We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NY demo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #288 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an older hotel, but the rooms have an updated decor and were very pleasant. The only issue that I had was that the hotel did not offer food room service. When I arrived, I did not want to go out for dinner, but I had to because the hotel did not offer that service. Very good experience!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,581 - 1,587 of 3,613 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here Sept 21-23. For a NY hotel in the $200-300 rage, it is a great value. Nice FREE all you can eat continental breakfast which consisted of hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels, donuts, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, coffee/tea, milk. That's a $20+ value/person at most hotels in NYC. Also free coffee 24/7 in the lounge downstairs! Room was small (of course, it's NYC!) but enough space to move around and very clean. Very comfortable bed, had 2 great nights sleep, that's not easy to do in NY. Self controled air con worked great. Lots of closet space, nice TV, desk, dresser. Very clean bathroom, looked recently renovated. Lots of hot water/clean towels, nice powerful shower head. Can't really comment on the staff, because I did not need them! That's a good thing. Nothing to complain about at all. Check in and out took minutes.
Nice Mexican restaurant "El Tequilazo" a couple doors down.

Only negatives: slow elevator, but the stairs are quick! , view of room not so great, but who cares, how much time do you spend starring out the window when visiting NY?

I highly recommend this hotel for the single traveller or couple on somewhat of a budget.

Room Tip: Choose a low level room 3rd floor or below, stairs are faster than the elevator (if you're physi...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived on " Brazil Day" so the cab dropped us off on 5th Avenue. We pushed through the street vendors and parties to the hotel - first time in NY. scary!
Checked in, my husband, me and our 19 year old daughter. Room tiny with 2 double beds, barely able to move!! Bathroom had hairs (short and curly) . Cupboard edges thick with dust. Went out for some water - men in lifts (elevators) very drunk, no shirts on, loud, --very scary! Strange smell of funny tobacco on level 6!
Went back and suggested we look for somewhere else. As it was busy we went to see if we could find somewhere first as too intimidated to complain. Found rooms at Marriott Marquis so went back and checked out after 3 hours. Was then told we had to pay for 1 night. WENT AWAY!!

Subsequent discussion with the manager failed to resolve this. I am contacting the managers of Applecore who own the hotel - but so far a ROTTEN experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank livvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear livvo,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience and that you felt unsafe. We take our guests’ comfort and safety very seriously and encourage our guests to let us know when they do not feel safe or comfortable so we can try to fix the problem. The day you checked in was a Brazilian Day and our hotel is located in “Little Brazil.” That night there were many guests staying with us to attend this festival. While we can try to control guests’ noise level inside the hotel, we cannot control the amount of noise and activity outside the hotel. We are sorry that you ran into shirtless, drunk guests. If you had informed us of this situation, it would have been remedied immediately as we do not permit such behavior. Further, the sixth floor is a smoking floor, so the smell could have been cigarette smoke coming from inside a room as no one is permitted to smoke in the corridors per New York City regulations. We are also sorry that you found the room dirty. That is very unusual as we take room cleanliness very seriously with layers of checks. Furthermore, if you had let us know we we would have placed you in another room. When you told us that you would be checking out we had to charge you because you had already been in the room for 3 hours. We offered you another room on the other side of the hotel, which you refused.
Again, we are sorry about your experience at our hotel. Our staff works very hard to ensure that guests are all happy, comfortable, and safe.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The rooms are pretty small and our bathroom window was broken. The location is pretty great and the value is there --- I guess I'd stay again simply because of the $ and location. The reality is that if you are in NYC ... You probably aren't sitting in your hotel room, so does it really matter? We'd stay again ... No doubt about it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c17flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights. The hotel was great, clean, good breakfast. Central location. We would definetly recommend. The hotel will keep your bags after you check out and arrange transport to the airport

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Els26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is cheap for Manhattan standards and in a very good location, if you like staying in Midtown. But that comes with a price, and what price it is!

So let's begin:

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in August 2012. A few days before our arrival we sent an email telling them about some purchases at amazon.com. To our surprise, when we arrived at the hotel they said they did not collect the purchases which had arrived one day before we checked in. No apologies, no regret, nothing. We were shocked - we lost many things we had bought. If only they had had the decency of answering our email and stating this policy we could have tried an alternative. But the money was ours, not theirs. So why would they bother?

Apart from that, if you want to have the free breakfast the hotel offers, be prepared to have it among several bags of garbage. I suppose sanitary authorities would most certainly disapprove this practice ... If you still have the stomach - cheap bread, cold donuts and things like that.

There's also the elevator issue. It's clear that the number of elevators is insufficient for the number of guests. Every time, and I mean every time, there was a long wait for them, especially if you're in a room in the back building, where there is only one elevator for all the guests.

Because the hotel is cheap, you're most likely to have cheap people as guests. So, it's quite common, and by common I mean every night, people slam doors and talk loud at 1, 2, 3, 4 am.

The noise of the air conditioning in the room was awful and the cleanliness was also below par.

So, don't try to save some bucks as we did. Next time, WE will not be cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank macktheknifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear macktheknifeBr,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay and that your packages were not held for you. Due to limited storage space and security risks involved we do not to hold packages for guests. Our breakfast room gets very busy, so sometimes the trash needs to be taken out during breakfast service. When this happens, we always try to do this as quickly as possible.
We are also sorry about the elevator issue. Sometimes during busy hours of the day, they can get held up. We hope this was not an inconvenience for you.
Our staff works very hard to keep the rooms and common areas very clean for our guests, we are sorry that you found cleanliness below par and will continue to work harder to keep the hotel clean.
Most guests enjoy our location, reasonable rates, and the excellent value we provide all of which is reflected in the many positive comments we receive continually.
We hope you will reconsider us for your next stay.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel on Times Square at it was a great experience. Walking distance to Times Square. The hotel was clean, and the bar inside is the friendliest little bar in New York. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean, however, the bathroom is big and water pressure great. I would recommend this hotel if anyone is visiting New York and looking for a great location to all sites no need to get a cab to travel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98,794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#190 of 469 in New York City
2,125 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#297 of 469 in New York City
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#364 of 469 in New York City
1,208 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#301 of 469 in New York City
4,201 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#399 of 469 in New York City
4,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $130 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing