We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Average Apple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #290 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Average Apple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here (the week before Hurricane Sandy) for 3 nights. The stay was what we expected from a New York hotel. The check in process wasn't very friendly but every staff we encountered after that was incredibly helpful and pleasant. Our room was big and clean with an "amazing" dress mirror but the room was very dark! Our windows were blocked out and our bathroom didn't have a fan. After two days our bathroom started smelling like urine. It was the oddest thing and we had to shut the bathroom door to prevent the smell from penetrating into our sleeping and clothes area. No maid came in to clean it up. We're assuming the smell may have been coming from the shower curtains. The hallways were filled with garbage bags when we checked in too but we soon realized that it was NYC's trash day and every one left their garbage on the sidewalk so they must have been moving it downstairs. The bartender and the bar on the 2nd floor is super quaint and cozy. Drinks were priced very affordable. During our stay the elevator broke once which meant we had to climb the 7 floors to our room. That wasn't problematic for us but we felt sorry for the older guests. There were a lot of them. The coffee machine also broke once but all the broken stuff were fixed immediately. Overall - the staff really knew their guests and after our first night there they all knew who we were and always greeted us. The location of the hotel is terrific!!!! If you're looking to save $$$ you'll get what you paid for here. Wasn't a 5 star hotel but its what we expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    1,427
    490
    127
    121
See reviews for
973
982
142
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its atmosphere. There was a nice touch of quality about the place, but without any of the stuffiness that you get in many of the overrated hotels. I stayed with a friend twice within a few days, and the first time had a deluxe room, which is worth the extra bit of money if you like a little space or privacy. The reception staff were helpful by and large, although I preferred some to others. I would definitely stay here again; this hotel does all the important things well and is suitably modern and comfortable. We did have a slight issue at the end when a receptionist booked us a taxi (without us really asking for it) when he knew we were leaving the next morning, and the taxi driver than tried to charge us over the odds, but this was just a minor blip in what was otherwise a great hotel, but I will definitely catch my own taxi next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is conviently located, in New York' midtown, near the Avenue of Americas and Times Square, i.e. the Theatre District. The room was rather large (for New York). "Continental" breakfast, including fresh fruit, bagels, cream cheese, etc. was included, which we appreciated a lot. However, our room on the fifth floor overlooking 46th street was noisy; at 6 A.M. trucks were showing up...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank AlfredSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

+ free wi-fi and coffee 24 hour
+ good location

- very dirty and old rooms (flaked plaster and wallpaper)
- not customer oriented stuff in the bar on 2nd floor
- constraction work outside so very noisy
- very good audibility like you live with all you neighbours
- noisy air conditional

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxana___1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very dissatisfied with our stay at this hotel and even more dissatisfied that they didn't even acknowledge my email (August 2012) outlining reasons as below: It is a perfect location, nice looking building, pleasant reception area and the male receptionist was helpful and friendly. However...the two rooms we were given were grimy, dirty, grotty and had numerous broken items: main door lock (teenage daughter wouldn't, understandably, sleep in unsecure room), telephone broken - line not working, another line blocked open, socket smashed, aircon unit broken and noisy, nails sticking through carpet, glass in picture frame broken with sharp edges, back of door/handle/lock covered brown sticky substance, bedding less than fresh and given above although bathroom looked clean (shower curtain very smelly), how can anyone trust the hygiene? If it hadn't been so late in the evening after a long flight, we would have left there and then. Breakfast was as advertised and fine but we checked out based on the condition of the rooms. We were offered another room but declined; no attempt was made to ask for details of the problems or why we weren't happy. The unused night was refunded but given the miserable first night, I would expect more. Perhaps someone in management reads the reviews and perhaps they will respond to this?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear cate2,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry about your experience at our hotel. Our staff works very hard to ensure that all rooms are cleaned thoroughly between guests and that all appliances are in working order. We sincerely apologize for overlooking some things and would have been happy to offer you a new room the night you checked in. We can assure you that all of the problems you mentioned have been fixed and do not occur on a regular basis.

We hope you will give us another chance on your next New York City trip. The majority of our guests are very satisfied with their stay and many return multiple times and continue to enjoy their stay. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope to welcome you soon.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel at Times Square. Two blocks from Times Square and near the subway and just about any of the midtown attractions are within walking distance. It was well decorated, clean and busy with a full house! Even though it was completely full of guests, our room was quiet and very restful after busy days of sight seeing. We would defintely stay there again!

Room Tip: We thought we would like a room at the front with a street view but our room at the back was so nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCC108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#188 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#308 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,186 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#262 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#300 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,842 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#312 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,940 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#291 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, ETB, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing