We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Brief visit to NY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #290 of 479 Hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
“Brief visit to NY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hotel was in a good location for walking around Manhattan. The standard in the reception and room were all we expected. We slept well room was comfortable and warm it was below freezing outside.We got into the room on arrival which was a bonus 4hrs early. Our suitcases were stored the following day free of charge.The hotel was fully booked because it was Christmas Weekend I think they catered well for all of us.Breakfast was more than adequate. Thank you for making our 1st visit to New York a success

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    1,428
    490
    127
    121
See reviews for
973
982
143
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend stay with my 3 teenaged sons at this much better than average tourist class hotel and we are looking forward to returning as soon as we can. We arrived more than 2 hours before check-in, but our suite was ready so we were allowed to get into our rooms upon arrival. Our 2-room suite (1 queen sized bed in one room, 1 king sized bed in the other, plus full bath w/ tub & shower) on the 12th (top) floor was clean, quiet, and had many amenities - large flat screen tv in each room, coffee maker, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, and free wi-fi. For a midtown Manhattan hotel, the price was excellent - well below $300 each night, including all taxes $ fees. Also included was a continental breakfast consisting of yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, pastries, oatmeal, cold cereals, boiled eggs, coffee, juice, & milk. The location was perfect for walking to Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Central Park, Bryant Park, and 5th Avenue Department Stores. For further destinations, the subway is nearby and for those who are not comfortable hailing a taxi, the taxi stand where travelers stand on line for the next available cab is a 5-minute walk away at the Marriott Marquis Hotel. There are plenty of dining choices nearby - my favorites are Benihanna, Rue 57, and The Glass House Tavern - as well as cheap eats such as 2 Bros Pizza and Subway on the same block as the hotel and a 24-hour McDonald's around the corner on 6th Ave aka the Avenue of the Americas. There is complimentary ice and a coffee/tea/hot chocolate/latte machine available 24/7 in the lobby. The housekeeping staff does an outstanding job and when I requested a late check-out I was able to stay until 1pm w/out being charged extra.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed on Friday 12/21/12 and couldn't have been more impressed. The value at this price point is incredible. Lovely, inviting, comfortable lobby greets your arrival. Check in was a little slow, but many foreign visitors stay here and they have some special needs. We had a room on the 11th floor and it was spotless, completely smoke-free (unusual for a mixed-use facility) and tastefully decorated. Not huge but I've stayed in smaller for a lot more. Bathroom was clean and efficient; only complaint was no fan but in an older boutique hotel that's fairly common. Never heard a sound from within the hotel, kept the bathroom window open the whole time and was very comfortable. Breakfast was simple but ample and well maintained in a clean, modem room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppitb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

On visiting our Son & Daughter in Law in Connecticut, we had a two night stay at this Hotel to do some Christmas shopping. The Hotel is situated very centrally and is convenient for 5th & 6th Avenue on one side and Times Square on the other. Our room was at the rear of the Hotel and on the 8th floor. The room was quite spacious and had a full size walk in wardrobe & shower room. The room was clean comfortable and quiet at night as we did not hear any traffic noises being at the back. There is a building site adjacent to the hotel however we were never disturbed by noise. The room has a very good free wi-fi, TV, coffee facility and a games system. although we did not use this. The cost includes breakfast and we found it sufficient with a variety of fruit, drinks, cereal, toast etc. In the lobby there is a free coffee machine and ice machine. I believe there is a bar however we did not use it during our stay. The location is a bonus as it is very central for shops and attractions in central Manhattan.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back miss traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryUK1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I rated this hotel's property and service earlier. At the time, I was trying to clear up a billing issue. I had been charged for one too many nights, which was not apparent when I checked out because the hotel had put through a credit card charge that wasn't reflected on the invoice. Unfortunately, the hotel ignored my communications. In fact, they ignored my credit card company, too. I have no idea why, but you should be alert and check your bill closely. Whether this is an isolated incident or part of a pattern, I have no way of knowing. I do know I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear EddieC1954,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the misunderstanding on your bill. It appears that the extra night you were charged for was a no show charge, which is charged if a guest does not show up the night they are expected. Unfortunately, our policy states that you must cancel your reservation by 3pm EST the day before arrival in order to avoid the no show charge. This is clearly stated in our reservation policy. If you think that this was in error and you did arrive on the first night of your intended stay, please contact the General Manager at 212.719.2300.
We hope to welcome you again.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want value for money this is the place to stay. Have been to New York on shopping trips on many occasions and stayed in different hotels each time. My friend and I like a bed each and we are always charged for four persons in NYC however we paid a similar price for two doubles at this hotel as we would for a king room. our room was very spacious and had great storage and as was previously stated cleaned everyday withnfreshntowels and toiletries made available. we were on 4 th floor and rarely had to wait for a lift. I loved the coffee machine in the lobby and being able to bring a cup to the room to relax after hard day shopping. unfortunately I have forgotten his name but the porter was extremely friendly and helpful when we were leaving and took away the stress of hauling bags and even watched out for our car for us and came and got us,carried bags to car and was very grateful for not a huge tip. I would definitely stay here again and won't even bother looking at other hotels next year as they are way over priced and this hotel throws in complimentary breakfast which again is rare in New York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just returned from a 4 day trip to NYC. We always stay at the The Hotel at Times Square because it is centrally located, clean and affordable. The staff is always so friendly and helpful and recognize us now because we are frequent guests there. You won't find a better price for the money in mid-town Manhattan. All the folks there from the front desk to the consierge are great people and have helped us out many times.

Room Tip: corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coconutgirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#184 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#308 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,203 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#262 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#300 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,849 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#313 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,975 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#293 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Priceline, Otel, ETB, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing