We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Price for Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #285 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Price for Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clean room, good continential breakfast at no extra charge, great location, helpful staff - We forgot things in our room and they held it for two days until we could pick it up. No extra person fee, some hotels charge when we travel as a family. Bar prices were lower than other bars close by. Perfect place to stay for Macy Day Parade less than a block from the route on the slightly less crowded side of the street. GREAT $1 slice pizza at place next door, best food deal in NYC (loved the itialin pop music)

Room Tip: We stayed on a busy weekend so had to wait for the elevator and probably would have picked a lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakechiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear lakechiro,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had fun at the Parade. Our staff works very hard to make sure guests are happy so we will certainly pass your kind words on to them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family on your next trip to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    1,570
    554
    137
    131
See reviews for
1,085
1,084
157
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our bus tour hotel .. centrally located and our very clean room on the 12th floor was quiet. OUr room bigger than expected and always done up well and towels etc always plentiful. Having access to drinking water and other beverages 24 hours a day in the lobby was a bonus. Breakfast was adequate...and even as late comers one morning found all the items in good supply. Not a luxury hotel and the buildings nearby were being renovated with lots of construction mess etc but that is progress...We walked to the theatres and other events .... would go back to this hotel .. found it very satisfactory.. staff, especially young man "Sonny "very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors to eradicate street and construction noise.A little bar frig in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 154976judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel at Times Square 18th-20th October and 27th-29th October extended to 4th November due Hurricane Sandy. When our flight home was cancelled the Front Desk staff most helpful in extending our stay in the same room. Both visits we had a bedroom with two Queen sized beds, The rooms were clean with plenty storage space and adequate sized. Beds were very comfortable and no noise was experienced during both visits. Good continental breakfast with boiled eggs, although breakfast room was busy at times resulting in having to wait for a table. This was included in the room rate. All the staff were very pleasant and helpfull and the concierge desk especially so. The hotel is two blocks from Times Square and most theatres within walking distance. Would not hesitage to return any future visit to New York and highly recommend this budjet hotel.

Room Tip: 9021 and 10021
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went with Family for a few days to NYC,stayed here,it was great. We had 3 rooms,they put us on the same floor,you could use the stairs if you wanted.
The breakfast there in AM is great,Your basic fruit,bagels,yogurt,cereal ,danish-but instead of going out with so many in our group,it was very helpful not to have to go find somewhere to have breakfast.
The italian restaurant across the street was very good and close.
3 Blocks from Times Square-
Staff very helpful. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyorkfan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

With only 2 days in New York and a tight budget, the Hotel @ Times Square ticked all the right boxes for me.

I knew that I wanted to be within walking distance to Times Square, so I was very happy to find this Hotel offering discounted rates.

I had booked to stay the previous week but due to the arrival of hurricane Sandy had to postpone.

The Hotel was happy to change the dates for me. The Hotel had only had their power restored the day before I arrived. I would have never know there had been any disruptions as everything about the Hotel was running efficiently.

My room was clean and as it was already available the staff were happy to let me check in earlier which I really appreciated.

Some of the reviews I had read stated that the room was tiny. I disagree. Although not being huge, the room was a great size with plenty storage space in both a large cupboard as a large chest of drawers.

The bathroom was fully equipped with everything you could possible need. It's favourite feature for me being the lovely hot shower which had plenty of water pressure.

The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on.

The complimentary breakfast was far more extensive than I had expected. It included yoghurt, cereal, fresh fruit, toast, bagels, donuts, hard boiled eggs, juice, tea, coffee hot chocolate and even daily newspapers.

The wifi in the room was very fast and reliable.

The hotel has a lovely lounge room with a large heater which is very welcoming.

The hotel is located 2 blocks from Times Square which is great because you are so close to Times Square and yet removed enough so as not hear the noise of Times Square.

The Hotel is getting a little older, but it is clean and convenient.

I would highly recommend the Hotel @ Times Square and hope to,stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Where should I begin? was it the fact that I asked to move to another room and received a counter welcoming answer with zero patience from the receptionist? or was it the fact that I had to wait for more than 20 minutes for the elevator and than to share it with the cleaning lady and her cleaning cart leaving no space on the elevator?
My room was located on the midst of the stairway which many other guests used in lack of elevator activity what made it VERY noisy on all hours and I found it very hard to sleep nor to rest. The room was not clean, fresh air was sparse and the ironing table was broken.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amots Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Amots Y,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not pleased with your experience at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to share an elevator with a member of the cleaning staff. As with many city center hotels, the staff sometimes have to use during the day while guests are in it. Our staff works very hard to ensure that everything is cleaned thoroughly and that the appliances in the room are all working. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience.

The overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy their stay because of the excellent location and value and many of our prior reviews in this forum and elsewhere reflect that.

We hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#170 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#295 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,274 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#261 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#312 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,542 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#336 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing