2 the price we paid, I would have been a happier camper. Not sure I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear rs1126,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not pleased with your stay. You stayed during a very busy holiday weekend when prices all over New York City are very high. We always maintain competitive rates and always offer free breakfast, WiFi, and domestic phone calls. We apologize for the size of the room and hallways. Our rooms vary in size somewhat, but most are about average size for hotel rooms in Manhattan.
We are very surprised to hear about the incident with the cleaning lady in the elevator. We will certainly look into this. Our staff is continually trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible and we will continue to train them.
We hope you will give us another chance when visiting New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with The Hotel at Times Square. I had researched our choice of hotel thoroughly, so I was quietly confident that it would be fine, but it is a little scary booking something from the other side of the world when you read some quite scathing reviews! My advice to you?....don't stress over the negative reviews! Just realise that there are some people in life who are probably never happy and who obviously set unrealistic expectations for staying in a budget-friendly hotel!
My family (2 parents, 2 teenagers - 16 and 17) stayed in a family suite on the 9th floor which included 2 bedrooms, giving us each our own space. Each room had a flat screen TV and the beds were extremely comfortable. We were a little worried that the outside noise would make it hard to sleep, but we didn't hear a thing, it was so quiet! Considering we are only a block and a half away from Times Square, this was amazing!
I felt the elevators were totally fine, not really slow as several people have mentioned on here previously.
Yes, the bathroom mirror did get foggy, as there are no exhaust fans, but I think this is typical of an older, multiple-storey building. A slight inconvenience, easily fixed by using one of the mirrors in either of the bedrooms.
The front desk staff were efficient. Some more chatty than others (Sonny was our favourite!), but all totally fine. On the first night, we noticed that our wi-Fi was working in the lobby but not in our room. We spoke to the reception staff about it and they got someone out to look at it and it was fixed by the morning, problem solved! Also, a few days into our stay, we mentioned that the hair dryer wasn't working - this hadn't bothered us as we had brought our own, but we wanted to let them know for the next guests - and that the toilet flusher sometimes got a little stuck, making a bit of a noise. Both these concerns were fixed by the time we got back from our shopping! If you have a problem, please just talk to the staff. Give them a chance to fix it before you have a whinge about it!
The breakfast was totally adequate and all you need to get you started before you hit the busy streets of New York. My only tip here: get there early, as it gets pretty hard to find a table if you get there towards the end. Maybe a suggestion for the hotel could be, in the busiest times of full capacity, open the breakfast room for half an hour longer?? This would give more people a chance to get a seat, and would also be helpful for travellers like us who took advantage of shops being open post-midnight, so needed that bit of extra sleep in the morning!
Overall, we could not be happier with our stay at The Hotel at Times Square. We have stayed at a more expensive hotel previously and could not ever justify going back there, now that we know how good value for money this hotel is.
At the end of the day, you are in one of the most amazing cities in the world - this is New York! Have realistic expectations and enjoy your stay here; you will not be disappointed :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My novio and I stayed 3 nights- from Dec 29 - January 1st.
Room 202, which is right above the hotel sign-on the 2nd floor- and one room to the right.
Needless to say, it was a bit loud from the street, but that is to be expected in NYC.

I'd honestly say the value of the "double king bed" room ($364.00) on the first two nights I was satisfied, but for New Year's Eve I paid $621.00- and quite frankly it was not worth $621.00. On a normal week or weekend, for this hotel, I am certain that what they are charging is a great value; however, I'd choose something a bit more upscale if paying $621.00 again on any given night. I'd not pay over $300.00 per night for this particular hotel.

Very nice room and very nice staff- EXCEPT for the bartender who was rude and balked when we wanted to buy just one beer. She growled through her teeth that there was a $10 minimum- so we bought two beers. She then tossed our card across the counter and into some liquid which was there from a previous patron. Nice.

This hotel was clean, front desk staff were more than pleasant (allowing us a late check out of 1 pm) and the food was adequate and plenty. The location cannot be beat- as it's in between 5th and 7th, right next to Rockefeller and Radio City. 15 minutes walk from Times Square and also 15 minutes walk to Central Park.

We will stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street for a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3gatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited in September 2012. It was quite close to Times Square and Rockefeller Centre as advertised, but it was in little Brazil, and had many Brazilian guests staying there. Breakfast was included, with every bread product you can name plus cereal, yogurt and fruit. Tea and coffee available 24 hours a day in the lobby, which was good. Service was disinterested, but did the job. The room was tiny, the air conditioner was noisy and asthmatic, and it smelled like cigarettes and disinfectants. In fact, the entire stairwell smelled like disinfectant. Our room was right in front of the elevator, which made it quite noisy all the time. The bed was quite soft. It looked a lot better in advertising. Wouldn't recommend unless you get a really good rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psychodana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear psychodana,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that there were a few problems with your stay. In smoking rooms, the cleaning staff does its best to mask the smell, but sometimes the odor will linger. We apologize for the noisy room. If available, you can always request a room away from the elevator that will likely be quieter. Our rates are very competitive year round, but do change frequently, as do most rates in New York City. We always provide the best value by including free amenities not available in all hotels, like breakfast, WiFi, and domestic phone calls.
We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#181 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,884 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#294 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,664 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#321 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#266 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,234 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,279 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#305 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing