We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Hotel @ Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #286 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Sarnia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved The Hotel @ Times Square”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Location is excellent, 1 block from Times Square. Walk to the Rock and many other attractions.Very courteous staff, clean, clean, clean. Nice Breakfast included.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    1,668
    593
    142
    140
See reviews for
1,188
1,136
167
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Only 3 blocks from Times Square this must be the crumiest in lower NYC. The canteen (not restaurant) was crowded, Paper plates, plastic cutlery. When you finished breakfast, when you finally got a seat at 12 inch ledge, you had to take the garbage to a bin. Cost $320 / nt. Manhattan Hotel on Manhattan Avenue - a chrome and Marble edifice - guess ?? $320. How any agent could place clients in the Hotel @ Times Square proves they do not know what they are selling. Try a little research or look at Tripadvisor

Room Tip: Avoid it like the plague. Room size equal to the size of the 3rd bedroom of a poor council house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Ian H,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. Though our hotel is by no means a luxury hotel, we do provide great rates and a great value. Most of our guests book with us for our convenient location and overall value. We include many free amenities that other New York City hotels do not provide, like free WiFi, breakfast, and domestic phone calls. New York City is a very expensive city and we always keep our rates very competitive.
We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to Manhattan.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

the hotel was very nice. it has a breaskfast from 6-10 am also its very nice inside they have free computer and prints to use.they also have a conseair.they have a bar that is very cheap and is nice.they bar has 2 dollars beers after 8 pm. they also have a coffee machine and tea machince. i would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cori g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulwich Hill
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed September 11 - 16 2012

The Staff
I have had some bad experiences with hotel staff before but in this hotel they are consistently rude. On check in the person attending to us barely paid attention except to grunt something at me. On one day our room had not been serviced, I rang the front desk and a confused person asked me what I wanted done about it. I asked for a credit on my room as the hotel had not fulfilled their service level and I was told this would have to be taken up with the hotel manager and the hotel manager would call me the next day. There was no call made to me. We were waiting our turn for the travel booking person and they were so rude to the people before us we decided to go and book our travel ourselves.

The Hotel
There is a single elevator for some of the rooms which makes waiting an inevitable event. The fact that the elevator is hidden down a long hallway makes it feel very unsafe.

The Room
Our room was clean with a decent bathroom but had an odd odour. My big issue is with the air conditioning. The unit was so loud that we couldn't leave it on and was held together ith duct tape.

In summary I cannot recommend this hotel and suggest everyone looks elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OtherIan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Otherlan99,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our staff is regularly trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible and the majority of guests praise the staff for their service. Sometimes when the hotel is very busy, it may take the housekeeping staff a while to clean every room. We are sorry that yours was not cleaned earlier.
We can assure you that our guests’ safety is of utmost importance and there is staff at the front desk 24/7 and security cameras in public areas.
If you would like to speak to the General Manager about any of these issues, she can be reached at 212.719.2300.
We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an older hotel, but the rooms have an updated decor and were very pleasant. The only issue that I had was that the hotel did not offer food room service. When I arrived, I did not want to go out for dinner, but I had to because the hotel did not offer that service. Very good experience!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here Sept 21-23. For a NY hotel in the $200-300 rage, it is a great value. Nice FREE all you can eat continental breakfast which consisted of hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels, donuts, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, coffee/tea, milk. That's a $20+ value/person at most hotels in NYC. Also free coffee 24/7 in the lounge downstairs! Room was small (of course, it's NYC!) but enough space to move around and very clean. Very comfortable bed, had 2 great nights sleep, that's not easy to do in NY. Self controled air con worked great. Lots of closet space, nice TV, desk, dresser. Very clean bathroom, looked recently renovated. Lots of hot water/clean towels, nice powerful shower head. Can't really comment on the staff, because I did not need them! That's a good thing. Nothing to complain about at all. Check in and out took minutes.
Nice Mexican restaurant "El Tequilazo" a couple doors down.

Only negatives: slow elevator, but the stairs are quick! , view of room not so great, but who cares, how much time do you spend starring out the window when visiting NY?

I highly recommend this hotel for the single traveller or couple on somewhat of a budget.

Room Tip: Choose a low level room 3rd floor or below, stairs are faster than the elevator (if you're physi...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#184 of 466 in New York City
2,080 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 466 in New York City
7,223 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 466 in New York City
9,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#320 of 466 in New York City
2,715 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#291 of 466 in New York City
2,531 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 466 in New York City
18,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing