We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great value, breakfast included.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, great value, breakfast included.”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you want to be close to major tourist attractions and do it within a reasonable budget, then The Hotel is the place for you. We stayed 12 nights and found it a little quirky in some ways, but it seems to work.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time in NYC. I find that often the hotel you stay at can have a huge impact on how well a trip goes, so The Hotel definitely did its job to a good standard.
This hotel will be my first choice when returning to NYC next time.

PRO's
Breakfast included - great timesaver - don't expect a Hilton style hot breakfast, but there is enough variety and quality to get you going for the day. Very good value given the room rate.
Location - 2 blocks from Times Square, 1 block from 5th Avenue shopping, numerous Metro stations within a 2 block radius, perfect walking distance to a lot of attractions, $5-7 cab fare from most places, loads of great restaurants close by.
Cleanliness - rooms quite clean. Some wear & tear (e.g. bathroom tile grout), and some details overlooked (e.g. dusty lampshades) but overall quite clean, especially compared to the last NYC hotel I stayed at (avoid the Wellington at all costs!).
Comfort - bed was really comfortable, slept great every night. Room & bathroom were on the small side, however not unworkable. I'm pretty sure the problem was more to do with my excessive shopping! There is a large chest of drawers, tiny wardrobe and a desk.
Lobby - had a cute lounge area that was comfy and warm. Free coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine in lobby area which was awesome when coming in from the cold weather!

CON's
Construction - I was at the back section of the hotel, and there is very, very noisy construction work going on next door. Our charming view was of the construction site! This isn't an issue if you are doing what you should be doing - getting up early and seeing the sights - but I was sick for a couple days and it was impossible to try and get some rest in the morning/during the day.
Cleaning - the cleaning lady was lovely, however there was a couple of times that the 'do not disturb' sign was on the door and she tried coming in anyway...lock the door. Also, I was really irritated by her tidying up & throwing out a couple of shoe boxes - I had wanted to keep them so my boots stayed in shape nicely on the trip back.
Billing - there was some confusion in paying our bill. We had very specifically asked about paying separately on 2 x different credit cards and were told it wasn't an issue. When it came time to do this, it became a major issue, that wasted about 3 hours for me trying to sort out (long story). The guy was very apologetic in the end though, so I got over it.
Ventilation - You aren't allowed to open the windows, which is an issue if you are in a smoking room (still airing my suitcase!). The heater was really hot or too cool...a little annoying.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for it's value, location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amusethesuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    1,639
    577
    142
    136
See reviews for
1,154
1,123
165
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2012

this is my 3rd time in NYC and I have to say is the best hotel ever!, I recomend this hotel 100% the location is just perfect, you are in the center of the world, the rooms, are beautiful, and the breakfast its even better!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rosa Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

If you want to stay in a hotel like the Kardashians, then you will not like it here. But I loved the feel of this hotel. It was a little quirky! The rooms were pretty nice and the continental breakfast was good. If you want to see the sights and shop in New York, then this is the place to stay. It is right in between Times Square and 5th Avenue, and if you walk a little farther you are right at Grand Central Station. I saw almost everything I planned to see, just by walking outside the hotel (besides the MetMuseum and Ellis Island). Great value! Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank trisdmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

If you want to do a lot of sightseeing in New York this is a graet hotel. We stayed for a week. We were on the 9th floor. The room was ok. The staff was friendly. The free continental breakfast is adequate and plentiful and served from 6:30 to 10 am. There is complimentary coffee/capuccino/hot chocolate machine in the lobby.Anyone expecting or used to staying in luxury hotels will be disappointed, but if you are looking for great value for your money you will find it at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed for a week in 2011, and we just returned from a 6-night stay. Both times the rooms were clean and spacious (for NY) with two queen size beds and walk-in closets. Both faced the back (the Diamond District on 47th Street) and were on the 4th and 6th floors, rooms 421 & 621, respectively. The area is quiet at night, so street noise was not a problem. We had smoking rooms and even though I dont smoke (my husband does) I did not find the rooms smelled bad like I have experienced in other hotels that allow smoking.

As many have already said, the location of this hotel is great. You can walk every where, but public transportation is easily reacheable. Grand Central Station is also very close. Most Broadway theaters are within walking distance. Fifth Avenue with all major stores is at the end of the block.

The free continental breakfast is adequate and plentiful and served from 6:30 to 10 am. There is complimentary coffee/capuccino/hot chocolate machine in the lobby. A soda machine is in the lower level at a cost of $1 per can. There is also a bottled water machine at $1.50, but it was out of order during our last stay.

There is a huge range of restaurants and sandwich/deli shops all around - there are probably over 10 just on the same block. There is a deli called Jia a few steps from the hotel that's open 24 hours. A McDonalds is around the corner.

Anyone expecting or used to staying in luxury hotels will be disappointed, but if you are looking for great value for your money you will find it at this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front of the hotel overlook a small park belonging to the office building acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,995 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#312 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing