We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Small but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #292 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Devon,UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel due bto the location of Times Square( 5 min walk). Very clean and tidy and a good base.
On arrival we went to book in and the staff were very blunt and not very clear to understand. However the good points are,the room was very clean and comfortable. If you stay here you need to call to see if there are any building works going on in the vicinity as they start at 6am so you wont need an alarm clock!. We stayed on the 10th floor and there is no view,so I would recommend that you ask for a low floor as you are not waiting for the lifts.
There is a great bar on the second floor,quite quaint and a nice atmosphere. Ideal for a night cap.
The breakfast is good quality and plenty to eat and drink,I would recommend that you go earlier rather than later as it gets busy and you have to wait to use the toaster to toast your bagels!
Maid service is excellent and you feel that you have walked into a freshly prepared room each time you return.
The concieige is very helpful and you can book all your trips from there. There is also a coffee/tea machine there so you can have a hot drink whilst waiting around.
All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor and a room at front of building,also check if any building works are in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romagerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    1,428
    490
    127
    121
See reviews for
973
982
143
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ledyard,CT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Room was well layed out. Clean. Updated furnishings. Nice bedding. Bathroom was good size but poor choice of toilet. Room was very warm even for Nov. we had to turn the air on. Our room was on 2nd floor so in path of the bar. Other than some rude guests at 6 am yelling at each other down the hall the hall noise was fine. We also did nt need to use elevator just had one flight of stairs.
The breakfast was a little more than I expected. Bread, donuts, yogurt, juices, coffee and some hard boiled eggs. Cold cereal and oatmeal. The problem is the other guests aren't exactly polite or neat. It was so busy and people were so rude blocking the toasters standing in the way of fridges, we left. Being busy the staff couldn't keep up with cleaning. Especially since the guest couldn't be bothered to clean up their trash.
Staff at the desk was not overly friendly but since she was alone at the desk and had to check us in while trying to answer questions from someone on the phone I figure nothing to be bothered with.
The lobby and computer area was nice. Good chairs and tables.
All in all I would stay again. Great lcatin to resturants and sight seeing picks. Close to subway access. We came one night to see the Macy's parade, so it was perfect location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ttbsuziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clean room, good continential breakfast at no extra charge, great location, helpful staff - We forgot things in our room and they held it for two days until we could pick it up. No extra person fee, some hotels charge when we travel as a family. Bar prices were lower than other bars close by. Perfect place to stay for Macy Day Parade less than a block from the route on the slightly less crowded side of the street. GREAT $1 slice pizza at place next door, best food deal in NYC (loved the itialin pop music)

Room Tip: We stayed on a busy weekend so had to wait for the elevator and probably would have picked a lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakechiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear lakechiro,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had fun at the Parade. Our staff works very hard to make sure guests are happy so we will certainly pass your kind words on to them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family on your next trip to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our bus tour hotel .. centrally located and our very clean room on the 12th floor was quiet. OUr room bigger than expected and always done up well and towels etc always plentiful. Having access to drinking water and other beverages 24 hours a day in the lobby was a bonus. Breakfast was adequate...and even as late comers one morning found all the items in good supply. Not a luxury hotel and the buildings nearby were being renovated with lots of construction mess etc but that is progress...We walked to the theatres and other events .... would go back to this hotel .. found it very satisfactory.. staff, especially young man "Sonny "very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors to eradicate street and construction noise.A little bar frig in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 154976judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel at Times Square 18th-20th October and 27th-29th October extended to 4th November due Hurricane Sandy. When our flight home was cancelled the Front Desk staff most helpful in extending our stay in the same room. Both visits we had a bedroom with two Queen sized beds, The rooms were clean with plenty storage space and adequate sized. Beds were very comfortable and no noise was experienced during both visits. Good continental breakfast with boiled eggs, although breakfast room was busy at times resulting in having to wait for a table. This was included in the room rate. All the staff were very pleasant and helpfull and the concierge desk especially so. The hotel is two blocks from Times Square and most theatres within walking distance. Would not hesitage to return any future visit to New York and highly recommend this budjet hotel.

Room Tip: 9021 and 10021
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went with Family for a few days to NYC,stayed here,it was great. We had 3 rooms,they put us on the same floor,you could use the stairs if you wanted.
The breakfast there in AM is great,Your basic fruit,bagels,yogurt,cereal ,danish-but instead of going out with so many in our group,it was very helpful not to have to go find somewhere to have breakfast.
The italian restaurant across the street was very good and close.
3 Blocks from Times Square-
Staff very helpful. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyorkfan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#184 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#308 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,209 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#263 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#301 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,855 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#314 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,990 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#293 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, ETB and Otel so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing