We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Overcharged” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overcharged”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I rated this hotel's property and service earlier. At the time, I was trying to clear up a billing issue. I had been charged for one too many nights, which was not apparent when I checked out because the hotel had put through a credit card charge that wasn't reflected on the invoice. Unfortunately, the hotel ignored my communications. In fact, they ignored my credit card company, too. I have no idea why, but you should be alert and check your bill closely. Whether this is an isolated incident or part of a pattern, I have no way of knowing. I do know I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear EddieC1954,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the misunderstanding on your bill. It appears that the extra night you were charged for was a no show charge, which is charged if a guest does not show up the night they are expected. Unfortunately, our policy states that you must cancel your reservation by 3pm EST the day before arrival in order to avoid the no show charge. This is clearly stated in our reservation policy. If you think that this was in error and you did arrive on the first night of your intended stay, please contact the General Manager at 212.719.2300.
We hope to welcome you again.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    1,426
    490
    126
    121
See reviews for
969
980
141
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want value for money this is the place to stay. Have been to New York on shopping trips on many occasions and stayed in different hotels each time. My friend and I like a bed each and we are always charged for four persons in NYC however we paid a similar price for two doubles at this hotel as we would for a king room. our room was very spacious and had great storage and as was previously stated cleaned everyday withnfreshntowels and toiletries made available. we were on 4 th floor and rarely had to wait for a lift. I loved the coffee machine in the lobby and being able to bring a cup to the room to relax after hard day shopping. unfortunately I have forgotten his name but the porter was extremely friendly and helpful when we were leaving and took away the stress of hauling bags and even watched out for our car for us and came and got us,carried bags to car and was very grateful for not a huge tip. I would definitely stay here again and won't even bother looking at other hotels next year as they are way over priced and this hotel throws in complimentary breakfast which again is rare in New York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just returned from a 4 day trip to NYC. We always stay at the The Hotel at Times Square because it is centrally located, clean and affordable. The staff is always so friendly and helpful and recognize us now because we are frequent guests there. You won't find a better price for the money in mid-town Manhattan. All the folks there from the front desk to the consierge are great people and have helped us out many times.

Room Tip: corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coconutgirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel due bto the location of Times Square( 5 min walk). Very clean and tidy and a good base.
On arrival we went to book in and the staff were very blunt and not very clear to understand. However the good points are,the room was very clean and comfortable. If you stay here you need to call to see if there are any building works going on in the vicinity as they start at 6am so you wont need an alarm clock!. We stayed on the 10th floor and there is no view,so I would recommend that you ask for a low floor as you are not waiting for the lifts.
There is a great bar on the second floor,quite quaint and a nice atmosphere. Ideal for a night cap.
The breakfast is good quality and plenty to eat and drink,I would recommend that you go earlier rather than later as it gets busy and you have to wait to use the toaster to toast your bagels!
Maid service is excellent and you feel that you have walked into a freshly prepared room each time you return.
The concieige is very helpful and you can book all your trips from there. There is also a coffee/tea machine there so you can have a hot drink whilst waiting around.
All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor and a room at front of building,also check if any building works are in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romagerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard,CT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Room was well layed out. Clean. Updated furnishings. Nice bedding. Bathroom was good size but poor choice of toilet. Room was very warm even for Nov. we had to turn the air on. Our room was on 2nd floor so in path of the bar. Other than some rude guests at 6 am yelling at each other down the hall the hall noise was fine. We also did nt need to use elevator just had one flight of stairs.
The breakfast was a little more than I expected. Bread, donuts, yogurt, juices, coffee and some hard boiled eggs. Cold cereal and oatmeal. The problem is the other guests aren't exactly polite or neat. It was so busy and people were so rude blocking the toasters standing in the way of fridges, we left. Being busy the staff couldn't keep up with cleaning. Especially since the guest couldn't be bothered to clean up their trash.
Staff at the desk was not overly friendly but since she was alone at the desk and had to check us in while trying to answer questions from someone on the phone I figure nothing to be bothered with.
The lobby and computer area was nice. Good chairs and tables.
All in all I would stay again. Great lcatin to resturants and sight seeing picks. Close to subway access. We came one night to see the Macy's parade, so it was perfect location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ttbsuziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clean room, good continential breakfast at no extra charge, great location, helpful staff - We forgot things in our room and they held it for two days until we could pick it up. No extra person fee, some hotels charge when we travel as a family. Bar prices were lower than other bars close by. Perfect place to stay for Macy Day Parade less than a block from the route on the slightly less crowded side of the street. GREAT $1 slice pizza at place next door, best food deal in NYC (loved the itialin pop music)

Room Tip: We stayed on a busy weekend so had to wait for the elevator and probably would have picked a lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakechiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear lakechiro,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had fun at the Parade. Our staff works very hard to make sure guests are happy so we will certainly pass your kind words on to them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family on your next trip to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#188 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#308 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,157 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#262 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#300 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,812 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#312 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,853 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#291 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick and ETB so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing